Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pressing : Neck Support Caul

Neck Support Caul


Read 54 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Excellent support for a guitar neck while pressing or hammering frets, or a lower clamping caul for regluing a fingerboard.

See details below

Email a friend
Neck Support Caul
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4479 Neck Support Caul Yes
$11.27


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Press Caul



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Press Inserts



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Arbor Press System



Fret Press Caul
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Press Inserts
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret Arbor Press System



Details
 Pictures
Saw it into shorter lengths to make lower clamping cauls for glue-in fret jobs.

Wooden support with specially contoured and lined it cork to get a firm, non-marring, non-skid hold on the neck.

As supplied with our Fret Arbor Press System.

Dimensions (approximate)
12" x 2-3/4" x 1" (305mm x 70mm x 25mm)

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Neck Support Caul
Neck Support Caul
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 54 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
5 9-10-2012
good

it does what is says, also i use to press fret , well you can make alot thing with this neck support

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
5 7-06-2012
A great tool.

A great tool.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 6-13-2012
Support is always good !

Works great on electrics but a little too low for acoustics. Holds the neck softly but securely.

Illdoyouforthat  Warwick, RI Read my reviews (4)
5 6-13-2012
Well built

Many safety and security for jobs that require strength.

Rodrigo Gomes  Brazil Read my reviews (44)
Customer supplied image for review
1 6-04-2012
Real disappointment

I really can't find much use of this currently but to hold cut frets before hammering them in (yea, I drilled holes on the side). It's really thin/low so the _only_ neck it will work with is a straight headstock. Even the smallest angle on the head and it becomes useless (currently working on a Strat copy that has one :() ... Forget about anything other than bolt-on). If it were two inches thick in stead of one I think it would have been a different story. As it is, I am just going to cut it to pieces for clamping cauls.

Tim Gospodinov  NYC Read my reviews (8)
4 5-31-2012
Essential for neck work

I used one of these to remove a fretboard on a 7-string neck-thru guitar. It made my job so much easier. The only problems I had with it is that it wasn't as tall as I would have hoped for while working with an angled headstock (nothing a few spacer boards and random pieces of wood off-cuts couldn't fix). I used the steam method for removing the fretboard and it caused the cork to come unglued at the edges. Not a huge problem, but a little annoying. Nonetheless, one of my favorite new tools for anything neck-related. I plan on purchasing a few more and gluing scrap pieces to the bottom to use specifically for neck-thru guitars.

Garon  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-21-2012
Neck caul

I could have made it myself but at this price, I didn't bother. Nice stuff :)

Dimitri  Hennuy√®res, Belgium Read my reviews (6)
5 3-19-2012
Well worth the cash

Useful for pressing frets, or as a neck rest when held in a bench vise. Well worth the price.

Cenulab  MA Read my reviews (5)
4 3-04-2012
It's Your Caul

I use this caul to support fender-style necks (frets down) while I drill and install 4 threaded inserts into the heels. This allows the use of MUCH stronger machine screws to bolt down necks instead of the typical weaker-holding wood screws. I use a soft clamp to keep the neck from moving and it works okay. You do have to place the fingerboard's sides just right in the caul in order to balance each neck, but it does work. I wish the caul was designed better to use in this upside down way, but for low money, who could complain? I'm sure it works perfectly when using as it was intended for doing fret work but if you're you're drilling heels, it's a decent low-cost holder.

Guitartec  Coventry, RI USA Read my reviews (13)
5 2-11-2012
guitar dentist chair.

this will make your guitar neck relax, while punching some fret wires. :)

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 10 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce