Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Fingerboard cleaner, stain and oil : Black Fingerboard Stain

Black Fingerboard Stain


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Ebony in a bottle!
Makes streaked ebony fingerboards and bridges uniformly black.

See details below

Email a friend
Black Fingerboard Stain
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4236 Black Fingerboard Stain
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$7.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Glue Brush



Behlen Naphtha Solvent



ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Glue Brush
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
The days of harvesting uniformly black ebony wood are rapidly fading—in fact, most ebony today is streaked with brown and gray. Fiebing’s black stain is a long-time guitar factory favorite for making ebony uniformly black (“ebonizes” other woods, too). LeatherColor™ is the new environmentally-friendlier formula. Wipe on, and wipe off the excess as needed.

Use it to darken new or old ebony fingerboards, bridges, tailpieces and peghead veneers on guitars, violins, mandolins and banjos. Unlike other black stains, Fiebings won't leave a bluish tint.
4-ounce bottle.

Tip: Clean the wood with naphtha and sand to 600-grit before staining. Mask off neck bindings, the nut, and any other areas you don't want to stain. Apply with a clean cloth or a brush, and be sure to wear protective gloves.

For ebony streaks, use black fingerboard stain
How Gibson and PRS get such good-looking ebony fingerboards
For ebony streaks, use black fingerboard stain Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman shows why black fingerboard stain is a standard item in any guitarmaker’s shop, including the big name builders.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 49 < 1  ...  3  4  5
5 5-12-2011
Saw a MINI-Wax commercial and...

I tried MINI-Wax to ebonize my fretboard and it didn't work... bought the pre treat stuff that's supposed to work better with still minimal results (only slight darkening of rosewood)...
THIS IS THE REAL DEAL!!! The bottle said its for horse saddles but it works better than any other stain i used and blew them away. If you want an ebonized (black stained) fretboard this is what you need!

Roman Warrior  Marietta, GA
5 5-08-2011
Black fingerboard dye

Used in a 70's Epiphone refurbishment. Make sure to use sparingly & really buff it into the wood. Other than that, it does what it says it does.

Rusch Guitars  Youngstown, NY Read my reviews (6)
4 3-20-2011
Good with tung oil top coat

I stained a fretted oak fingerboard dark black. When dry it did come off on my fingers. I top coated the stain with tung oil. It is good now. I will use it again with tung oil depending on the use. I do not plan on using it on violin fingerboards. Time will tell how it will stand up.

P. U. Wallpaper  San Diego, CA
5 3-04-2011
Back in Black! (I hope this hasn't been done already)

I brushed this stain onto my Ebony fingerboard and now it's black, black, black! I am making a Strat copy and I have some pics. I don't know if I have a shot of the fingerboard but I'll post some kind of pic at any rate. Yayy for Stewart - MacDonald!

unclebryan  Louisville, Kentucky USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-06-2011
good stuff

it works as it claims

ariapro4ever  detroit,MI Read my reviews (4)
1 1-21-2011
Rubs off

This dye does what it says, makes wood a very deep black, but doesn't dry completely. I used it on a fingerboard and had the stain transfer to my fingers weeks after it was applied. Thinking maybe I just applied it too thick, I used it later on an open-back banjo pot and the same thing happened, only this time transferring to my clothes. This was especially frustrating because I'd diluted it with alcohol, per the manufacturers recommendations (two parts alcohol, one part dye) and used a much thinner coat.

I would say try a different stain, if you really want your fingerboards all black. I threw the bottle I had out, and won't be using it again.

S. T.  Athens, OH Read my reviews (5)
StewMac responds

We're very sorry you didn't get the desired results from this oil. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products so please contact us if you have a problem in the future! May we suggest a thorough cleaning of the wood with naphtha to remove all contaminants that could prevent the stain from taking. After application, a good rub with 0000 steel wool will polish the surface.

5 12-16-2010
Oil dye

Loved this stuff it worked some well. I was restoring an really old guitar. I had the non rose wood fret board sanded down and I apply about three layers of this oil dye it. Works great and easy to apply with a tiny paint brush

Donny  lock haven, pa, USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-31-2010
Fingerboard Stain

The stain is fine - does what it's supposed to do. But the stain is in a flexible plastic bottle. After I used it, I recapped the bottle and picked it up along with a few other tools. To my surprise, the black stain came out of the bottle around the cap and got all over my hands and dripped on my bench. Thankfully my project wasn't affected but I ended up with quite a mess. If you get this dye, handle it carefully, or transfer it to a glass jar.

Glen  Dunedin, Florida
5 9-24-2010
Excellent Results!

I used this with a small brush on a rosewood fretboard that was bound and had inlays previously installed and found the stain very workable. The results were excellent and really made quite the difference in the overall appearance of the instrument.
I did find that using the small brush and minimal dye led to having to do a second coat in some areas.

Chris Cordle  North Muskegon, MI Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 41 – 49 < 1  ...  3  4  5 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce