Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Fret Erasers

Fret Erasers


Read 94 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An easy way to make your frets shine! Fret Erasers™ are flexible self-padded rubber blocks embedded with abrasive grits.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Erasers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0472 Complete set of 5 SAVE $3.00 Yes
$30.95

0467 Coarse (blue) Yes
$6.79

0468 Medium (red) Yes
$6.79

0469 Medium-fine (green) Yes
$6.79

0470 Fine (gray) Yes
$6.79

0471 Extra-fine (yellow) Yes
$6.79


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret End Dressing File



Essential Fretting Kit



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Fret Dressing Stick



Fret Polishing Wheels



Fret End Dressing File
Essential Fretting Kit
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Polishing Wheels



Details
 Pictures
They're incredibly handy—use them in sequence as a final step on freshly-crowned frets, to erase fine file marks and scratches. The grits are color-coded for convenience. Frets gleam, and play buttery-smooth.

"I used to wrap abrasive papers around small rubber blocks, but that got a little clumsy. Fret Erasers are simpler and faster. No more sandy grit or sharp steel wool particles."
—Erick Coleman, repairman and StewMac tech advisor

Each Fret Eraser is 2-1/2" x 3/4" x 3/8" (63.50mm x 19.05mm x 9.52mm)

SAVE when you order the complete set of 5 grits.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Erasers
Fret Erasers
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 94 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 >
5 4-15-2012
New 'Fret Erasers'

These erasers are fantastic for that final scratch removal process from your files! Don't be L-7, try these erasers out on your next fret repair / replacement. The new fret erasers from StewMac are the best thing I have ever found for that finial finish of a fret job. It gets easier to use them each time I hold them in my hand. I started a small groove with a file across the ends to better fret fit. Nothing else compares to the ease and smoothness they leave the frets when you’re done. All of the little tiny marks from my files have just disappeared like magic.

BobDWilliams  Woodbridge, Va Read my reviews (6)
2 4-10-2012
Slow, But Work OK

For a pro repair shop these are not a time-saving replacement for sandpaper during refrets. Hand sanding the frets with 600, 1000 and 2000 grit sandpaper prepares the frets for the buffing wheel much faster than these erasers.

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
5 4-05-2012
Great time saver

I used these fret erasers to smooth up the top of the frets after leveling and then filng the radius back on. They worked great and saved time over the fret stick I used to use.

R J Adams  Waynesboro, Va Read my reviews (8)
5 4-05-2012
Very Nice

These Fret Erasers are very nice and easy to use. If you are looking to clean up your frets or to make them smooth so bends are easier then I recommend this product. If your frets need to be sanded down you may want to look at something more agressive as these are more for a finished look/feel. Be sure to tape in between the frets so you do not damage the wood.

Joel Hughes  Avondale, PA
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-31-2012
Great value, easier to use than files

These erasers for fret jobs make the rounding over and scratch removal process so much easier when fretting, just follow the color-coded steps to a really nicely finished fret. If you combine the fret erasers with the 3-corner dressing files you'll have every tool you need in your arsenal for a first-class fret job.

Neal Carey  Woburn, MA Read my reviews (2)
5 3-29-2012
perfect!

i used in sharpening samurai. japan rocks!

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
5 3-18-2012
Fret Erasers

Great for a quick fret polish, I tried them on a very old 60's guitar and they did a very good job in a short amount of time. I would recommend the product to keep around your guitar shop.

truefret  Milton, WI Read my reviews (15)
5 3-16-2012
Great product!

Very cool. Being non-magnetic, it's a bit less hassle and way cleaner than the 'ole 4x steel wool while still doing the same job (using the Medium-fine/green). Great purchase for anyone around a fret.

SurfCook1  Longboat Key, FL Read my reviews (4)
4 3-15-2012
goodbye steel wool

After years of polishing frets with steel wool and worrying about fuzz on my pickups and tools, it's great to be able to erase years of build up with a few strokes from these little guys.

Erik Hodges  Concord NH
4 3-11-2012
Great Item!

These are a great item, giving you another method of polishing up frets.
Tho I'm still getting used to using them...but...it takes quite a bit more time to run through all the grits on 20-24 frets...I can do this quicker with sand papers, ScotchBrite, & steel wool.
But then again, these are less messy to use...

Stews Guitar Works  Warren MI USA Read my reviews (14)
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce