Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Leveling : 8" Radius Blocks

8" Radius Blocks


Read 131 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Accurately true or change a fingerboard's radius and level frets.
We make these hardwood blocks for use with Stikit Abrasives, to radius a fretboard quickly, accurately and without guesswork.

See details below

Email a friend
8 Radius Blocks
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0415 7-1/4" radius Yes
$15.95

0405 9-1/2" radius Yes
$15.95

0416 10" radius Yes
$15.95

0406 11" radius Yes
$15.95

0417 12" radius Yes
$15.95

0419 14" radius Yes
$15.95

0420 15" radius Yes
$15.95

0418 16" radius Yes
$15.95

0421 17" radius Yes
$15.95

0403 20" radius Yes
$15.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

8 Radius Blocks Essential Set



Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



4 Radius Blocks







8" Radius Blocks Essential Set
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
4" Radius Blocks
4" Radius Blocks Essential Set



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Shaping fingerboards: use 80 through 220-grit
Leveling frets: use 220 through 400-grit

When working on compound radius fretboards, simply change blocks as you progress along the neck.

Dimensions: 8" (203.20mm) long x 2-3/4" (69.85mm) wide

See our shorter blocks for spot leveling, and for use as clamping cauls when gluing frets.

What's your radius?
Quickly find the curvature of a fingerboard or bridge with a set of radius gauges. Use them frequently to check your work as you smooth or shape a fingerboard or frets: a quick visual check keeps you from accidentally altering the shape—a mistake that's easy to make and hard to fix.

Radius Gauges


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 131 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  14 >
4 8-04-2011
Excellent Tool

The radius sanding block works wonders for those round over jobs on fret boards. I purchased the 20" radii block and it did a great job. I was amazed how fast it shaped the fret board. It left a perfect radii and smooth finish. If you tried this w/o the block you would be in a world of hurt and probably have to buy several new fret boards.

Bill from Puyallup  Puyallup WA Read my reviews (8)
4 6-15-2011
8" radius blocks

I check each with a straightedge along the string line & they have been pretty much always dead-on. Price is reasonable too!

duwhtsrite  Grand Jct., CO
3 6-14-2011
It does what it says

I bought the 14" block and when I got it, I guess warped would be the right word for it. My black seems very uneven and not very accurate. It also had a dent in it were the radius is. However, this could be me being OCD. If I ran the company I would do away with the wood ones and make the steel ones available in 3",6",10",15, and 20 inch lengths. Also if you are buying this you HAVE to buy the stikit sandpaper. I bought the sampler back and it did not work as well as thought.

AZfryguy  AZ Read my reviews (6)
5 6-09-2011
You need a bunch of these.

We have them at every station in the shop. I can't even gripe about the price...buy some and keep several different paper grits ready to use.

Keith Roscoe  Greensboro, N.C. USA Read my reviews (8)
4 6-03-2011
Good but need the option of a longer version

These are great but could have been made longer. If twisting seems to be a concern a couple of reinforcement rods could be inserted. I just can't justify paying for the aluminum version that is 18" long. Being shorter doesn't seem to give you the warm and fuzzy feeling that the whole neck is uniformly covered. going over it again with my ground flat bottom bar that runs the whole length of the neck (added step) seems redundant. Overall good

Todd  Winnipeg Manitoba Read my reviews (9)
5 6-02-2011
Wood Radius Block

Great tool - I used this along with self stick sand paper to radius a flat fret board. Took it right down. Really easy to control and gave a nice radius up and down the board. I also used it to clamp the neck down after resetting it. Highly recommended and worked super for me.

MarcMaria  San Jose CA Read my reviews (6)
5 5-15-2011
RADIUS GOOD

Wow it work so fine and so easy

BIGAL  CANADA Read my reviews (6)
5 5-14-2011
Superb Tool

I love these things. A perfect precision cut block. Worked flawlessly.

Darren Barnes  Northern Ireland Read my reviews (4)
5 5-11-2011
Radiused sanding block

I used this block and a 12" radiused blaock to true up my fretboard on my own guitar. This is a great tool, and is a big help when sanding and radiusing the fretboard.

Bruce Lyons  Wichita Falls, TX Read my reviews (11)
5 4-30-2011
Awesome!!

Wow how did I live without radius sanding blocks before I found this! makes super fast work of leveling frets and fretboards!! Slap on the Stikit Gold paper, which fits perfectly, and you have a combination that can't be beat! Thanks again for an Excellent time saving tool!!

the rev  norton kansas Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce