Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Leveling : Notched Straightedge

Notched Straightedge


Read 66 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Read the fretboard instead of the frets. Developed in our shop, the notched straightedge has become a standard for evaluating fretboards.

See details below

Email a friend
Notched Straightedge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3814 For guitars Yes
$79.37

3813 For basses Yes
$81.58

3812 For short scale basses and baritone guitars Yes
$81.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Neck Relief Gauge



Radius Gauges



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Neck Relief Gauge
Radius Gauges
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Details
 Pictures
 Video
The notches fit right over the frets so you can check the straightness of the fretboard itself, without the interference of worn or badly-seated frets.

Made of machined stainless steel, satin-finished for easy marking with a pencil (cleans off easily).

#3814 For guitars
One edge is notched for Gibson "long scale", plus Fender and Martin fretboards. The other edge fits Gibson's 24-3/4" scale, plus 25" Paul Reed Smith and Dobro® Scale.
Length 16-1/2" (420mm)
Width 1-1/2" (38mm)
Thickness .130" (3.25mm)

#3813 For basses
One edge is for Fender 34" scale; the other edge for 35" scale.
Length 22-5/8" (575mm)
Width 1-1/2" (38mm)
Thickness .130" (3.25mm)

#3812 For short scale basses and baritone guitars
One edge fits Fender Bajo Sexto 30.2" scale, Gibson EB 30.5" scale, plus Fender 30" short-scale bass and Danelectro 30" baritone scale. The other edge fits Fender's Baritone Custom Jaguar 28.5" scale, Eastwood's 28" scale and custom baritone scales falling between 28" and 28.5".
Length 19" (482.6mm)
Width 1-1/2" (38mm)
Thickness .130" (3.25mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 66 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7 >
5 3-16-2011
Brilliant!

probably my favorite tool at the moment, most accurate way to read a neck that I'm aware of, i use it all the time now. thanks stew mac

Jasper Vincent  Brighton, UK Read my reviews (2)
5 2-24-2011
Very useful !

This is a very useful tool. When using this, I know the state of the neck in a moment. The point that pay attention. It's necessary to apply this to a string and parallel when your guitar has small radius fingerboard.

G23CRCT  Wakayama, JPN Read my reviews (6)
5 2-17-2011
Love it

Makes setups sooooo much faster.

RobK  St. Albert, Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (8)
5 2-07-2011
Notched Straightedges

An excellent tool. Gives a more accurate reading of the fingerboard and neck than a straightedge across the frets. A must have for fretwork and setups.

Alan Morrison - AM Guitar Works  Davenport, IA Read my reviews (7)
5 1-31-2011
Just buy one, trust me!!!

I've had mine just under a week and it's helped me setup up and find problems with around 10 guitars. I've just played my order for the bass version.

Paul Waring  Walsall, England
5 1-30-2011
Can't imagine working without it

Quickly reads the fretboard and lets me know where the problem areas are. If you don't correct the fretboard first,your frets wont be right either.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
5 1-27-2011
Great tool with one exception.

The notched straightedge is a guitar repairman's "must have" tool. There is no way to accurately measure the fretboard without it. This is invaluable when setting up or doing fret and or nut work. By only using a standard straight edge, you are only measuring the frets. The notched edge lets you know if the fretboard is straight or bowed, without the guesswork of just measuring the frets themselves.

The only complaint one could have with the tool is that you need to be extremely careful not to scratch the guitar you are working on, as the edges of the little notches are very sharp. I accidentally slid it across my strat's top and got a nasty gouge. Oh well, it gives the guitar character.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
5 12-22-2010
Showed us where the rocking was immediately.

I was a little skeptical at the price of this one, but when I got it in the shop, it's value became immediate. It showed my friend and I where the rocking was on the fretboard, the highs and the lows, and just exactly where we should work on. Great tool.

James M. Powers  USA Read my reviews (5)
5 11-30-2010
What did I do before?

I just received this and have fretted two necks. This tool has been absolutely essential! I think it is an expensive one but the quality is there. You can use this very easily on a fully fretted strung fretboard which is extremely helpful in set up.

acousticplayer  Denver, CO Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-25-2010
Notched Straightedge for Guitar

Another ingeniously simple tool, it has helped make my fretwork faster and higher quality. It has paid for itself many times over.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce