Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Measuring : Fret Rocker

Fret Rocker


Read 118 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Pinpoint those pesky high frets, and check the final height after you've redressed or replaced them, reach for the Fret Rocker!

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Rocker

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3770 Fret Rocker Yes
$24.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Action Gauge



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Essential Fretting Kit



String Action Gauge
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Essential Fretting Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Our 4-in-1 mini straightedge spans three frets and "rocks" to indicate uneven fret heights. Precision-machined for accuracy to .0015" per foot, the 4", 3", 2" and 1-5/16" edges make it versatile for any fretted instrument, from basses to guitars to mandolins.

The Fret Rocker is made of 1/8" nickel-plated steel with a satin finish, for durability in professional use. It's an indispensable diagnostic tool, before and after partial refretting and recrowning jobs. It lets you do more accurate fret work for better playability.

Essential for fretting
The Fret Rocker is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 118 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  12 >
5 9-26-2012
A wonderful tool - Now what?

This is a great tool for looking for bad frets. I have four guitars, Strat, Gibson ES, an old Epiphone Genesis, and an acoustic Takamine. All of them were pretty good. My '76 Takimine had several frets that were high and low, mostly way down on the neck. Now I have to decide if I want to take the next step and dress them. I have a friend who has built many beautiful archtops, and I am probably going to go to him for some guidance. I would bring this tool if you are buying any guitar and want to know how much work it will need. It does it's job perfectly. Then you have to do the real job - repair what you uncovered.

ccutter  Crescent City Cal Read my reviews (8)
5 9-25-2012
Fret Rocker

The Fret Rocker is the best tool I've
had in a long time , it makes it easy to find the frets that are causing even the most minor problems anywhere on the neck . A must for any tool kit .

RF-GUITARS  Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 9-21-2012
Good tool

The fret rocker is excellent to check the level of your frets and see if they are equals

Eric V  France Read my reviews (4)
5 9-14-2012
Very useful

I use it mainly on checking how well frets are seating after being pressed in. The rocker shows any areas that still high are then I hammer them home with the fretting hammer making leveling jobs much easier.

Savini Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-11-2012
Very useful tool

I have found the fret rocker to be a very useful tool for pinpointing troublesome and illusive fret buzzing issues. Five edges in one, and the fit and finish are excellent - plus, it's heavy gauge stainless steel. Worth the price.

geolang  Albuquerque Read my reviews (3)
5 9-04-2012
No Brainer !

This tool is absolutely a no brainer must have ! I really like the way it works, very smart design and well worth the investment.

Will Laturno  Prospect, CT. USA Read my reviews (9)
5 7-23-2012
best fret straitedge

Some have said this is overpriced. As a metalsmith I can tell you I would charge 50 to make you one of these. It is indispensable just buy it

Joshua Oudin  Denton, Texas Read my reviews (8)
5 7-13-2012
Expensive but must have

This tool is really easy to use for give an accurate action. Absolutely must have for any workshop. The fret rocker is expensive but your buy just one during your life !

Bertrand  France
5 7-09-2012
A Must Have

Makes finding high frets fast and easy. It may be a little pricey for what it is, but it works great and it will never wear out!

Dave Ward  Oklahoma City, OK Read my reviews (14)
5 7-06-2012
A great tool.

A great tool.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce