Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pullers, nippers, sizing : Fret Cutter

Fret Cutter


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spend less time filing fret ends!
This is the best tool for trimming the ends off fretwire.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Cutter

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0619 Fret Cutter Yes
$28.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Puller



Fret Beveling File



Fret End Dressing File



3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Puller
Fret Beveling File
Fret End Dressing File
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



Details
 Pictures
 Video
A Stewart-MacDonald exclusive, our custom-made steel cutter has improved features you won't find on hardware store nippers.

The jaws are specially hardened for fret work, and they're profiled and flush-ground to cut the wire close to the fretboard. The result is a cleaner cut without pulling the wire, so you'll need to do less filing. Longer rubber-coated handles allow better access to the frets over a guitar body.

1" (25.4mm) jaw width, 8" (203.20mm) length.

Not recommended for use with stainless-steel fretwire.

Essential for fretting
The Fret Cutter is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  9 >
5 10-16-2013
Don't Bother Buying ANYTHING Else.....

Having been through many pairs of Stanley, Channellock, etc. cutters that must in turn be ground flush for fret work, I figured it couldn't hurt to try the StewMac Fret Cutters. After all, they DO know what they are doing with guitar repair tools, right? After the first two fret jobs, and not a single sign of cutting edge scarring, I'm convinced I made the right choice at the right price.

John R. Frondelli  New York, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-16-2013
Snips Like Butter

Another quality tool from Stewmac. It does exactly what it should, saves you time and trouble so you can move ahead quickly and efficiently with your project.

Philip McHugh  Bedford UK Read my reviews (4)
5 9-24-2013
Great buy

The fret cutter is greatly manufactured, quality is there to be seen. Perfectly flat to cut just where you want and sharp to do it properly. A must have.

Salvador  Tarragona, Spain Read my reviews (5)
5 9-18-2013
so worth it

Makes a very close cut. Much closer than nippers from a big box store. Worth every penny.

donnas62  new orleans Read my reviews (3)
5 8-29-2013
Fret Cutter

My first instrument build every and I couldn't have done it without these fret cutters. They cut clean and crisp and leave little to touch up. I love this thing!

BubbaD  Bassett, VA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
4 8-24-2013
Really smooth

Cuts tight and all, buts is not my favorite cutter.

BrunoLob√£o  Brazil - Rio de Janeiro Read my reviews (15)
5 8-21-2013
Fret Cutters

I was the type of person who thought to himself, "I can just use plain old wire cutters!" You can but, the work will be sloppy, These fret cutters cause you to do a much better looking professional job. I highly recommend these for your tool box if you want to build a string fretted instrument. A must have!

Javier J. Rincones  Texas Read my reviews (2)
5 6-14-2013
Clean, good cut

Cuts the frets very nice and close to the fetboard.

Gustav  Sweden Read my reviews (18)
5 6-01-2013
a superb fret cutter

Sharon teaches classes on building mountain dulcimers so she has students with a broad range of abilities. She loves the fret cutter we bought from you. It is easy to use and leaves a reasonable burr that can be filed easily. Many thanks for making this quality tool available. Joe & Sharon

Joe & Sharon's Music  Knoxville, TN
5 5-16-2013
Great Cutters

These cutters were perfect for a recent refret job - very well made and easy to use.

Leapin Lizard  Monument, Colorado Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce