Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Fingerboard Guards

Fingerboard Guards


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Each of these .010" x 3-1/8" x 7/8" stainless steel masks fits over a fret, to protect the fingerboard while you file or polish the fret.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Guards
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3741 Set of 6 Yes
$11.86


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Erasers



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Erasers
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Universal size, they can be bent for any fingerboard width or curvature, taped down, or held by hand. It's a simple idea for a clean professional fret job!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 >
3 5-24-2012
Fingerboard Guards: Differents sizes please!!!!!

Perfect to finishing frets, but For the upper frets is too wide, I had to reduce a one fingerboard guard to fit in it.

byerek  Spain Read my reviews (10)
4 5-19-2012
Works as expected

I wish they made one that covered the whole fretboard...very easy tool to spot fix any high fret by saving time from taping. You have to hold it with one hand while using the other to do whatever work is needed. I found it really easy when you get someone to hold it for you..lol. Its a "must have" tool for a small price that will last a long time

Robmase  Charlotte, NC Read my reviews (6)
5 5-18-2012
Work saver

These guards are a timesaver. I was so tired of taping off fingerboards...makes it so easy to work on frets now.

Douglas Kratz  Malvern, Arkansas Read my reviews (7)
2 5-04-2012
Not bad But,

A good idea but the slots are too wide for med. fretwire.Tighter slots would make these much better!

Dave Anderson Guitars  Port Richey,Fl. Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-03-2012
Indespensible

I use these on almost every fret job, very secure and fast. I found the slot to be a little to narrow for jumbo wire, so a small flat file and some abrasive paper to smooth the edge and it was easy enough to widen. I also have one a thinned out on the grinding wheel that will fit between the higher frets, though that thing gets a little squirrely being so thin with a huge slot down the middle of it.

All in all a great investment in a busy shop, just keep them clean and don't allow filings to work their way under the guard, or you'll mar the fretboard.

Skye  Athens, GA
5 4-30-2012
Simple and worth it !

When something is simple and works great ya can't go wrong. These gaurds worked great for me and I've never tackeld a crowning job before.

Will Laturno  Prospect, CT. USA Read my reviews (9)
2 4-28-2012
Differents sizes please!!!!!

I got this tool to polish my frets with my dremel and it is impossible to use from 18th to 24th frets. It is to wide on those frets. Please in this six pack include differents sizes.

Miguel H Peña  Venezuela Read my reviews (4)
5 3-26-2012
So Easy to Use

The days of taping are over. These guards are so easy to use I can't imagine every being without them. Get a set - you will love them.

M. Moore  Chadds Ford, PA
3 3-19-2012
Need To Get use To it i guess

Not much To Say ...

Thanks stew

Martin (Beaud)  Gatineau,quebec,canada Read my reviews (3)
5 3-16-2012
Real Time Saver!


I use the Stew-Mac 'Fingerboard Guards' on all my guitars. Man, what a time saver! No more taping up just to do a little fret maintenance/cleaning. The ones I received fit all the way up to #20 on my Strats and LPs, but work fine, with very little effort, on #'s 21 & 22. You could trim them, but it's really not that necessary. Great product. Buy it :-)

SurfCook1  Longboat Key, FL Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce