Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Fret Erasers

Fret Erasers


Read 94 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An easy way to make your frets shine! Fret Erasers™ are flexible self-padded rubber blocks embedded with abrasive grits.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Erasers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0472 Complete set of 5 SAVE $3.00 Yes
$30.95

0467 Coarse (blue) Yes
$6.79

0468 Medium (red) Yes
$6.79

0469 Medium-fine (green) Yes
$6.79

0470 Fine (gray) Yes
$6.79

0471 Extra-fine (yellow) Yes
$6.79


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret End Dressing File



Essential Fretting Kit



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Fret Dressing Stick



Fret Polishing Wheels



Fret End Dressing File
Essential Fretting Kit
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Polishing Wheels



Details
 Pictures
They're incredibly handy—use them in sequence as a final step on freshly-crowned frets, to erase fine file marks and scratches. The grits are color-coded for convenience. Frets gleam, and play buttery-smooth.

"I used to wrap abrasive papers around small rubber blocks, but that got a little clumsy. Fret Erasers are simpler and faster. No more sandy grit or sharp steel wool particles."
—Erick Coleman, repairman and StewMac tech advisor

Each Fret Eraser is 2-1/2" x 3/4" x 3/8" (63.50mm x 19.05mm x 9.52mm)

SAVE when you order the complete set of 5 grits.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Erasers
Fret Erasers
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 94 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 >
5 7-09-2012
Fast and Convinient

A great replacement for steel wool. Easy clean up and takes up less space. I still prefer paper for removing marks and scratches. I use these before a final buffing to make frets gleam.

Dave Ward  Oklahoma City, OK Read my reviews (14)
5 7-03-2012
Miracle

I just cleaned some tarnished frets with these and they now look better than new with a mirror shine and super fast feel. I've tossed my steel wool for good.

jgreene  Haslett, MI
5 6-23-2012
jackpot!

OK, Whoever came up with these deserves their million! I'm kicking myself because it isn't me! Such a simple concept! No learning curve, no diagrams, they just work!.....perfectly!

Paul Hartmann  Hyde Park, NY Read my reviews (4)
3 6-17-2012
not the shortcut I hoped for

These looked like they'd be a great replacement for sandpaper after rounding frets with a 300 grt diamond crowning file. And while they're ergonomically more friendly than sandpaper they really don't get rid of all the file scratches. The amount of time trying to get those scratches out with the course eraser is better spent with 400 grit sandpaper then going up through the erasers. Even then the polish wasn't as nice if I use paper for the whole process, finishing with steel wool (another product I'd hope to phase out with these).

Not to say they don't do a decent job. If you sand the file scratches out with some 400 wrapped around one of the erasers, then use each one and end with a buffing wheel they'll turn out nice enough.

Over-all they feel better than the alternative but aren't really a time saver. I'll keep using them just because they're cleaner. and on a rosewood board I didn't find it was necessary to use a guard or masking tape since the buffing wheel took care of whatever dirt and small scratches the erasers left in the wood.

nick @ instrumentally sound  denver, co
3 6-16-2012
Not bad, but not great

I got these erasers in the hopes of being able to shortcut my fret polishing using the various gradations of micro mesh pads.

While these weren't bad, they didn't give the super polished luster as easily as I'd hoped. The micro mesh still seem to do the best job for me.

P Smith  Cary, NC Read my reviews (5)
1 6-15-2012
waste of money

I find that these work nowhere near as good as gradually finer sand papers wrapped around the diamond crowning files.

bigjohnsguitars  Denton, Tx Read my reviews (3)
5 6-13-2012
Great little product !

Cool idea ! Makes a little bit of a mess, but easy to brush away, unlike 0000 steel wool . Very easy to grip and maneuver around the frets, and pretty much no worry about about scratching the finish or fretboard while using the very fine grits. When mine wear out, i will get more for sure !

Illdoyouforthat  Warwick, RI Read my reviews (4)
5 6-09-2012
Finally

What a clever new innovation for shining up frets. When I saw these in the catalog, my first question was "how long will they last?" I purchased the finest grade eraser (1000 grit) on my last order, and the answer to my question is "a really long time, WAY longer than any sandpaper!" These are a real time saver and are easy to use. In the long run this way is less expensive than going through all that sandpaper. I plan on purchasing some other grades on my next order. It would be helpful if the catalog listed the grit # as it is stamped on the eraser.

Richard Young Jr.  Greenville, SC Read my reviews (2)
5 6-04-2012
No mess!

This sure beats the metal grain that results in using 0000 steel wool. No flake getting everywhere and no more taping the pickups. The labels on them are handy too so you know what grit to use.

RS Guitar Shop  St. Louis, MO Read my reviews (7)
1 5-29-2012
Not what I hoped for

This looked great from other reviews, but I found them to be quite the opposite

They don't save me any time.
They still make a mess (eraser-like shavings)
They don't leave a shine any better than 0000 steelwool (Which is not great for anything other than a Squier).

My prefered method to polish after crowning is: Sanding-Stick with 400 & 600-grit belts, then 3M polishing papers.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce