Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Sandpapers, finishing papers : Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick

Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick


Read 18 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Cushioned for a scratch-free mirror finish. Three Micro-Mesh™ abrasives in one handy tool, about the size of a pencil.

See details below

Email a friend
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3707 Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick Yes
$1.99
3 or more $1.48  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Fret Erasers



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Fret Erasers



Details
 Pictures
Perfect for small touch-ups on glossy finishes, the Touch-up Stick is padded so it flexes and conforms gently to the work. We rely on these in our own shops for finish touch-ups and repairs.

The stick includes three Micro-Mesh grits on a padded core (5-3/4" x 1/2" size): 2400, 4000 and 12000-grit.

Micro-Mesh™ features tiny abrasive crystals on resilient cloth-backed latex. These gentle "cushioned" particles generate less heat and friction than ordinary finishing papers, don't load up as quickly, and last up to 15 times longer. Use Micro-Mesh with soapy water to produce a scratch-free mirror shine on finishes and pickguards. Great for repairing scratches and overspray. Use them for polishing frets, too.

Micro-Mesh was developed for polishing jet windshields to maintain their optical clarity. Imagine how your instrument will look!

Also see: Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit and Soft Touch Finishing Pads.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 18 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 4-12-2014
Essential fretting tool

These things are simply amazing. After crowning my frets with a diamond file, I'll go over them with 0000 steel wool, then polish them up with one of these. I can get a full fret job/polish out of one stick. A little trick I found was when they start getting dirty, just snip half an inch off the tip and keep going. They're cheap too, so buy a few next time you place an order–you won't regret it. I can see myself ordering a handful every time I need some new tools. I haven't used them for finish touch ups yet, but they're worth their weight in gold for fretting purposes. They're also great for polishing your nails if you play fingerstyle!

Garon  Los Angeles Read my reviews (7)
4 3-01-2014
an important tool

These polishing boards really do the trick. Far safer and easier than fine steel wool. The very fine "grit" is especially useful. Use it and your string bending will be effortless!

pedalman  Boston area Read my reviews (6)
5 2-07-2014
Love'm!

Got these to try at a time when I was near broke, 'cause their pretty cheap. I've used them a lot when buying and repairing broken guitars. These things work great for me in removing the beginnings of fret corrosion, and the finest side polishes off frets really well. A good friend recently started playing guitar again and asked me to set up his 80s Telecaster. It was an easy setup but the dull looking frets really bothered me on this otherwise fantastic guitar. I polished the frets with one of these touch up sticks, and he was excited at the difference from the cloudy look of the frets before, to the shiny, polished look of the frets when he got his guitar back. I've used them to sand light work needed on plastic pickup rings to frets. One of those items I keep finding other things to use the sticks for than what I originally wanted them for.

J. Masters  Palm Bay, FL Read my reviews (4)
5 1-01-2014
Just another fine time saver

These could do up my fingernails nicely, but prefer to use them for their intended purpose, produce a fine finish quickly.

Eugene Zdybowicz II  williamsville, N.Y. Read my reviews (3)
5 12-21-2013
Great for frets!

I use these to polish frets and love the results. Makes them shine like mirrors!

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
5 10-23-2013
Finally!!

I will keep a bundle of these at my shop! Easy to work with, and I need only polish up the surface by hand after using one of these. They doesn't last long at all, but considering the price, I think I'm cool with that ;) GitFix

Preben Kobro  Arendal, Norway Read my reviews (8)
4 4-18-2013
Handy tool

This is a great tool for working around the fingerboard and frets. Only problem is they wear out quickly so buy a bunch at a time.

Griggles  Calgary Read my reviews (11)
5 7-25-2012
A nice surprise!!

I really like these sticks. I was really surprised how good they work. Nice product..good price too!

Gary at SharpenYourAxxe  Oakton Virginia Read my reviews (5)
4 6-25-2012
Good for fret touch-up

Please do not use this product on a high gloss finish. It will just create more work for you. It works very well on frets.

Arjun Menon  Cape Town, South Africa Read my reviews (3)
4 6-13-2012
Easy to use

As the title says, very easy to use. Gets dirty rather quickly but works well. Just keep your girlfriend away from them, they would work well on her fingernails as well..

Illdoyouforthat  Warwick, RI Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce