Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Fingerboard Guards

Fingerboard Guards


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Each of these .010" x 3-1/8" x 7/8" stainless steel masks fits over a fret, to protect the fingerboard while you file or polish the fret.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Guards
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3741 Set of 6 Yes
$11.86


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Erasers



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Erasers
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Universal size, they can be bent for any fingerboard width or curvature, taped down, or held by hand. It's a simple idea for a clean professional fret job!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 >
5 3-02-2011
No Repair Shop Should Be Without a Bunch of These!

I can't count how many time these little guards have saved me additional fretboard cleanup! They fit around the frets nicely and for the price save me a lot work in the long run. If you do a lot of fret work, these are great!

Phil Secrist, Secrist Guitars  North Ogden, Utah
1 2-20-2011
Finger board guards

Worthless for Banjo. Hangs over edge way to far, gets in the way. Not tight enough on the fret to help much. Bending doesn't help, makes it worse. Use masking tape and save yourself some time and money.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
5 1-26-2011
Truly great, but how about longer lengths for bass?

I couldn't do without your fret guards, they're truly great. But I hope that one day, you'll have longer lengths available, so I don't have to cut them up and tape 2 of them together for use on 5 & 6 string basses!

Marc Terreur - Marcus Guitars & Basses - luthier  Sint-Niklaas, Belgium Read my reviews (2)
5 12-16-2010
Convenient and cheap

These are a great thing to add to any order. They're really helpful and simple to use.

Barnaby  Tokyo, Japan Read my reviews (2)
4 12-12-2010
Great little tool for minor touch-ups

This is actually a 4+ star review. The design and the choice of materials works well in 80% of my shops needs. I have modified a few of my guards to fit 24 fret fingerboards and some of them I've bent one end to get my thumb out of the way for precision fret end work. I like the fact that they don't rip!!! Recommendation: make some that are narrow to fit between the frets higher up on the neck. Keep up the good work SM.

Deuce Guitars  Gatineau, Canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
4 11-05-2010
Fingerboard Guards

These little guards are great for touch up and buffing your frets.

bigfootguitarco  Lafayette, IN Read my reviews (2)
5 10-24-2010
fingerboard guards

Hi Stewart, this fretboard guard are wonderful to protect the fingerboard,just to do individual frets. In this way you don't have to cover the whole fretboard. Unless you have to level all the frets. Thanks

searchd so long  canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-15-2010
Simple and Perfect

No scuff, no mess. Whether you use polishing wheels or superfine steel wool, these guards protect your fingerboard from damage to the finish or excessive wear. Face it, wood and wood finishes are softer than the metal in the frets. Don't muck up that vintage maple board, protect it.

DR Chevalier  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
2 9-09-2010
It's a good idea

At least for me, doesn't work too well. I was hoping to avoid taping the fingerboard to re-crown & polish frets after leveling, but what I found was I have to hold the guard with my left hand while filing/shaping/polishing with my right and no matter how I hold the guard my left hand and/or fingers get in the way of the tool I'm using to file/shape/polish. I tried bending the ends to wrap around the neck but then it was too difficult to bend the flat part to the fingerboard radius so the guard itself got in the way. sigh

Joe Dowd  Edwall, WA Read my reviews (8)
5 8-30-2010
Better than tape

These guards are better than tape because they will not tear and they can be bent over the sides of the fretboard, protecting the edge while finishing the end of the fret.

Jacob  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce