Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Jigs and fixtures : Guitar Repair Vise

Guitar Repair Vise


Read 61 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The luthier's favorite vise is even easier to use, thanks to custom modifications: bearing-smooth operation, fast crank handwheel, and urethane/hardwood swivel jaws.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar Repair Vise

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1813 Guitar Repair Vise Yes
$139.84


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ShopStand and Guitar Repair Vise Set



Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts



Erlewine ShopStand



Erlewine Neck Jig



Dragon Hand-cut Rasp



ShopStand and Guitar Repair Vise Set
Guitar Repair Vise Replacement Parts
Erlewine ShopStand
Erlewine Neck Jig
Dragon Hand-cut Rasp



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
Custom modifications make it the best!
Don't mistake our vise for one of the many copycats! We've customized our Guitar Repair Vise to give it bearing-smooth operation that you won't find elsewhere. Turn the fast-crank handwheel and you'll immediately feel the difference.

Customized four ways:
1. Fast-crank handwheel with removable handle
2. Roller bearings for fast smooth opening/closing
3. Protective urethane surfaces on custom hardwood jaws
4. Nylon-core adjustable tension nuts control 360° jaw rotation

A good vise is the central hub of your workshop. Every repair or building job benefits from a solid, secure vise, and if it's actually a pleasure to use that's all the better!

Our Guitar Repair Vise is 32 pounds of steel that rotates full-circle to position the work for comfortable access. Each inch-thick hardwood jaw rotates too, with forgiving urethane surfaces to hold instruments of any shape/any size. This vise holds a the tapered angles of a neck securely without needing any shims. Nylon-core adjustment nuts set the tension on the rotating jaws, so you can let them spin loosely or hold their angle. The vise jaws open to a maximum of 6" (15.24cm).

We've built in a roller bearing so the vise opens and adjusts smoothly - and added a crank handle to make it speedy. (The handle's conveniently removable, too.)

The sturdy base can be installed under your workbench for 8" vise height, or on top for 9-3/4" height. The threaded mounting rod and large wingnut mount the vise quickly on any benchtop up to 4-1/2" thick.

Extra parts for the Guitar Repair Vise available.
Replacement parts for your vise and upgrading older vises.


SAVE when you order the Vise and ShopStand together!

ShopStand and Guitar Repair Vise Set is the perfect combo to set up your vise to be a sturdy, 360-degree swiveling money saver!


New ways to use the Guitar Repair Vise
Dan Erlewine’s been teaching his vise to do tricks!
New ways to use the Guitar Repair Vise Read more

In this issue:
In this issue of Trade Secrets, Dan makes his Guitar Repair Vise sit up and roll over. Who knew cast iron could be so flexible?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar Repair Vise
Guitar Repair Vise
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 61 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  7 >
5 7-10-2013
vise

I have needed a vise for my work bench for some time. The Stewmac vise makes working on guitars so much easier and safe..thanks guys

Buddy  villa rica, georgia Read my reviews (12)
5 6-16-2013
Can't live without.

This by far is the best guitar vise I own. Kind of like a Microwave. Life before it was like living in the dark ages.

Rock'n R Guitars  Montana, USA Read my reviews (10)
5 6-04-2013
Sturdy Vise

I couldn't go a day without it. Excellent Vise, well worth the money. The fist one I received didn't operate smoothly, but StewMac was quick to send a replacement. Thanks guys!

Scott C  Atlanta GA Read my reviews (10)
5 5-26-2013
excellent !

Great tool this ;)

JSD  Europe Read my reviews (31)
5 5-15-2013
A great buy!

I bought this vise because I needed an extra pair of hands finishing my latest guitar. Bodging along trying to hold odd-shaped objects is tolerable once, annoying twice, and not worth trying the third time. I'd read the other reviews, some very negative, but my own experience of Stew Mac service made me order it anyway. Ordered Sunday PM arrived in England Wednesday AM. Keeping the negative reviews in mind I checked this vice over thoroughly before fitting it to my main work bench. Everything works smoothly and just as it should. I am more than happy to have an extra strong pair of hands to hold awkward shaped pieces. Now I can put the finishing on my 000 neck without compromising!

Davos  Brantree UK Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-01-2013
Neck Repair using Guitar Repair Vise

I purchased this item end of Feb, installed it immediatley, and have constantly had various guitars in it ever since. Sure is nice not to have to clamp or wedge a guitar down so it doesn't shift during delicate work. My current project is reconstructive surgery on a severly severed neck/head. After fitting and glueing, I decided to install mahogany splines for addl support. Instead of recreating an old jig, I leveled the tops of the vise jaws, clamped the glued guitar neck in the vise and leveled the fretboard (from underneath). Then measured and marked the truss rod channel and marked the router channel placements. Then I simply used the level top of the vise jaws for my router "platform" that was now level with the fretboard, adjusted the router bit depth and routed away. Made the job more accurate, quick, and simple!! This vise is great just for clamping, too:)

Stanley Plant/SLP Luthiery  Franktown, CO
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-03-2013
guitar repair vise

this vise is a life saver. It works great and is super easy to set up and take down as needed.

Bryan Ibach  Coquille, OR
5 1-27-2013
Invaluable woodworking device

I have been woodworking for years but recently acquired the StewMac guitar vise while trying to build my first guitar. I now use it for other work beyond my guitar building. A great buy for my shop.

R's Review  Bellevue, WA
5 1-16-2013
A Must Have

This is a tool that, once you have one, you can't imagine ever being without. It's heavy. It's strong. It's well-built. Actually, it's amazing the jobs it can do. It's like having an extra helper in the shop with you. StewMac gear is expensive...but, this is the best bargain they offer. You need one of these vises in your shop.

Joe Loverti Sr.  Miamisburg, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
5 11-25-2012
Great vise so far...

I've got two of these. I've got one in my shop in Nashville and one @ my home shop in Mount Juliet, TN. I can't imagine not having one. It's a second pair of strong but gentle hands when you need it. Sure, the crank doesn't spin freely but so what? It does the job. On my bench at home, I've drilled holes on each end of my bench so I can move it around if needed. And, I've attached a thick piece of leather between the jaws to catch a guitar if it slips while cranking the jaws. Ignore the negative reviews and order one!

Thom Abell-String Theory Guitar Repair  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (20)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 20 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce