Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Hammering : Deadblow Fretting Hammer

Deadblow Fretting Hammer


Read 26 Reviews   |   Write a Review

More efficient no-bounce fret installation. We fitted this durable hammer with a machined brass convex face especially for fretwork.

See details below

Email a friend
Deadblow Fretting Hammer

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1296 Deadblow Fretting Hammer Yes
$24.85


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fretting Hammer



Fret Setter



Fret Cutter



Fret Arbor Press System



FretBender



Fretting Hammer
Fret Setter
Fret Cutter
Fret Arbor Press System
FretBender



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
The shock-absorbing shot-filled head won't bounce like a regular hammer, so it transfers more energy directly to the fret. This helps seat the wire more firmly, with fewer hammer blows and less chance of the fret springing back.

Overall length: 9-1/2" (241.3mm)
Striking surface diameter: 13/16" (20.64mm)
Weight: 1/2 lb. (.2268 kg)

Durable steel-reinforced handle.

Essential for fretting
The Deadblow Fretting Hammer is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
Deadblow Fretting Hammer
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 26 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 7-06-2012
A great tool.

A great tool.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 6-12-2012
Deadblow it is.

The busiest tool in my workshop, used for everything I need to hammer.

dmerkuloff  Kyiv, Ukraine Read my reviews (3)
2 3-30-2012
3rd time's a charm

I have been pleased with the 3rd deadblow hammer I ordered. The first one I ordered/returned the "T" was dramatically off square. They did send me a new one after messing up the return order. The second one's brass face came loose after some relatively light tapping on my vise anvil to wear in the corners a bit more. I love how the hammer seats frets! But I'm afraid to even moderately whack anything that's not a fret. I do understand it's a "fret" hammer, but jeez why so delicate. There are 12oz models for auto dent work, I bet the face doesn't come loose on those. But I do like the hammer even after all that.

fretleveler  Washington State
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-29-2012
Superb

Love it.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
5 3-07-2012
Great tool

Indispensable in any bench. Recomended.

Elbio Joel Matte  Porto Alegre, RS Brazil Read my reviews (6)
5 1-05-2012
Feels great and virtually no blowback.

It works as advetised however it's not made of magic... it's still a hammer so there is a small amount of blowback but significantly better than the traditional fret hammer. I was surprised that the non brass side had no plastic tip but when I used the the non brass side on this hammer it worked just fine and left no fret dents in the plastic. A great buy!

George Casiano  Corona, CA Read my reviews (17)
4 11-18-2011
hammer

Works as expected

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
5 10-03-2011
Get hammered

Good size and feel. Works as expected.

Pudlglum  Newcastle, WA Read my reviews (4)
5 7-31-2011
Deadblow Fretting Hammer

The older Stew-Mac hammer was a nice tool. This one is far superior! I tend to favor hammering frets, over other methods, and this new hammer works very well. I just did a couple of new banjo necks and am very pleased with the results and ease of use. Wear your ear plugs - always a good idea.

Mikey  Boone, NC Read my reviews (2)
5 6-17-2011
Knocked them frets out

Easy to use and wore ear plugs to ease the sound of my hammering across the frets to seat everything. Didn't damage fret wire or mark it, I like!

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce