Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : String Spreaders

String Spreaders


Read 25 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Why waste time unstringing a guitar for a spot job on the nut or fretboard, when all you really want is to simply get the strings out of the way?

See details below

Email a friend
String Spreaders

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4802 Set of 2 Yes
$9.95
3 or more $8.95  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Lifter



Mini String Spreaders



String Spacing Rule



Fingerboard Guards



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



String Lifter
Mini String Spreaders
String Spacing Rule
Fingerboard Guards
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Try these handy string spreaders instead of the makeshift method you've been using—they'll become a busy addition to your basic tools.

Each curved brass spreader fits behind the neck, to capture the loosened strings and give you room for filing, cleaning, polishing or light repairs. Finish-friendly rubberized coating protects the neck.

3-3/8" long, set of 2.

Our thanks to repairman David Lynch for inspiring this handy tool.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Spreaders
String Spreaders
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 25 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 10-04-2013
Simply Convenient

I have been using a popsicle stick with a piece of felt wrapped around it...... until now. It worked but I had to loosen the strings quite a bit. When I saw two of these for ten bucks it was just a bargain. Sure, I could sit down and make something but the money I would make in the time it would take to put them together far out weighs the cost. They are easy to use and protect the neck. Thank you Stewart- MacDonald...

Billy Etheridge  Suffolk VA
4 10-03-2013
String Spreaders

There ok but be carefull or they will crimp your strings,I acually thought i had a low fret,but came to find out these crimped the low e string

grey  Tennessee Read my reviews (2)
5 9-30-2013
Great tool

These are a great help and time saver. Major help for finger board or fret work.

Larry Threet  Lexington, SC Read my reviews (10)
4 9-03-2013
Like an extra hand!

I had used velcro to hold back the strings in the past and it always took some effort to get it all hooked up, worked but fumbly. These are a snap! easy to put in place and looks professional!

Fred I  Virginia Read my reviews (5)
5 7-31-2013
So simple. So great!

This may be my most used tool. Every time I work on a nut, or condition a fretboard. When I'm dressing frets on the fret jig, these things are in action.

Bryan P.  Knoxville, TN Read my reviews (7)
5 7-18-2013
Does what it says

Works as advertised. Nifty for neatly parting the strings.

WAR  Austin, TX Read my reviews (3)
5 6-30-2013
Perfect!

This may be the most useful tool in the catalog! I'm amazed at how many times I use them. Perfect for nuts, oiling the fretboard, or doing fretwork without removing the strings.

Bryan P.  Knoxville, TN Read my reviews (7)
5 6-21-2013
Awesome

Im a guitar tech for three years now, and I can't tell you how many times I wished I had a tool like this on my shop...Thanks StewMac! =)

Guilherme Brederode  Lisboa, Portugal Read my reviews (11)
5 4-13-2013
What Simple and Neat Item!

Great Item! I used these for moving the strings out of the way when I just wanted to clean the "Finger Snot" off fingerboards without the strings being in the way, or having to remove them. Simple yet effective!

Rockin' Mike Burton  Canada Read my reviews (22)
5 4-08-2013
String Spreaders

Such a simple, logical device. Keep up the great work StewMac. You make working on guitars a real pleasure.

Eggy  Pembroke, Va Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 14 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce