Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pressing : Fret Press Caul

Fret Press Caul


Read 73 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Use your drill press! Our self-leveling steel fretting caul has a 3/8" shank to fit your shop arbor press or your drill press.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Press Caul
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4365 Caul with 5 brass inserts Yes
$53.67

4366 Caul only Yes
$39.42


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Press Inserts



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Arbor Press System



Jaws



Fret Press Inserts
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret Arbor Press System
Jaws



Details
 Pictures
Includes five grooved/radiused brass inserts (6", 7-1/4", 9-1/2", 12" and 16").

Additional radii are available: Fret Press Inserts

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 73 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  8 >
4 1-10-2012
Just started

I have only used the fret press on one fret board but was impressed with how easy it was to use. Gave it 4 stars but I think that would go up to 5 stars after I have used it some more. If you do your own fret boards give it a try.

Fishdoctor  Montgomery, AL Read my reviews (5)
4 1-04-2012
Handy drill press attachment

I would have given it 5 stars if mine had come straight at the swivel connection. Kind of odd since the tool seems well made otherwise. Sinks the frets positively and evenly.

Francis Voignier  Arcata, CA Read my reviews (14)
5 12-29-2011
A great tool ....!!!!

It is a super tool for fitting frets ....!!!
I am very pleased with the performance and the speed of my work.

Be well and thank all the children who work there in STEWMAC helping us !!!!!
With consideration and respect ..... George Katsigiannis from Greece

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ..... AND HAPPY 2012 !!!!!

georges  athens-Greece Read my reviews (2)
5 11-30-2011
Fret press caul.

How I wish I'd bought one of these years ago. Put it in my press drill: professional results!! And fret dressing is now a breeze, with no annoying "dinks" in the bead where the edge of the hammer caught it. I'm delighted.

Quentin Howarth  Cumbria, England. Read my reviews (5)
4 11-19-2011
fret caul

well made and a breeze to use... now im doing all my boards with nibs on the binding .... glued and pressed for that classic look...

guitarison  Melb Australia
4 11-18-2011
fret press

nice makes accurate fret work

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
5 10-17-2011
Great Tool!!!!!

I am sooo pleased with this outfit!! It has worked great for me. Only one small problem, the 16" caul is a little on the thin side and tends to lean a little when pressure is applied, but not a major problem. I'd recommend this to anyone getting into fret work!!

Donnie Smith II  Fenwick, WV Read my reviews (4)
5 9-28-2011
press caul

excellent tool - makes accurate fret work so much easier than hammering

Chester V  Pointe Claire, Quebec, Canada Read my reviews (7)
5 9-14-2011
To a man with a hammer...

My first three necks had hammered in frets. It took a long time to hammer them in, then it took me a long time to file the frets even.

This went right into my drill press, pressed them in quickly, VERY little filing afterwards.

Never going back to hammering...

DaveG  Sewickley, PA
5 8-30-2011
Great improvement over hammering frets

I use it with a drill-press and get great results. Most helpful for bolt-on necks! I saved some money buying just the caul since I was also buying a "Jaws" and can use the brass inserts that comes with it.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 10 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce