Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth

Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth


Read 46 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Original lemon oil formula.
Specially treated cloth loosens and removes dirt and oxidation fast, leaving frets shining like jewels and feeling great.

See details below

Email a friend
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0201 Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth Yes
$9.95
3 or more $8.90  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

GHS Fast Fret



String Spreaders



Fret Polishing Wheels



Fret Dressing Stick



3M Flexible Polishing Papers



GHS Fast Fret
String Spreaders
Fret Polishing Wheels
Fret Dressing Stick
3M Flexible Polishing Papers



Details
 Pictures
Weird name, but it really gets the job done! Gorgomyte® was developed by veteran guitar tech Jimmy Johnson as a nonabrasive, faster alternative to steel wool. Gorgomyte cleans and conditions fingerboards without leaving a sticky residue. Jimmy's proud to say Gorgomyte is used by more big-name touring bands than any similar product.

"I'm so used to great frets now it's hard to remember life before Gorgomyte!"
—Tommy Shaw of Styx

The 6" x 9" size means Gorgomyte is more economical and fresher when you're ready to use it. A new finer cotton weave helps it clean more efficiently, too.

Gorgomyte is environmentally safe, non-toxic and non-irritating to your skin. It's chemically treated with lemon oil to condition and enhance the beauty of fretboard woods. No need to mask off the frets.

A note from Jimmy Johnson, Gorgomyte creator and veteran guitar tech:

Having the right tool for the right job is what being a good tech is all about. I'm thrilled to be able to have my own product, Gorgomyte, added to the StewMac family of exceptional products.

Since I began selling Gorgomyte in 1995, I've been fortunate to be in close contact with many major touring and recording artists and their techs. Now in 2010, Gorgomyte is used by virtually every big name act out there (Rush, Metallica, Tesla, Styx, Damn Yankees, Todd Rundgren, Peter Frampton, Tom Cochrane, Glass Tiger, Collective Soul, Night Ranger).

I'm excited to be able to expand Gorgomyte's user list to include the top luthier shops that use StewMac to keep their shops equipped with the finest tools of the trade.


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 46 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
3 6-21-2012
I don't like it

You get a pre-soaked sheet which you have to cut into small squares and put back the unused portion in it's poly bag. It's a little "greasy" for my liking. Also smells awful - like tanning lotion! Too expensive for what it does.

Suhr3825  CA Read my reviews (44)
5 5-11-2012
Amazing stuff

1 inch square and the entire fret board is cleaned and polished.

Greg J.  Austin, TX Read my reviews (3)
5 3-20-2012
Impressive.

Definitely worth it. Frets look fantastic. You'll see the difference between every fret you finish and the next one down the neck.

Chris T.  Tampa, FL.
5 3-20-2012
Wonderful Product

This stuff actually works as well as advertised. I couldn't believe how much dirt and grime came off my fingerboards and frets after using Gorgomyte. In addition to cleaning and conditioning, it actually makes the instrument play smoother, which is a nice treat. Anyone who owns a fretted instrument would benefit from using this product. It's also very handy for polishing metal fingerpicks, which is great if you're a fingerpicker like me. I love this stuff and I'll be buying more in the very near future.

J.D.  Morgantown, WV
5 3-09-2012
Awesome

Buy it. Buy it now. The Gorgomyte cloth works so amazingly well, it is hard to believe that a single product could so vastly improve the feel of your guitar.
I don't have the proper words to describe how amazing it is. Trust me. Buy it.

Dave R.  Toronto
5 11-08-2011
Great stuff!

This stuff is great once you get used to the sun tan lotion-smell.

When I first applied it, I was a bit disappointed, but then I buffed it with an old T-shirt, and wow.....

Thomas Revheim  Oslo, Norway Read my reviews (4)
5 11-07-2011
AMAZING Product

I don't know what it's got in it and I don't really care. I can't believe how clean this cloth gets my fretboards and frets. My guitars look awesome and my fingers glide over the polished frets. I'm not the greatest player in the world but I can swear it even cuts down on string buzz too. Easy to use and better than pro results (my guitars never looked this good after having them serviced). Buy these cloths & you won't be dissappointed. Good job, Jimmy.

Perry DiMarco  Farmingdale, NY Read my reviews (5)
5 10-27-2011
excellent product

wow! this stuff is simply fantastic. just a small square is all you need for a neck - leaves frets shining better than steel wool or dremel methods, much quicker too. Makes old, rusty frets shine like new. i like the coconut smell as well. Used it on a half dozen guitars & basses - superb results. thanks for making this available!

Bifftar  Mad, WI
4 9-01-2011
Easy to use and good results.

I purchased 2 units sometime ago, but only yesterday I started to use Gorgomyte. I must say that it is for me easier to clean frets and fingerbord, in the end the results are much better than before with other products. Highly recommendable !
Antonio Carvalho - Portugal

Antonio Carvalho  Porto, Portugal Read my reviews (4)
5 8-23-2011
I was skeptic

I bought that thing with a weird name to help my restoration of an old classical guitar. Having read all the good reviews I decided to give it a try. And here I am, writing a good review myself. Not only the fretboard wood came back to life, but the frets now look like polished silver.

Vile Mary  Montreal, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 79 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce