Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Leveling : Essential Fretting Kit

Essential Fretting Kit


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Good basic tools you'll need to get started.
Includes FREE Fret Work Step-By-Step, $34.95 value!

See details below

Email a friend
Essential Fretting Kit

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3125 Essential Fretting Kit Yes
$180.19


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Puller



Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set



Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Puller
Refret Saw and Fret Slot Cleaning Tool Set
Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Want to learn how to fret a guitar, but not sure how to start or which tools to choose? Stop fretting...and start fretting! Assembled by our experts, the Essential Fretting Took Kit is a great way to master the fundamentals with only a modest investment in good quality tools.

These are the basic tools you'll need for removing, installing, leveling, crowning and inspecting frets.

And to give you the best possible head start, we include Fret Work Step-By-Step book FREE! It's the most complete book ever published on the subject, with techniques, tips, tools and tricks.

The Essential Fretting Kit features the same tools we supply to professional repair shops—good tools that give you the confidence to do good work. They'll help prepare you for more specialized jobs and tools later as your skills develop.

Our professional Deadblow Fretting Hammer is now included in the kit. The shock-absorbing head reduces fret springback, for an easier, more trouble-free fret job.

Kit contents (click the links for details on each tool)
Fret Cutter
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Fret Leveling File, 6"
Double-edge Fret File, medium/wide
Fret End Dressing File
Fret Dressing Stick with 8 belts (2 of each grit)
Fret Rocker
Fret Work Step-By-Step, 2nd edition

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Essential Fretting Kit
Essential Fretting Kit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 2-23-2013
Excellent tools.

My order arrived super fast, and in one afternoon I had a professional fret level and dress on my Telecaster. These are high quality tools that work well! A big help was reading Dan Erlewine's "Guitar Player Repair Guide," a book with tons of valuable information. Thanks, Dan and Stew-Mac.

Sea Level Sound  Portsmouth, RI Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-28-2013
stewart Mac

I found I saved the price of my kit on my first fret dress. Stew-Mac is a company that makes the neatest tools.

Buddy  villa rica, georgia Read my reviews (12)
4 11-21-2012
Great Kit!

I just completed my first fret job and this kit helped me get through it without any problems. My '73 Gibson SG now has an awesome sound and feel that it did not have prior. To anyone considering doing a fret job, do you homework and learn from other's experiences! I think this kit provides most of the tools you need, recommend you pick up a fret/fingerboard leveler with sandpaper, a notched straightedge and a radius block. You will need a neck jig also, can either buy ($$$) or build your own if you are handy. Once again, Stew Mac provided quality tools and shipped very quickly!

MJH  New York Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-17-2012
Stew Mac`s quality service.

I bought Stew mac`s essential fretting kit. I have been making my own guitars for a while now and finding bargains at Pawn stores and setting them up for my own use and collection. What has happened is the word has got out that I can "fix things" and I have been fixing and setting up more and more of other folks guitars as the young "wanna bees" behind the local guitar shops just dont have the experience of my 45 years as a joiner/Patternmaker. So I been buying what I need to finish these "jobs" from Stew Mac as they have the quality tools for just about every job going when it comes to guitar repairs.

It doesn't stop there either.The questions I have asked via emails are answered intelligently and precise, and when offered a free item with a specific purchase, like the Fret Work book i got with my fretwork essentials kit, they are pure quality. Not some cheap throw away item worth a few cents.

I Buy Stew Mac, always. Its quality, it works, it fits the job, its well worth the purchase price and is followed up, if needed, by solid professional advice. Its something that seems to be missing into days world, quality service.

Tex  Perth West Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 9-10-2012
great!!!! kit

these tools give a idea if you are like me DIY, the books is perfect explain everything what you should do, you canĀ“t go wrong, in the end you earn knowledge and save money as well,

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
5 6-23-2012
Fret level 101

Following the book that came with kit helped me take my SG Gibson string action down low and buzz free. You will need time and patience but if you follow instructions the results are worth the effort

Coffeeman  Lexington,Ky Read my reviews (3)
4 5-12-2012
First time Fretter-Pro Results

I recently did a complete refret on a Les Paul and although I realize that fretwork is definately a skill that is improved with experience, I couldn't be happier with the results for a first attempt. THANKS STEW-MAC

B-Ray  CC-TX
5 3-26-2012
Essential Fretting Kit

The kit provided all the basic tools to undertake fret installation. I was initially sceptical about the utility of the fret rocker but this was a surprisingly useful item. The free book was also very useful and will be an excellent reference for future projects. I achieved a good result with these tools.

James Murphy  Plymouth England Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-21-2012
Essential Fretting Kit - What I would have liked to see in it

Excellent kit, however, the medium triangle fret dressing file would have been an asset.

Ken S.  Canada Read my reviews (4)
2 3-08-2012
Fret Cutters

The overall kit was ok but the fret cutters which I used just as Dan Erlewine demonstrated on the video,as far as I'm concerned a are junk. While changing all 20 frets on my Alvarez acoustic with bound fretboard I noticed the cutters would no longer cut the tang off the fret wire. Looking at them I could see why, the cutting edge was chipping off. I did manage to finish the project which I think for my first time came out pretty descent. I think it's pretty sad though to spend as much money as I did to create a hobbie workshop and the cutters didn't even make it through the first job. I guess I should be thankful I'm not doing this as a career, I'd go broke buying a set of cutters for every guitar I worked on.

Marty Braddy  Ft.Piecre, Fl.
StewMac responds

Marty Braddy,
We apologize for the defective tool. We have sent you a replacement Fret Cutter. Thanks for your order.

Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 4 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce