Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pressing : Fret Press Inserts

Fret Press Inserts


Read 36 Reviews   |   Write a Review

These 2-1/2"-wide grooved brass caul inserts fit our fret pressing tools and are designed for working with radiused or flat fretboards.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Press Inserts
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4367 6" radius Yes
$4.45

4368 7-1/4" radius Yes
$4.45

4369 9-1/2" radius Yes
$4.45

4370 10" radius Yes
$4.45

4371 12" radius Yes
$4.45

4372 14" radius Yes
$4.45

4373 16" radius Yes
$4.45

4374 20" radius Yes
$4.45

4375 Flat Yes
$4.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Arbor Press System



Jaws



Jaws2



Jaws3



Jaws Fret Press Deluxe Set



Fret Arbor Press System
Jaws
Jaws2
Jaws3
Jaws Fret Press Deluxe Set



Details
 Pictures
The milled groove on the bottom keeps each caul properly centered on the fret.

#4367 insert with 6"-radius holds down the fret ends for gluing — especially important on the tight 7-1/4" radius found on many Fenders.

Designed to fit: Jaws Handheld Fret Press, Fret Arbor Press System, Fret Press Caul

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Press Inserts
Fret Press Inserts
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 36 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 >
5 4-05-2014
Very Handy

I've been performing fretwork for nearly 30 years, and no method of fret-insertion has been as successful for me as using the Jaws (4381) system with these fret-press inserts. These in combine with Jaws, the Jaws-2 (4266), the Fret Arbor Press System (4481) or the Fret Press Caul (4365) in a drill press is easily hands-down the most secure way to seat a fret in a slot. I also use the Stew Mac Fret-Bender (0350) in conjunction with the Radius Gauges (5432) first, then the Fretting Hammer (4895) to tap in the fret-ends. The Jaws and these Inserts have never failed me. I've yet to have a fret-end lift or have a fret unseat itself using this process.

uberaxe  Davie, FL Read my reviews (4)
5 4-01-2014
another great tool

I hammer my frets but I still use these for the final seating of the fret to match the radius of the fretboard. They work great.

Pacific North Coast Guitars  Washington USA Read my reviews (39)
5 3-21-2014
Great quality at a great price.

A must have for pressing frets.

Highline Guitars  Denver, Colorado Read my reviews (30)
5 2-20-2014
very satisfied

worked really liked it. better than a hammer

Nesterov  Russia
4 1-23-2014
Fret press inserts

I've used these for dreadnought, classical, and cigar box guitars, and they are so much better than the "tap, tap" method. My only wish is that there were inserts for the narrow/low fretwire used on ukuleles, as the frets tend to rock or tilt in these inserts. Otherwise, I wish I'd thought of them!

Mike R  USA Read my reviews (3)
4 10-26-2013
Fret Press Inserts

I purchased a flat fret press insert to accompany the set that came with the fret arbor press system that I previously purchased, which included only radius inserts.

Ed F  Troy, NY
5 9-26-2013
Another great tool

Well made inserts - using press tool means less leveling job after fret instalation.

Tone Zone  Poznan, Poland Read my reviews (2)
5 9-04-2013
Stock up

If you own the caul, do yourself a favor and get one of each size. Yeah, you may not see many 7.25 or 16" radiuses in your shop... but the moment you do and don't have the correct insert, you'll be sorry.

XevKai  St.Clair Shores, Michigan Read my reviews (11)
5 8-31-2013
Fret Press Inserts

Inserts work great with the fret press. Saves a lot of time installing frets and is more exact than using a hammer. Frets can be pressed to nearly identical height throughout the fret board reducing the amount of fret to be cut when dressing for a perfectly level fret job.

Jim Hobson  Vernon, NJ Read my reviews (5)
4 7-09-2013
scratches on the edges, but it`s OK

Mine have little scratches all over the surface and on the edges, but overall quality is good.

Alex D.  Saint-Petersburg, Russia Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 10 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce