Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Polishing and abrasives : Fingerboard Guards

Fingerboard Guards


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Each of these .010" x 3-1/8" x 7/8" stainless steel masks fits over a fret, to protect the fingerboard while you file or polish the fret.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Guards
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3741 Set of 6 Yes
$11.86


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Erasers



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Erasers
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Universal size, they can be bent for any fingerboard width or curvature, taped down, or held by hand. It's a simple idea for a clean professional fret job!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Guards
Fingerboard Guards
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  10 >
3 3-31-2014
Decent - wish for jumbo-fret clearance

These fingerboard guards are good for their intended purpose. These are not a set of 6, however; just 6 pieces with no variance in slot or shoulder size. And they do not fit over jumbo frets. Indispensable, without a doubt, in the lack of comparable products. As has been suggested, a set with narrower "shoulders" to fit upper frets would be ideal. Along with accommodation for jumbo frets...on medium/regular, you can really fly, but they pinch jumbo frets, and sometimes make a nick that needs to be addressed, as it can be sharp. Beats an old eraser-shield from my old drafting kit, however.

Stringdriver  US Read my reviews (3)
5 3-13-2014
Cool...

Works good I think. Haven't had a reason to use them on a git yet, but tried them out briefly and seems to do the job.

Shepherd  Los Angeles Read my reviews (9)
5 3-12-2014
Fingerboard guards

These are great when they are in good condition and they are sold in packs so you have plenty. If used when too worn it's easy to damage the fretboard. Used carefully that are great.

Reckomyson  Oz Read my reviews (2)
4 3-01-2014
an important tool

This simple but important fret mask works as it should. It does prevent you from sliding off the fret when polishing them (and you will!) Use this guard when polishing and then oil the board and you're good to go

pedalman  Boston area Read my reviews (6)
4 3-01-2014
Too wide for high frets

They do the job just fine, but they are too wide for high frets

bzarembareal  Canada Read my reviews (3)
4 2-16-2014
handy tool for fretwork

I used these for the first time on a fret level job. I only used one guard but it did protect the fingerboard nicely. The fit is pretty loose over medium fretwire. I would like to see some cut with a narrower opening for a closer fit over medium frets.

Patpatpat  Ledyard, CT
5 2-03-2014
Perfect!

Can't go wrong with these little things, they come in real handy if you don't feel like taping up the whole board to polish the frets, also come in handy if you are just working on one fret. I love that they come in a set of 6 but really 1 is all you'll ever need

bravo667  Brampton, ON Read my reviews (7)
5 1-10-2014
Fingerboard Guards

Once you get used to using them, they become an essential tool. I should have bought them a long time ago.

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
3 12-26-2013
They sort of work but a little clumsy

These guards do protect the fingerboard when working on your frets but are a bit clumsy to use as they slide around on fretboard. Resorted back to using painter tape on fret board to finish fret job.

Mark123  Snohomish, WA Read my reviews (3)
5 12-22-2013
Perfect for fret work

These guards really speed up the process of knocking laquer off refin's and dressing

mikrow  Huntington Beach, CA Read my reviews (34)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce