Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pressing : Fret Press Caul

Fret Press Caul


Read 73 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Use your drill press! Our self-leveling steel fretting caul has a 3/8" shank to fit your shop arbor press or your drill press.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Press Caul
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4365 Caul with 5 brass inserts Yes
$53.67

4366 Caul only Yes
$39.42


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Press Inserts



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Arbor Press System



Jaws



Fret Press Inserts
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret Arbor Press System
Jaws



Details
 Pictures
Includes five grooved/radiused brass inserts (6", 7-1/4", 9-1/2", 12" and 16").

Additional radii are available: Fret Press Inserts

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 73 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  8 >
5 4-10-2014
works as advertised

So far I've just used it once, but it seems to have done an excellent job. When fretting with a hammer, I expect to have to do lots of leveling afterwards, but initial tests with the Fret Rocker show this neck is nearly perfect already. I will probably end up tapping down a few places with the hammer and then stoning the whole thing perfect before I am completely satisfied, but that's just because I am fussy about these things. I found it is easier to do a fret (especially a long one) in several steps - push one end, then the other, then the middle down hard. Much the same way you would hammer it. That also puts less stress on your drill press, which isn't really designed for this kind of thing, but seems to do it well enough. Better, faster and *quieter* than hammering. Although I must say I found the whack whack whack method more satisfying somehow. Alas, I will probably never do it that way again. The Stewmac neck caul is the other end of this rig, and is pretty much essential.

alder  NJ USA Read my reviews (17)
5 3-21-2014
Works like a charm in my drill press.

Way better than pounding!

Highline Guitars  Denver, Colorado Read my reviews (30)
5 12-28-2013
very much better

Better and awesome

Nonuztheego

nonuz the ego  kuala lumpur . malaysia Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-01-2013
perfect

I use this in my drill press and it works perfect all frets are all the same hight as long as you don't press one to hard that is easy to do to and hard to fix u can smash the wood

joey65746  missouri Read my reviews (5)
5 10-28-2013
Easy fretting

This tool give a perfect fretting job. Heavy recommended!

Luciano Italy  Foggia Read my reviews (6)
5 10-17-2013
Awesome product

I'm making my first Guitar and the concept of the neck and frets scared the crap out of me. I found that StewMac has all the right tools and this is one of the best. I used the Fret Press Caul in my drill press and the Neck support under the neck to insert my frets. For kicks, I tried hammering one in a sample and there was no comparison. They made my life simple and professional looking neck. A must buy!!

BradL  Stratford, CT Read my reviews (2)
4 9-04-2013
Modified for my use

I don't use mine in my press. I have modified the unit by welding the chuck bit verticle. I use a light hammer to tap frets into place. It gives me an even push on the entire fret to the radius of the neck.

XevKai  St.Clair Shores, Michigan Read my reviews (11)
5 8-04-2013
does what it should

in combination with the neck support it works like a dream. Fast and easy!

Milagra Dulce' Guitar works  Oregon Read my reviews (13)
5 7-22-2013
Cool Caul

This is a quick, safe for the guitar and non noisy method for installing frets. You are best to use this with the fret press from Stewmac.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
5 6-30-2013
caul press

Tried using the fret hammer with little results,,ordered the press caul,,,worked fantastic

Dick Fox  Clifty Ar. Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 10 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce