Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Fingerboard cleaner, stain and oil : Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth

Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth


Read 46 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Original lemon oil formula.
Specially treated cloth loosens and removes dirt and oxidation fast, leaving frets shining like jewels and feeling great.

See details below

Email a friend
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0201 Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth Yes
$9.95
3 or more $8.90  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

GHS Fast Fret



String Spreaders



Fret Polishing Wheels



Fret Dressing Stick



3M Flexible Polishing Papers



GHS Fast Fret
String Spreaders
Fret Polishing Wheels
Fret Dressing Stick
3M Flexible Polishing Papers



Details
 Pictures
Weird name, but it really gets the job done! Gorgomyte® was developed by veteran guitar tech Jimmy Johnson as a nonabrasive, faster alternative to steel wool. Gorgomyte cleans and conditions fingerboards without leaving a sticky residue. Jimmy's proud to say Gorgomyte is used by more big-name touring bands than any similar product.

"I'm so used to great frets now it's hard to remember life before Gorgomyte!"
—Tommy Shaw of Styx

The 6" x 9" size means Gorgomyte is more economical and fresher when you're ready to use it. A new finer cotton weave helps it clean more efficiently, too.

Gorgomyte is environmentally safe, non-toxic and non-irritating to your skin. It's chemically treated with lemon oil to condition and enhance the beauty of fretboard woods. No need to mask off the frets.

A note from Jimmy Johnson, Gorgomyte creator and veteran guitar tech:

Having the right tool for the right job is what being a good tech is all about. I'm thrilled to be able to have my own product, Gorgomyte, added to the StewMac family of exceptional products.

Since I began selling Gorgomyte in 1995, I've been fortunate to be in close contact with many major touring and recording artists and their techs. Now in 2010, Gorgomyte is used by virtually every big name act out there (Rush, Metallica, Tesla, Styx, Damn Yankees, Todd Rundgren, Peter Frampton, Tom Cochrane, Glass Tiger, Collective Soul, Night Ranger).

I'm excited to be able to expand Gorgomyte's user list to include the top luthier shops that use StewMac to keep their shops equipped with the finest tools of the trade.


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 46 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 3-15-2014
Good fretboard results.

Worked well on my vintage ebony archtop fretboards. No residual sticky surfaces. No abrasive effect. Will definitely use more.

crk  twin falls, Idaho
4 2-28-2014
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth

Works great on newer fretboards. If you have really tarnished or scratched frets it requires a lot of work, but it is effective up to just short of achieving a mirror polish on frets. I prefer the Fret Erasers and a fretboard conditioning oil on tougher jobs.

Magic Biddie  Texas Read my reviews (10)
5 2-19-2014
The best fret and fretboard cleaner and conditioner!

They say the hype is real, I have to agree! This cloth cleans frets and brings fretboards alive - no matter how much gunk is accumulated on them. I'll never use lemon oil again. This is it, guys.

Jaideep Patel  Malaysia Read my reviews (6)
5 1-27-2014
8th wonder of the world.

If you are not using this product, well you should be. Not only this product polishes the frets it conditions the fingerboard effortlessly and efficiently. What took me an hour. Taping off the fingerboard to polish frets etc. Just takes me minutes. Thank you Jimmy Johnson !!! I highly recommend this product to every one.

Kenny Skaggs  El Paso, Texas Read my reviews (2)
4 8-16-2013
Only used once. .

I have only used this product once, it seems to remove the accumulated dirt and grime resulting from playing an instrument. I have many guitars and this package will never get through them all!

missingu  El Dorado Springs Read my reviews (4)
5 8-08-2013
WORKS AS ADVERTISED-VERY SATISFIED!

I used this on my 40+ year old SG and the fingerboard now literally looks and feels like new, and tons of gunk were removed from the frets leaving them sparkling, without leaving any residue. Amazing results from a 2" x 2" cut out piece of material. Very economical. The results were obvious. Will use it on a few other older electric and acoustics I have on hand. Great product.

TJN  Melville NY
4 5-25-2013
I love this stuff!

This is the second pack of his I've bought and while this one smelt different from the first pack (It might have been an older batch) it still works a treat. Polishes frets and nourishes the rosewood all in one step. I give each guitar the once over when I change strings. I just hope my next packet smells less like this one and more like the first.

Ade  Innisfail, FNQ, Australia Read my reviews (4)
5 4-20-2013
Gorgomyte is GREAT!

I just finished cleaning the fretboard and coroded frets on my 50-yr old Gibson flat-top. It had never been thoroughly cleaned before, and had not been out of the case in 10 years. The results were Amazing. There is no more green ick on the frets, although some of the finish is gone. Thanks to Stu Mac for a great recommendation.

Curlyjm  Wausau, WI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-20-2013
Effective!

Have used most of one sheet thus far (cutting a little patch about 1x2" for each treatment), and between the tack cloth and impregnated cleaner it has removed an astounding amount of schmutz from the fingerboards of all guitars I've cleaned. Works well on rosewood or ebony, also on whatever mystery wood Gibson used for my LP Studio. Also, StewMac's price is much lower!

R. Clayton Conner  Maryland, USA Read my reviews (3)
2 3-10-2013
Not a fan..

After using this for almost two years, I've noticed that 2 of my guitars frets began to pop out (more dramatic on my USA Jackson Mustaine sig). At first I thought it was climate/humidity change but I've learned that the oils from the cloth has seeped into the fret slot and screwed the treble side up. Also it says that it doesn't leave any sticky residue but after using it I just don't like the feeling it leaves behind on the frets. I wish I found Micro mesh/linseed oil before I got this stuff.

Tim_Garza91  Alaska Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 79 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce