Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Leveling : 8" Radius Blocks

8" Radius Blocks


Read 131 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Accurately true or change a fingerboard's radius and level frets.
We make these hardwood blocks for use with Stikit Abrasives, to radius a fretboard quickly, accurately and without guesswork.

See details below

Email a friend
8 Radius Blocks
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0415 7-1/4" radius Yes
$15.95

0405 9-1/2" radius Yes
$15.95

0416 10" radius Yes
$15.95

0406 11" radius Yes
$15.95

0417 12" radius Yes
$15.95

0419 14" radius Yes
$15.95

0420 15" radius Yes
$15.95

0418 16" radius Yes
$15.95

0421 17" radius Yes
$15.95

0403 20" radius Yes
$15.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

8 Radius Blocks Essential Set



Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



4 Radius Blocks







8" Radius Blocks Essential Set
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
4" Radius Blocks
4" Radius Blocks Essential Set



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Shaping fingerboards: use 80 through 220-grit
Leveling frets: use 220 through 400-grit

When working on compound radius fretboards, simply change blocks as you progress along the neck.

Dimensions: 8" (203.20mm) long x 2-3/4" (69.85mm) wide

See our shorter blocks for spot leveling, and for use as clamping cauls when gluing frets.

What's your radius?
Quickly find the curvature of a fingerboard or bridge with a set of radius gauges. Use them frequently to check your work as you smooth or shape a fingerboard or frets: a quick visual check keeps you from accidentally altering the shape—a mistake that's easy to make and hard to fix.

Radius Gauges


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 131 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  14 >
5 9-23-2012
Excellent

Saves a lot of time and makes for a better job.

TonyG  Ontario Canada Read my reviews (3)
4 9-16-2012
good

I'm happy with this.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
5 9-09-2012
Radius sanding blocks

Let's make life easy shall we? What can you say about something so simple and yet, works so well.

Dean W Richardson  Kirkland, Washington Read my reviews (6)
5 8-28-2012
Great helpers

The radius blocks make your work easy. The longer ones do the job also for shorter range fixes.

KazShop  Finland Read my reviews (2)
5 8-27-2012
Easy to Use

Not much to say.. its a super piece of wood that, coupled with sandpaper does a helluva job :)

Bigfoot Guitars  India Read my reviews (3)
5 8-23-2012
radius sanding blocks

This product is great for cleaning up, worn and divited frets.It only takes a few minutes while changing strings,and some fine sandpaper.polish them up and restring.

Tim's  bouldercity,nv.USA
5 8-22-2012
great tool

to fine job is great!!! it does what it says very nice buzzyless !!

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
5 8-04-2012
8" Radius-sanding blocks

I Coated the fingerboard on my 2008 Fender fretless Jazz bass with slow drying epoxy. I tried to level the fingerboard with a regular flat block first. It worked, but it wasn't perfect by a long shot. I was ready to take my bass to my (excellent) luthier to finish the leveling job, when I read the reviews on the radius-ed blocks from StuMac. I'm really glad I decided to try it. I was able to do a much more professional leveling job with "the right tool". Now that I have a little experience with epoxy, and getting it leveled properly, I'll be able to do some of my other fretless basses, and also keep them re-coated, and/or touched up occasionally. I'm very pleased with the result. It seems like a lot of money for a piece of wood, but I promise you won't look back. I would definitely recommend these blocks to anyone pro, or amateur. The results are worth the price.

CharlieTahoe  Lake Tahoe, NV
5 8-04-2012
Another must have for your shop

My first use was as a caul to set up a neck on the drill press to drill mounting holes. Looking forward to using it for fret leveling.

Rich S  Sussex County, New Jersey Read my reviews (14)
5 7-20-2012
Tough work

It's a strain on the arm but man this thing levels inlays perfectly! Great idea, well done.

Washington  New York City Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce