Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pullers, nippers, sizing : Fret Crimper

Fret Crimper


Read 11 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Crimps the tang to fit oversize fret slots. Hardened steel jaws press slight scallops into a fret tang to fit an oversize slot.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Crimper
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4900 Fret Crimper 1-3 days
$69.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

FretBender



Fret Tang Tool Set



Fret Barber



Fret Cutter



Fret Tang Nipper



FretBender
Fret Tang Tool Set
Fret Barber
Fret Cutter
Fret Tang Nipper



Details
 Pictures
Works on a variety of slot widths. Simply vary the pressure as needed.

Overall length: 7" (178mm)
Jaw width: 13/32" (10.24mm)
Comfortable rubber-coated handles.

This unique tool is based on a technique developed by repairman Frank Ford.

The Fret Crimper is included in our money-saving Fret Tang Tool Set along with the Fret Barber, our handy tool for quickly trimming the barbs on longer lengths of fretwire.

We recommend our book FretWork Step By Step for details on the technique of compression fretting.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Crimper
Fret Crimper
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 11 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 3-01-2014
must have

Can you imagine guys to carry out without this?

robertmaster  Hungary, EU Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-08-2014
Works great.

Saved my life man. This is a very handy tool to have around your shop. I cut fret slots with a faulty saw and they were just wide enough to not accept the frets properly this tool got me out of trouble.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
4 1-20-2014
A bit pricey

It does the job perfectly and saves hours refretting. Doesn't look sturdy enough for the money.

Thisch  Cleveland OH Read my reviews (7)
5 4-23-2012
Expensive, but...

I grudgingly bought one of these when my homemade experiments didn't work so well. It is a well made tool, and although I only needed it for 2 frets on my project, it did what its supposed to do.

Danny Clayburn  Albuquerque, NM Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-12-2012
10x better than my homemade fret tang expander

A great tool, but maybe seems overpriced for what it is. When starting out refretting, I made my own tang expander. Worked ok, but one crimp at a time. Just died on me, as it wasn't hardened steel. I bit the bullet on the bucks, and got one of these ... Wow, 4 crimps at a time, easy squeeze, ... hardened steel! It took half the time to prepare the frets for my last refret! Good tool

Dave Andrews  Margate, South Africa Read my reviews (6)
5 1-03-2012
Perfect tool

A must in getting those frets shaped for proper fit in you new or reworked fret slots. Money well spent for this kid!

WikkedEggGuitars  Sterling, CO Read my reviews (10)
4 10-09-2011
Great tool, high priced

This tool is very useful especially on older fretboards, but at just under 80.00 dollars you would have to do 2 or 3 jobs to make a profit. Tool is a must have for any shop doing fret jobs.

Guitar doctor  Oxford,Fl Read my reviews (2)
5 7-10-2011
Jaws

The pliers work very well. I suggest measure the adjustment and put a few frets in an old fingerboard to get a feel for how frets go in.

Marshall  Louisville Read my reviews (3)
4 5-12-2011
Good but over priced

It does what it says and does it well. But I was a little disappointed with the finish quality, there was primer overspray on the handle. I am not looking for a wall flower but for near $80 I want it perfect.

Gabriel's Guitar Repair  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (18)
3 3-19-2011
good but not great

This is a nifty little tool, it certainly helps you to crimp frets so they will bind in the slot better. I liked that it had a mild and a heavy crimp size so that you could avoid excessive crimping when applicable. However, the tool is not very complex and should not be priced as much as it is. Its really only worth about half of what I paid.

Jonathan Ferrell  United States
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce