Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Fret Erasers

Fret Erasers


Read 95 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An easy way to make your frets shine! Fret Erasers™ are flexible self-padded rubber blocks embedded with abrasive grits.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Erasers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0472 Complete set of 5 SAVE $3.00 Yes
$30.95

0467 Coarse (blue) Yes
$6.79

0468 Medium (red) Yes
$6.79

0469 Medium-fine (green) Yes
$6.79

0470 Fine (gray) Yes
$6.79

0471 Extra-fine (yellow) Yes
$6.79


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret End Dressing File



Essential Fretting Kit



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Fret Dressing Stick



Fret Polishing Wheels



Fret End Dressing File
Essential Fretting Kit
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Polishing Wheels



Details
 Pictures
They're incredibly handy—use them in sequence as a final step on freshly-crowned frets, to erase fine file marks and scratches. The grits are color-coded for convenience. Frets gleam, and play buttery-smooth.

"I used to wrap abrasive papers around small rubber blocks, but that got a little clumsy. Fret Erasers are simpler and faster. No more sandy grit or sharp steel wool particles."
—Erick Coleman, repairman and StewMac tech advisor

Each Fret Eraser is 2-1/2" x 3/4" x 3/8" (63.50mm x 19.05mm x 9.52mm)

SAVE when you order the complete set of 5 grits.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Erasers
Fret Erasers
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 95 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 >
4 3-11-2012
Great Item!

These are a great item, giving you another method of polishing up frets.
Tho I'm still getting used to using them...but...it takes quite a bit more time to run through all the grits on 20-24 frets...I can do this quicker with sand papers, ScotchBrite, & steel wool.
But then again, these are less messy to use...

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
1 3-10-2012
Very Disappointed

These looked great, so I ordered a #600, #800, and #1000, to use in sequence. I had high hopes, but after an hour of killing my fingers & wrist, I was unable to achieve results anywhere close to what I normally do with MicroMesh and steel wool. I could only get frets to a dull sheen. These are NOT "better than steel wool" nor do they make "frets gleam, and play buttery-smooth." I can not recommend this product. Stick with what you know works.

Webmaestro  Rochester, MN
5 3-09-2012
Erasers keep your fingers clean

I was skeptical about these erasers but now am convinced they work well and are worth the money spent. They work good for getting at the sides of high frets. They also work good for the bevelled fret ends. I just slide them up and down the neck along the fret bevels and they polish up quite nice. They also seem to last quite long. I was afraid at first that they would wear down quickly then you would have to keep buying new ones. But they do last well. I still use steel wool as the last pass on my fret jobs, as I have yet to find anything that makes frets shine better. But all in all these are great little items for a busy repair shop, and worth the money I spent.

Patrick Patten, Patten Guitars  Fredericton, NB Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 3-08-2012
An Excellent Idea

I have had great results so far with these when polishing frets . A great idea and seems durable . If they were a little larger they would be a lot easier to hold on to .

Slide Area  California Read my reviews (2)
4 3-05-2012
It's nice to have.

I thought I would try this out since reading the reviews sounded like a great thing to have. I liked it, it was differently a lot less messy than steel wool. The one thing I have to say bad about them is the price.

Bearded Moose Guitars  Blue Ridge, SC Read my reviews (6)
5 2-26-2012
Rubbed the right way

I just recently got a chance to try these out. I bought them because when using a dermal tool in can slip and really mess up a good job. They worked great. Not the mirror finish I get with the dermal but close enough. I bought the whole set but you may get away with just a couple.

Victor Johansen  Phoenix, Arizona Read my reviews (11)
5 2-26-2012
Just one word: WOW

I have used'em on over 30 guitars and they are still great. I'll buy another set soon.

Fred Carpita  Rome, Italy Read my reviews (8)
5 2-17-2012
Worked extremely well in my opinion

I'm always a tad skeptical about new products but gave the fine and extra fine a try. I finished my frets as I normally do and then used these which made them better so I'll be ordering the rest of the grits before my next fret job.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
2 2-16-2012
Fret Erasers

I gave this product a try and found that they are well made, but I could not achieve the same result compared to the 3 sided micro-stick. For me, I'll pass on this and go with the micro products.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
5 2-12-2012
Great for fret polishing

The beauty of these is that they conform to the shape of the fret so you get better coverage with less effort. I just completed a level and dress and the frets look wondrful and feel great.

Gtr-Tek  Kansas Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce