Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Spraying : Freehand Holder

Freehand Holder


Read 17 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spray a better finish with less work! Our versatile guitar body holder makes spray finishing easier and more efficient.

See details below

Email a friend
Freehand Holder

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6130 Freehand Holder Yes
$88.92

6131 Extra attachment for acoustics Yes
$12.98

6132 Extra attachment for solidbodies Yes
$13.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Erlewine ShopStand



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer



ColorTone Waterbase Lacquer

Erlewine ShopStand
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
ColorTone Waterbase Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
 Video
How do you hold a guitar body to spray a finish? Hang it on a ceiling hook and weave around it while you trip over your spray hose? Fasten it to a stick and hold it up until your arm cramps? Prop it up and hope it doesn't fall over when you bump your worktable?

The unique Freehand Holder is our new solution. It's an easier way to hold a body or neck securely, for a more uniform finish.

Freehand Holder includes:
• Sturdy steel frame
• Rotating handwheel shaft
• One solidbody attachment
• One acoustic attachment

Clamp the sturdy steel frame into your vise and fasten the guitar body or neck to the rotating handwheel shaft. Attachments for solidbody and acoustic neck joints are included. Now simply turn the wheel as you spray. The body moves to you, not the other way around, for easy, uniform spray coverage. A smoother finish means you'll save time and effort at the sanding stage, too.

The wheel has Allen-adjustable resistance. To switch bodies quickly for production finishing, extra body attachments are available separately—you can spray one while another dries.

You'll probably discover other work-saving uses for the Freehand Holder, we'd love to hear about it!

Dan Erlewine's low-tech "spray booth" for a small shop
Dan Erlewine's low-tech "spray booth" for a small shop
Dan Erlewine's low-tech "spray booth" for a small shop Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine shows how he sprays finish touchups in a small shop with no spray booth.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Freehand Holder
Freehand Holder
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 17 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
4 4-02-2014
Great Idea But...

Just received my Freehand Holder but have yet to use it. I've read the reviews and am sure I will find this tool very useful. One negative is they do not provide the screws or bolts to attach the connectors to the body or neck. I will have to search the hardware stores to find the right thickness and length so as not to damage the body or neck but yet still be able to firmly attach the connectors and not distort the existing mounting holes. All in all, a good investment.

rollerkane  Mt. Marion, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 1-20-2014
Wasn't sure I would need this...Couldn't have done without it

I bought this with the other supplies for helping my grandson finish his class project guitar. When I unpacked it there were no instructions and it seemed so big I almost just sent it back. Then I looked online and saw the instructions. As soon as we set it up we were SOOOOOOO glad we had it. It made spraying the guitar so easy, I cant imagine trying to hold and spray or hanging it from the ceiling. This is our first guitar project and this thing was great. I know you can build one but why bother!

Kathieh  Danville, Calif Read my reviews (2)
5 8-22-2013
Pretty nifty

Great for bolt-on necks/bodies...so much easier than having to mess with holding while spraying (especially the body) and having to hang it.

Kel  Oakland, CA Read my reviews (4)
4 6-20-2013
Makes spraying easy

This is a quality product that makes spraying on finish easy. This sturdy rig is worth the price in convenience. Additionally, this product improved my spraying technique by preventing runs and allowing my to spray much more evenly. The only drawback to this product is that I wish it came with set of bolts for securing the guitar to the attachments, but finding the right fasteners in my work bench was not a difficult task.

Terence  Missouri Read my reviews (15)
5 3-29-2013
very good addtion for spraying

I have a very very small spray area in my garage now and can barely fit me and a body or neck on this jig but it is a God send. CONTROL is definitely the issue. I am getting very good results with it on an inexpensive swivel vise on an inexpensive tool stand. I use a water based lacquer and am getting the best finishes now I have every had.

Michael Ryan  tucson Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
3 3-19-2013
Not up to Stewmac Quality

First, this is a must-have tool. But the quality of this tool is not up to what I have learned to expect from Stewmac. First, it had no instructions and while not a big deal, they would have helped with adjustments. Next, I was missing the locking screw for the hand wheel. And while the hand wheel has a threaded hole for what appears to be for a handle, no handle knob was provided. Customer support told me that a knob was not provided. Finally, I had to relieve the handle locking screw hole plastic as this was poorly drilled and trimmed. The overall impression was that this tool is of poor quality but nonetheless, useful.

Dick Carlson  Warrenton VA Read my reviews (2)
5 3-02-2013
Indispensible

A very good solution to a gnarly problem.

Jeff Glover  Huntsville Alabama Read my reviews (4)
5 2-06-2013
Another must have....like having additional hands...

I was having second thoughts about adding this to my shopping cart... I figured I would hang guitar body and neck from a wire and fight the process as usual... I am so glad that I bought this holder and extra attachments...wow, what a difference this makes in being able to visualize what you are doing and controling the process vs the process controlling you... Worth every penny

DavidMitch  Germantown, TN USA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-25-2013
Free hand holder

The freehand holder is well built and should last quite awhile. I have 8 solid body attachments which allows me to have several guitars on the go in various stages of finishing. The package comes with an acoustic attachment which I have not tried yet

Rick Meadows  BC, Canada
5 1-20-2013
A third hand when you need it...

If you run a one-man shop like me AND do finish and re-finish work, you need this thing in your tool arsenal. I use mine not just for finising but also during the sanding phase. The locking rotation feature is extra cool.

Thom Abell-String Theory Guitar Repair  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (20)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 40 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce