Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Leveling : Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam

Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam


Read 46 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Extended length for fast, precise shaping. Create a constant radius on an unfretted fingerboard, or level installed frets with this unique tool for the professional guitar shop.

See details below

Email a friend
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5640 7-1/4" radius Yes
$132.15

5641 9-1/2" radius Yes
$132.15

5642 10" radius Yes
$132.15

5643 12" radius Yes
$132.15

5644 14" radius Yes
$132.15

5645 16" radius Yes
$132.15

5646 20" radius Yes
$132.15


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

4 Radius Blocks



8 Radius Blocks



Radius Gauges



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper



4" Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
Radius Gauges
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
The 18" long extruded aluminum block is comfortable to hold, and its stiffness and precisely machined radius assure accuracy that's not possible with a wooden block of the same length. We designed this tool for a lifetime of use in the busy shop.

Lifetime durability • Extended length
Fast, accurate fret leveling and fingerboard shaping


Dimensions: 18" long x 2-3/4" wide (457.2mm x 69.85mm)
Seven different radii are available, for popular fretboard shapes.

A great clamping caul for glue-in fret jobs!
"I use aluminum fretboard sanding blocks to hold and clamp the frets in place while the glue dries...A scrap of Neoprene on the bottom of the caul protects the frets from the texture of the machined surface, and serves as a cushion that conforms to the radius a little better, conforming to any slight variations in the fretboard."
Excerpt from Erick Coleman's book Fret Work Step-By-Step

Cut and stick!
3M Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives are the right width for our leveling and radius sanding tools. Attach 80 through 220-grits for radiusing and leveling the fingerboard, and 220 through 400-grits for leveling the frets.
Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 46 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 3-19-2012
A must have

Really Nice useful tool... Well made And tough. Thank you stew!!!

Martin (Beaud)  Gatineau,quebec,canada Read my reviews (3)
5 3-01-2012
IN MY TOP TEN

From the looks of the other reviews there's not really much else to be said. Get one (I mean three). Definitely one of the top ten best tools in the Stewmac catalog or anywhere else for that matter. I used one for the first time to radius a hand made one-pc. maple electric guitar neck and level frets. Simply, and perfectly marvelous. Due to the tool's length you don't have to worry, when leveling frets, about sanding too much or too hard in one spot. Just move it back and forth and let the tools own weight do the work. I agree that, as mentioned in another review, that a temporary jig/straightedge can be beneficial to keep tool from moving unevenly side to side - but not totally necessary if your the least bit careful.

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (13)
5 2-02-2012
Aluminum Radius Sanding Beam

Finally bit the bullet and bought the 12 inch radius beam. Although pricey, I will say that it is an outstanding tool and extremely well made. Another example to show that even if expensive, it will be inexpensive in the long run and makes my guitar making easier and more precise.

Mike B  Bradenton, FL
4 1-05-2012
Really OK!

The sanding beam is a heavy tool thats doing his job. Unfortunately there was a little transport damage. Nothing big, but I think the packing is a little unstable for overseas-shipping for such a delicate instrument.

I've bought some tools now from Stewmac. The overall quality is good but not ecxellent. You get a better quality when you buy in a german DIY store. Honestly, what really wins are the great tool ideas, but the quality aspect is holding me back to buy some other stuff, that I don't need right know.

hans guitars&repairs  Tübingen, Germany
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-04-2012
Keep it straight

Indispensable tool for fingerboard and frets leveling for no-buzz low string action. Forget the radius wood blocks!

Francis Voignier  Arcata, CA Read my reviews (14)
5 11-27-2011
exellent tool but...

excellent tool but when working on a fingerboard radius ,you must make a jig ,that wont let you move from right to left while sanding.THIS IS A MUST!!!!!

R.G custom guitars  Israel Read my reviews (3)
5 11-04-2011
Good Tool

Great tool. Accurate work is much easier.

Eric  Milford,NH Read my reviews (5)
5 10-04-2011
Aluminium Radius Sanding Beam

I purchased the beam some years ago and have used it constantly ever since. It produces a very accurate camber for the fingerboad and can also be used to level the frets. I also use the flat side of the beam for sanding flat tops on solid guitars and for fret leveling. I find the more accurate the camber is made on the fingerboard the easier it is to get the frets right with a minimum of leveling/re crowning and this beam is excellent for this purpose. To get the camber accurate and at right angles to the axis of the fingerboard I put the beam between 2 rails and mark out the centre line. The blank then is held centrally between the rails and the beam runs between them giving an accurate camber. Pressing the frets solidly against the camber then produces a very even set of frets requiring minimal leveling.

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
5 6-30-2011
Great tool,

This is a great tool, I can't say how well it's made. It does not flex whatsoever when putting the radius on fretboards, also it makes for a great leveler of frets.

Howard Ulyate aka Bob Knarley  Tustin, CA
5 6-09-2011
Not cheap, but worth the bucks

We have several (16") that we use for our bass production....mostly to true up the neck, after it has been machine radiused. We will add a few more (14") w/ the reintroduction of our guitar line. The less expensive wood version is probably the better choise, unless you are making lots of guitars.

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 4 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce