Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Micro Finishing Papers

Micro Finishing Papers


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Micro-grit abrasives for water-sanding scratch-free finishes. Grit particles are uniform in size, virtually eliminating sanding scratches.

See details below

Email a friend
Micro Finishing Papers

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5557 800-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.46

5558 1000-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.55

5559 1200-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.62

5560 1500-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.69

5561 2000-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.72


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Foam Polishing Pads



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Instructions
Perfect for modern polyester finishes or traditional lacquer.

Sold individually in 9" x 5-1/2" sheets.

These papers are graded on the "P-scale," indicating a truly uniform cutting surface (read about abrasive grading scales in our Finishing Step-by-Step book).

After sanding, use ColorTone Polishing Compounds to complete the high gloss.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Micro Finishing Papers
Micro Finishing Papers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 12-15-2011
excellent paper

I purchased several sheets to finish off a neck finish with SparUrethane and a body painted with spray-can epoxy. I've only tried the 800, 1500, and 2000 but I agree with the description about the uniformity of the abrasive. The paper cut quite well when wet sanding (not surprisingly gums dry sanding with my finishes). It also produces a fine buff-able haze, without the type of unwanted scratching I see when I use the paper typically available at big-box home improvement stores.
The price isn't at all unreasonable either. Good paper is expensive. I think this is a bargain. With an existing sheet of 600 I had, I don't think I even got through a whole sheet of each grit on a 21" scale kids electric guitar. I probably spent more on paste polish.
I highly recommend it, I'll buy it again in the future.

StevenB  Chicago, IL
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-07-2011
long duration

I have used a game of these to polish three guitars, I think they will last five more

löfgren  madrid Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-10-2011
Microfinishing paper

I purchased the Stew Mac micro finishing sheets (800-1500 grit) to complete a repair of a chip in my guitar neck. The results were great. The finished neck is smooth and feels great.

daquistojazz  NYC,NY
5 8-07-2011
Durable Well-Made Papers

These are the best finishing papers I've ever used. They hold together well while wet sanding without a lot of build-up.

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
5 5-21-2011
Flawless product.

This paper is nearly indestructible compared to cheaper products. It did not tear nor plug up like other paper had for me during crucial projects. Rinse often when wet sanding and you shouldn't have any issues at all.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
5 5-07-2011
Great Quality

I have used the sames sheets on numerous finishes. I keep them clean and they work very well and bring out a mirror finish.

Clell  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (21)
5 5-06-2011
Wet sanding

these are great for wet sanding. I bought two sheets of all three and still have 1 and 1/2 sheets left. They are very durable and will not tear on you.

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
5 1-17-2011
Superb Quality!

You wouldn't think there would be much difference between sandpaper you get from a hardware store and any other sandpaper. You'd be wrong. The quality of these sandpapers is great! used several grits before switch to the micro mesh pads for a drop fill. Thanks again Stew Mac!

Mikes Guitar Garage  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 10-09-2010
Micro finishing papers

I had bought a used guitar from a seller on Ebay and was bothered by the used stamped into the headstock rear. I decided to inlay a Brown Pelican into the used stamp to cover it and needed finishing paper for the engraved portion of the wings. I also decided to make a Tor-tis pickguard from a sheet that had some flaws on it, and needed to smooth the surface. The micro paper preformed flawlessly for my needs and the job turned out great.

Stratfanatic  Summerville, S.C. Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-23-2010
great product and service

The Sandpaper was great (although I will not be ordering again as I did find the right stuff at Canadian Tire). As always it was delivered in a timely (just over a week) manner and everything was organized and great! Stewmac you don't disappoint! Thanks!

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce