Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : 3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper

3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper


Read 32 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our favorite papers for dry sanding. They last longer! The premium aluminum oxide abrasive cuts fast and resists clogging, for better efficiency.

See details below

Email a friend
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5096 150-grit Yes
$1.57
50 or more $1.04  

5097 220-grit Yes
$1.57
50 or more $1.04  

5098 320-grit Yes
$1.57
50 or more $1.04  

5099 400-grit Yes
$1.57
50 or more $1.04  

5100 600-grit Yes
$1.57
50 or more $1.04  

5101 800-grit Yes
$1.57
50 or more $1.04  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micro Finishing Papers



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Foam Polishing Pads



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Micro Finishing Papers
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Foam Polishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Treated to help prevent "fisheyes" (cratering) in waterbase finishes. These papers last longer—we use them in our own shops.

Sold individually in 9" x 11" (23cm x 28cm) sheets.

These papers are graded on the "P-scale," indicating a truly uniform cutting surface (read about abrasive grading scales in our Finishing Step-by-Step book).

Here's how we use these abrasives in our own instrument shops:
"After spraying the build coats on my guitar finishes, I sand with 320 grit Fre-Cut, then spray and sand again. Then I move on to 400, 600, and 800 grit. Don't skip grits! Using all the grits makes the work easier for each sheet, and they last a lot longer."
Todd Sams, StewMac Production Manager and builder of Sams guitars

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 32 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 8-25-2011
Tough to beat

Inexpensive sand paper is usually cheap, but you need to use a lot more and it leaves residue on your projects. This paper is long lasting, cuts well, and worth every cent. Level sanded an entire body with less than a sheet. Don't waste time - pickup a few sheets and be ready for your next project.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 8-18-2011
good paper and doesn't clog easy

Its 3m what else can i say? 3m is always a good name brand. It lives up to its reputation.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
5 6-22-2011
Love it!

To go from regular hardware store sand paper to this is shocking to say the least! Not having to work around the gouges and irregularities caused by bad sandpaper when doing finishing and fretboards is a real time and stress saver! The only comment I have on it is that the 150 grit does leave a yellow dust when you sand so if you sand a nut or something expect to move up the grit scale or have a yellow looking nut.

Deane M  Florida Read my reviews (3)
5 6-14-2011
Everything I expected and more!

For starters the fre-cut gold paper is top notch. I have compared all kinds of sandpaper to Fre-Cut and the scratch pattern from the Fre-Cut is much more uniform, and the last 5x longer. I use it with my air compressor and I rarely if ever have to change due to worn out paper. I will never use any other product to sand with. Unless I need something higher than 800 grit.

My only complaint is I wish they offered all grits. I am talking 20-2000 Gold Fre-Cut. Yes, 3M does make 20 grit sandpaper. So however they make Fre-Cut add more grits and I will buy them all!

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
5 6-08-2011
as good as it gets

great stuff. doesn't get any better. someone else stated that the 150 leaves residue, but that comes off if you just blow it off and use a finer grit after.

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-03-2011
Farewell to wet sanding

The title says it all! This paper is marvellous; it cuts fast, doesn't clog, and provided you stop to dust off the work, leaves little in the way of sanding marks. Economical too! - I used 1/4 of a sheet to rub down a whole guitar. Just wish this paper was available in the lower grits in the UK!

David Yelverton  Felixstowe, UK Read my reviews (5)
5 3-10-2011
Best Sandpaper around

I've tried several papers, including one that the rep said beat anything that 3M made, and this one is tops. It clogs less, lasts longer, and cuts smoother than any other paper. It's worth the price for a project that needs the best, but I use slightly lower grade paper for other projects where the item won't be under massive scrutiny.

Brian T.  Syracuse, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 3-08-2011
Excellent Product

This was my first time working on a guitar finish and this sandpaper worked exactly like I thought it would.

WayneB  Lutherville,MD Read my reviews (5)
5 1-30-2011
The ones to use

Although the 150 grit discolor white wood (maple) and actually leaves a yellow powder the 3M Gold Fre-Cut is a great sanding paper. I use every grade except for the 150 grit because of the discoloring. The others does not do that.

Metamatic  Malmoe, Sweden Read my reviews (5)
5 1-04-2011
Amazing!

Possibly the best sandpaper I've used. It doesn't clog easily, and puts a nice uniform surface on the instrument. Highly recommended

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce