Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Fingerboard cleaner, stain and oil : ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil


Read 48 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Preserves and beautifies fingerboards and bridges, leaving a smooth non-sticky feel!

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3863 ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$14.15


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Black Fingerboard Stain



Behlen Naphtha Solvent



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Preservation Polish



Black Fingerboard Stain
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions

Unfinished fingerboards and bridges benefit from special protection. ColorTone® Fretboard Finishing Oil keeps new rosewood and ebony looking good, feeling new and playing great. Restore a like-new appearance and smooth feel to sanded wood. 8-ounce bottle.

Pure linseed and mineral oils have been traditional fingerboard preservatives, but they don't dry completely hard, often leaving a sticky playing surface. ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil combines the nourishing benefit of traditional linseed with special dryers. 24 hours after application the wood is sealed and protected. The fretboard looks great and feels smooth, never sticky.

ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil works best when applied sparingly—a single bottle goes a long way! Simply wipe it on with a soft cloth, wipe off, and buff. It's guitar-safe when properly used: won't loosen or stain inlays, frets or bindings.

Be sure the fingerboard is clean and dry before application. Not for use on finished maple fretboards or finished bridges.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 48 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 48 < 1  ...  3  4  5
3 2-23-2011
Expected more

I had seen pictures of fretboards treated with this that looked fairly dark - a nice look that I was hoping for without dye. I applied as directed and wiped off shortly after - coverage was good and it feels nice but didn't do much for the color. Results were the same as other products I've used. Bottle is fairly large so I now have a lifetime supply.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 2-02-2011
Excellent Color

After sanding the fretboard numerous times on my Bass defret project, I was worried about the color once I was finished. This oil was perfect. It went on well and really adds to the color of the bass.

jaddingtonii  Virginia Beach, VA
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-01-2011
A little goes a long way

I recently bought a bottle and used it on a rosewood fingerboard. Wow, what a beautiful finish. It went from ordinary to extraordinary. The fingerboard feels great. I use this on all rosewoods after fret work. Well worth the money.

Dane Paul  Nashville Read my reviews (15)
5 12-22-2010
Fingerboards feel great

So far, I've used this on a Bloodwood fingerboard and an unfinished Oak neck. Both feel velvety smooth now. I'm very satisfied with this finishing oil.

MicCheckOne  Long Beach, California, USA Read my reviews (8)
5 12-16-2010
Good Fretboard Finishing Product

I have used this on two of my fretboards now. One was about 10 years old, the other brand new. Both of them are rosewood boards.

I have to say I liked the results. It's a bit like 'ebonizing' your fretboard except it's good for the wood, and you maintain your natural wood grain. The old fretboard was very parched and pale. The new fretboard was fine as it was. Applying the compound changed the old fretboard drastically. The change on the new board was more subtle.

The end result was similar for both, a dark, slightly shiny, slightly hard finish. It also really enhances the grain of the rosewood. If you like ebony or just a faster harder board, the feel of this treatment is great.

There are some things you might find questionable. Nowhere does it tell me exactly what is in here. It does not feel like linseed or any other oil. It does have a solvent-like property. It won't hurt your wood, but it does clean as you apply and buff it. I believe it is something like naptha or acetone in there, and you should not use it on maple or gloss finish.

Overall a great product. Perfect for people like me who have several guitars with rosewood to maintain. Preferable to linseed oil if you like a harder, dryer, shinier finish on your fretboard.

Ghost Dog  Huntsville, AL Read my reviews (5)
5 12-11-2010
Finishing Oil

This is a really handy product. When I'm building a bass and apply this to the fretboard, it acts almost like Teflon. Not much will stick to it.
It also gives the fretboard a nice matte finish.
I'll be using this on all my future builds.

barcusbasses  Minneapolis, MN Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-12-2010
Outstanding!!

Everything Dan Erlewine says in the video is true. My fretboards have never felt or looked this good !!

Dug  Ohio Read my reviews (2)
5 8-22-2010
fretboard oil

this stuff works like magic it drys up right away and leaves an ebony fingerboard looking like a piece of slate with no hint of residue

al  milwaukee wisc. Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 41 – 48 < 1  ...  3  4  5 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 42 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce