Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Repair and touchup : Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads

Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads


Read 95 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Extra-gentle hand polishing for high-gloss finishes. Fingertip-size foam pads with the remarkable Micro-Mesh™ abrasives on both sides.

See details below

Email a friend
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3711 Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads Yes
$11.21
3 or more $10.07  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



Preservation Polish



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
The cushioning allows gentle polishing of finished surfaces to a mirror gloss. We use these regularly in our own shops for finish touch-ups and repairs.

The set of nine pads includes #1500, 1800, 2400, 3200, 3600, 4000, 6000, 8000, and 12000 grits. Use the grits in sequence to achieve a super gloss.

Micro-Mesh™ features tiny abrasive crystals on resilient cloth-backed latex. These gentle "cushioned" particles generate less heat and friction than ordinary finishing papers, don't load up as quickly, and last up to 15 times longer. Use Micro-Mesh with soapy water to produce a scratch-free mirror shine on finishes and pickguards. Great for repairing scratches and overspray. Use them for polishing frets, too.

Micro-Mesh was developed for polishing jet windshields to maintain their optical clarity. Imagine how your instrument will look!

Also see: Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit and Touch-up Stick.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 95 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 >
5 6-20-2011
Micro Pads

These are great for touching up nicks and scrapes on the back of necks, and all so on the fret boards, wouldn't be with out them.

Marksp  Harper, KS Read my reviews (6)
5 6-02-2011
Micro-Mesh Pads - Easy to get a Perfect Shine

Even before using fine compound and swirl remover, these pads allow for a scratch-free surface that paper cannot provide.

painter33  Wilmington DE Read my reviews (3)
5 5-26-2011
Incredible!

i'm not a finish/paint kind-of-guy so i don't like to loose time on signs and scratches polishing, but these pads got me into it, and turned a boring job into a fast and funny work. they do work!

if you'd like your rosewood fretboard to get that smooth and silky feeling of ebony, get these pads!

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
5 5-14-2011
Finishing frets so good

I just used these to sand and polish the frets on a friends Ibanez that were pretty ropey. Starting with lower grit, moving to the higher smoothed out the frets far better and faster than using the old steel wool method & also a lot less messy! I also used them to polish the fretboard.

Darren Barnes  Northern Ireland Read my reviews (4)
5 4-02-2011
Great for finishing frets

I just used these to sand and polish some older frets that were pretty tarnished. Starting with the lower grit to the higher smoothed out the frets far better and faster than using the old 220-320-400-600-steel wool approach. A lot less messy than using 0000 steel wool! Also, used them to polish the fretboard.

For the review that mentions the pads are too small for larger surfaces, just be aware that there are other sizes of micro mesh that any good woodworking store will carry. I found some that are roughly 3x bigger. Same material and grit selection, just bigger pads. Person at the wood store said they can be rinsed out and reused many times too.

P Smith  Cary, NC Read my reviews (5)
4 3-29-2011
Nice assortment.

I used these on a pickguard and a lacquered strat neck. The scratches came out of the pickguard and the neck plays smoother after sanding off some of the finish. They are a little smaller than I would prefer.

Gregory  Appleton WI 54911 Read my reviews (4)
2 3-22-2011
They're okay

These pads are great for sanding tight spots such as pegheads, neck heels and cutaways. If you use mineral spirits as a lubricant, they will separate. I think the pads are way to small for broader surfaces.

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
5 2-23-2011
Fantastic Stuff!

These will polish nuts, touch-ups, and even metal. I will purchase more of these for sure when these are used up. Note that these are double-sided and can easily be used multiple times. They are more durable than sandpaper and small enough to use on most all items.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 2-06-2011
Best for touch up.

Very useful. Start at 1500 wet sanding and stop at 12000, there is nothing left but some final buffing and you are left with a gloss finish.

Bassic Dude  Richland, Wa Read my reviews (2)
4 2-02-2011
Indispensable for finishing up work cleanly

These are a great set of pads to have on hand. The first time I saw them used was by my local professional luthier. I watched closely and saw the end result. I had to buy a set and I'm so glad I did. Great for frets and nuts as well as cleaning up bridge work. Four stars because the edges aren't textured - that would be amazing if they were!

James Finnerty  ROCKville, MD Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce