Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Fingerboard cleaner, stain and oil : ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil


Read 48 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Preserves and beautifies fingerboards and bridges, leaving a smooth non-sticky feel!

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3863 ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$14.15


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Black Fingerboard Stain



Behlen Naphtha Solvent



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Preservation Polish



Black Fingerboard Stain
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions

Unfinished fingerboards and bridges benefit from special protection. ColorTone® Fretboard Finishing Oil keeps new rosewood and ebony looking good, feeling new and playing great. Restore a like-new appearance and smooth feel to sanded wood. 8-ounce bottle.

Pure linseed and mineral oils have been traditional fingerboard preservatives, but they don't dry completely hard, often leaving a sticky playing surface. ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil combines the nourishing benefit of traditional linseed with special dryers. 24 hours after application the wood is sealed and protected. The fretboard looks great and feels smooth, never sticky.

ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil works best when applied sparingly—a single bottle goes a long way! Simply wipe it on with a soft cloth, wipe off, and buff. It's guitar-safe when properly used: won't loosen or stain inlays, frets or bindings.

Be sure the fingerboard is clean and dry before application. Not for use on finished maple fretboards or finished bridges.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 48 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 4-04-2012
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

This stuff rocks. leaves my finger boards looking amazing.

Bryce Didericksen  kansas city, MO Read my reviews (24)
5 2-29-2012
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

Item arrived quickly and well packed for shipping. Works excellent!

Jay Campbell  Huron, Ohio Read my reviews (4)
2 1-20-2012
Condition that fretboard and saddle

Works very well on rosewood soaks in nice but ebony? Not sure if I like the boiled linseed better I'll have to try both on two of my guitars so I can see a side by side. This stuff if left on too long gums up and has to be steel wooled off.
Ms Ricki Leigh

Ricki Leigh  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
5 1-03-2012
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

I've always used traditional oils to condition hardwood fretboards. After trying Stew-Mac's ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil I'll never use anything else.
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil brings a fretboard back to a new like appearance and feel. I had planned on using it for my personal guitars and using traditional oils on customer's guitars. After trying it on my main stage guitars it's all I use now. This product is a vast improvement over traditional oils. Customers love the way it feels on their guitars and comment on how "new" their guitar feels and plays. Of course I don't tell them the secret ingredient! I just let them think I've put the mojo on their guitar!

Dave Ward  Oklahoma City, OK Read my reviews (14)
5 12-17-2011
Quality Supplies!

Makes a fret board come to life!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
4 10-29-2011
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

I used this on some guitars that were getting some discoloration within the grain and also the fretboard was only a nice solid dark color when it was just setup and had lemon oil on it fresh, but wore off after about a week. This product went on easy and my fretboard looks like its new and healthy. Just make sure you clean it well afterwards because it leaves a slight tacky feeling and it somehow got the back of the neck sticky, but it cleans right off.

Walter  Farmingdale Read my reviews (13)
5 10-27-2011
Works Great!

This is perfect for any dark-colored wood! It adds a nice deeper-color and restores dried-out wood to like-new condition.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
5 10-12-2011
Fretboard oil

I was a little doubtful if the product was worth the money or just how good it might be. I have to say, I have eight guitars and I am quite happy with just how nice the boards now look and feel after using it. I would highly recommend the product. Used it also on my Epiphone SG with the faded wood finish, guitar looked awesome.

tony barbaro  annapolis, maryland Read my reviews (2)
4 10-06-2011
Seals the fretboard

This product has solids in it, and thus leaves a hard seal over the surface of the fretboard. If this is what you are after, then this is a great product. Personally, I like to leave my fretboards unsealed to allow them to breath. I prefer a bore oil based product that doesn't contain solids.

All in all this is a great product if a sealed oil finish is what you are after.

Jim_H  Bothell, USA Read my reviews (3)
4 10-01-2011
refresh that fret board

it brings that "like new" look back to old fret boards

sherman stockton  indiana Read my reviews (19)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 42 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce