Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Spraying : Preval Spray Unit

Preval Spray Unit


Read 17 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Mix and spray your own custom stains and finishes. The Preval is a handy alternative when shop spray equipment is unavailable.

See details below

Email a friend
Preval Spray Unit
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5043 Spray Unit with Jar
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$7.21

5044 Replacement Power Unit
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$5.81


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer



ColorTone Liquid Stains



ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
The outfit includes a disposable aerosol power unit with siphon, and a removable graduated glass storage jar.

Unlike sealed aerosol cans, it lets you mix and spray up to 16 ounces of stains, sealers or topcoats. For best results, mix, thin and strain the finish before filling the jar, keep the spray nozzle clean, and have a few economical power units on hand for quick replacement.

Not recommended for waterbase finishes.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Preval Spray Unit
Preval Spray Unit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 17 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 3-11-2014
Simple Finishing Success

The spray unit performs as advertised. This was my first finishing project, and I was pretty anxious. It was easy to use and delivered satisfying results.

Dan Pessell  Cincinnati, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
5 12-22-2013
A nice working system for those without a compressor

these let you mix colors and apply with the convenience of a pray can

mikrow  Huntington Beach, CA Read my reviews (34)
5 10-27-2013
Handy!

I tried these units early on because I didn't have a gun I could rely on at the time. I have been so happy with them however that I find myself using them still because its just so much easier than setting up and breaking down my spray guns. They work great! I've done several projects using only the preval including this, my most recent. They really work great!

Z-Max Guitars  Albany, NY Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-03-2013
Great Option and Value

I make a guitar every year or so, so I don't want to invest a lot into spray equipment. This was a major step up from any rattle-spray can. I used with Behlen's Stringed Instrument Lacquer and Reducer. Though the Lacquer said you didn't have to reduce when spraying, I noticed it sprayed really well when mixed 2:1 (lacquer:reducer). Also nice to add a little tint to the first couple of coats. I would highly recommend.

ParkOLewis  Denver, CO Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-21-2013
Great for those of us who don't have spray equipment.

when you have spray equipment is definitely a very good solution very similar.

Carlos GirĂ³n  Ny Read my reviews (28)
5 2-06-2013
Awesome! Great for those of us who don't have spray equipment.

I bought a couple of them to spray lacquer before I got a spray gun. I think they are great. They cover very well and are easy to keep clean. Plus I found out the a lot of my local businesses carry the replacement units. I would recommend over brushing.

Rob Morales  Amery, WI
5 11-13-2012
Easy to use and does the job

I had been using these until I saved up for an air compressor and sprayer, now after several preval units later, I actually prefer these. They provide a good, clean, even spray and you don't have to worry about cleaning them, trapped moisture, etc....just simply throw them out and pop in a new one.

DBMiller  Louisiana, USA Read my reviews (3)
4 4-29-2012
Handy little guy

A nice alternative to having to set-up and clean an airbrush for small touch- ups.an atomize adjustment would be cool but for the price a very good thing to have around

Leo M Whitebird  Mpls Mnn Read my reviews (17)
1 1-18-2012
Preval Spray Unit..... a waste of time

This unit has a nozzle that emits a very small, sporadic coverage area. The mist is too fine, making the unit unsuitable for even the smallest of touch up or spot repair tasks.

kincannon3  Hammond, LA Read my reviews (2)
5 1-02-2012
Does the job

This stuff works great. Take a look at the finish on the body of this Lennon Rickenbacker 325 that came into our shop for repair!

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 40 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce