Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pressing : Fret Press Caul

Fret Press Caul


Read 73 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Use your drill press! Our self-leveling steel fretting caul has a 3/8" shank to fit your shop arbor press or your drill press.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Press Caul
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4365 Caul with 5 brass inserts Yes
$53.67

4366 Caul only Yes
$39.42


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Press Inserts



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Arbor Press System



Jaws



Fret Press Inserts
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret Arbor Press System
Jaws



Details
 Pictures
Includes five grooved/radiused brass inserts (6", 7-1/4", 9-1/2", 12" and 16").

Additional radii are available: Fret Press Inserts

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 73 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 >
5 7-30-2011
Such a time saver!!!

I use mine in my drill press and can't tell you how much time and aggravation this tool saves me. Perfectly pressed frets every time!!

JZ Guitars  Edison, NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-20-2011
What's a hammer?

After years of cave-manning it we discovered this bad boy. We use it daily in the shop.

Songhurst Guitars, LLC  Washington Read my reviews (2)
5 7-16-2011
Made the Job easy.

This set made my first fret job a lot less stressful. Easy to use in my drill press.

Geoffrey  Adelaide, Australia Read my reviews (6)
5 6-01-2011
Life Saver

I'm a rookie and made a fretboard with dragon tails inlaid into it - the first fret I tried to inlay with a hammer BUSTED my inlays - a friend suggested this fret caul from Stew Mac and some filing beforehand and DANG! the frets were done in about an hour - thanks StewMac!

VirgilGuitar  Tampa, FL Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-19-2011
Awesome tool for fretting.

I used this caul in my bench drill press and will never again hammer frets. The time saved pressing the frets and the reduced leveling required to set up the guitar makes this a worth while tool.

Bart Long  Cheyenne, WY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-18-2011
I will never hammer in frets again

I read that Dan Armstrong championed the fret press in the late 60’s I’m sure he wasn’t the first but I have always thought he was an innovative thinker so I naturally had to try it for myself.
When I was at Roberto Venn we hammered in our frets and dressed them true… never again.
I talked with a friend who works for Grosh Guitars he said they use the same kind rig.
Do yourself a favor and use this piece of gear figure out how to use it and step away from the hammer.

Matt @ Texas Toast Guitars  Arvada, CO Read my reviews (3)
5 5-06-2011
Press Caul

Works great if your drill press is good enough......mine wasnt. I ended up getting the actual fret press and its great.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
5 5-05-2011
Press On

I never did like the idea of taking a hammer to someone's vintage Les Paul. This takes the anxiety out of refretting a classic piece of history.

Buffalo Trace Custom Guitar  Kentucky Read my reviews (2)
5 5-01-2011
Smart and Effective

Got a drill press? Then you will have a great fret press too if you order this. Couldn't be easier to setup and use. Don't forget to order the insert(s) you need along with this. This is a valuable tool for fretting. Get StewMac's Fret Cutter along with this and you will have tools that make a fretting job WAY WAY easier than using tools to just get by with. Money well spent!

Steve M.  Florida Read my reviews (3)
5 3-26-2011
Fret press caul and inserts

I've put some kits together,made some bodies,and gave a few guitars a face lift,but to actually make a neck was pretty scarey.The setting of the frets and the truss rod was what made me the most nervous.All the info from Stewmac was extremely helpful,and he fret press caul made the job a breeze.If you already have a drill press this is the way to go.I couldn't believe how smooth the job went.When I'm done with this guitar I will send some pics.It's pretty unique.

James Buckels  Canonsburg,Pa Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 10 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce