Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Fingerboard Guards

Fingerboard Guards


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Each of these .010" x 3-1/8" x 7/8" stainless steel masks fits over a fret, to protect the fingerboard while you file or polish the fret.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Guards
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3741 Set of 6 Yes
$11.86


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Erasers



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Erasers
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Universal size, they can be bent for any fingerboard width or curvature, taped down, or held by hand. It's a simple idea for a clean professional fret job!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  10 >
3 12-19-2012
OK but slightly problematic.

These guards offer much more protection than paper but may be a bit too thick for low-crowned frets to do a really smooth job of rounding-over. Also, they don't have a narrower size to fit between upper frets so I had to cut the sides down on one of them. Most of the time, I use the self-stick full-length fret masks in standard sizes but these are handy for difficult frets or touch-ups.

Ed Sullivan  New York Read my reviews (4)
5 12-16-2012
Just what the doctor ordered!

I finally found what I was looking for in quick & easy way to dress my frets & this is it! I just gently tape each side down with a piece of masking tape to hold the guard in place. Thank you Stew Mac for a great tool! Cellini Custom Guitars

Eric C.  Las Vegas,Nv. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-29-2012
The plus of Fingerboard Guards.

I repair guitars for people that know and have heard of me only. One of the major repairs on lower priced guitars ans some of the expensive ones need fret dressing by filing. I have used masking tape in the past and didn't know any other way to not damage the wood part of the fret board. Since getting the Fingerboard Guards from from StewMac it prevents any file damage possible and so much easier and faster. I wish I had thought of (making something like that before). StewMac, you did good on this one.

Robert (Bob) Hardison  Columbia, Tn. Read my reviews (5)
4 11-22-2012
More Sizes

This is a useful tool, but I agree with some of the others that a smaller size is needed for the higher frets. I wish I could find that. But these things work great.

John D  USA
5 11-21-2012
Time savers!

When doing fret work i used to put scotch tape on the whole fret board and when it ripped I'd put on more tape. With these Finger Board Guards I must have saved myself an hour of tedium. Thank you stew mac.

jimmmy  chicago Read my reviews (2)
1 11-09-2012
disappointing

These look nice at first glance and are quite useful on the lower frets (closer to headstock). However they don't fit on the upper frets (18 and above) as they are too wide for the space between two frets. Stewmac should know better. Some reviewers warned about this, but I haven't read them prior to purchase because I didn't doubt in Stewmac's expertise.Since they are all the same size, there is no need for six of them, and consequently the price is too high.

Mladen  Croatia
5 11-09-2012
Nice addition to my tool bin

These protectors work well and I can do fret work without taping the fretboard. I like them.

Ron Daves  Aguanga, CA Read my reviews (3)
4 10-17-2012
Does the job.

A handy tool to have around. It does slide a bit, but you can kink it, and put some masking tape on the fingerboard side so it doesn't mark it if it moves.

Franky  London, England Read my reviews (8)
5 10-12-2012
EASY WORK

These guards make fret work easy and can save you time . I used them on my new Strat neck. filing and polishing came out great . They're not expensive either for a pack of 6 .

RF-GUITARS  Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 10-07-2012
Far better!

These work very well for me and are preferred to wrapping up the fretboard in copius amounts of tape!

GavinB  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (26)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce