Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Fret Dressing Stick

Fret Dressing Stick


Read 48 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The Fret Dressing Stick features interchangeable sanding belts for removing the scratches left by leveling and crowning files.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Dressing Stick
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1826 Dressing Stick with 10 belts (2 of each grit) Yes
$10.74

1827 Dressing stick only Yes
$2.89

1828 120-grit replacement belt (red), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1829 240-grit replacement belt (blue), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1830 320-grit replacement belt (green), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1831 400-grit replacement belt (yellow), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06

1832 600-grit replacement belt (black), pkg of 5 Yes
$4.06


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Details
 Pictures
File a notch in the end of the stick to conform to the crown of the fretwire, and with the finer-grit belts it becomes a great tool for fret polishing.

This 6" x 1/4" (152.40mm x 6.35mm) tool is spring-loaded to keep pressure on the sanding belt. A flip of your thumb rotates the belt for a fresh sanding surface.

The Dressing Stick isn't only for fret work. It's great for leveling drip marks in lacquer finishes or super glue touch-ups, for sanding inlays, for fine scroll work, and more.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Dressing Stick
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 48 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
4 4-20-2012
a useful little item

I'm still using a couple of the original dressing sticks which were made to a slightly slimmer design and are a little bit easier to use. there are a couple of the newer type ones here as well and the guys seem to get on with them OK - but I still think the original design was superior

Andybanjo  UK Read my reviews (13)
5 4-19-2012
Does the trick

This is a great little tool. I ordered two dressing sticks only and the 320 and 600 grit belts. I used them to clean up some frets. Fortunately each stick came with a 120 grit belt on them because I had a few high spots I needed to sand off. The 120 made quick work of it. I have ordered a set of 120 belts to add to the set.

Kris Reese  Fishers, IN Read my reviews (4)
5 4-16-2012
Great !

This is simply a great inexpensive tool not only for fret dressing. Can't go wrong with it.

Dimitri  Hennuy√®res, Belgium Read my reviews (6)
5 4-04-2012
A very clever idea!

This is a truly great tool at a very practical price. Has many uses for guitar work. Great for frets and areas that are tricky to sand.

Suhr3825  CA Read my reviews (44)
5 3-29-2012
A necessary tool!

I've used the fret dressing stick since I started fretwork 20 years ago! It's my go to tool for taking out the chatter on any fret situation. I just had to order a new one after years of use from my first one. IT LASTED 20 YEARS!

Mr. Stusey-O  Terre Haute In.
5 3-11-2012
Low Cost Fret Dresser

I purchased these fret dressing sticks to clean up some of my frets on my favourite strats as the previous re-fret had left some marks and also had not re-crowned them quite enough. I found these sticks to be very adaptable to the job in hand as I used the 320 grit then the 600 grit to finish them off, followed by a polish with Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads. I am very pleased with the results and would recommend these dressing sticks, as you can take as little off as you require depending on the grade of grit you use, as opposed to using fret files which can be quite harsh depending on how much they have been used and how worn they are, these sticks are very good value for money and very economical to use, highly recommended.

M Dawes  South Shields, England Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-24-2012
Very cool little tool!

Just received my 2nd one, my first came with the Essential Fret Kit, I wanted another to notch the end for fret polishing, but I find it very useful in other jobs that I want a regular edged one as well. Cheap enough and works great!

Danny Clayburn  Albuquerque, NM Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-30-2012
Cool.

made in the USA! :)

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
5 1-20-2012
Great for dressing the frets

I had dressed all my fret jobs by hand using sandpaper and a small wood block. This Sanding stick worked out so well I don't know why I didn't get it sooner. Thanks Stewmac
Ms Ricki Leigh

Ricki Leigh  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
5 12-16-2011
Great Tool

Love this cheap little tool. Be even better if the papers grit # was clearly written on them as my eyes can't easily tell the difference.

Em  NZ Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce