Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Repair and touchup : ColorTone Touchup Markers

ColorTone Touchup Markers


Read 37 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Easily repair minor finish dings and scratches. When that heartbreaking first ding appears on your new guitar, these convenient ColorTone® markers come to the rescue.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Touchup Markers
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6090 Clear lacquer
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$12.99

6091 Vintage Amber
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$12.99

6092 Cherry Red
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$12.99

6093 Tobacco Brown
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$12.99

6094 Red Mahogany
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$12.99

6096 Black
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$12.99

6095 Set of all 6 SAVE $5.00
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$72.94


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Brush-on Super Glue



3M Flexible Polishing Papers



Behlen Lacquer Repair Kit



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



StewMac Brush-on Super Glue
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
Behlen Lacquer Repair Kit
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They're a simple way to touch up scratches in old or new finishes, or to repair minor sand-throughs at the finishing stage. Traditional guitar tints are compatible with our ColorTone Liquid Stains and Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquers.

Use the handy clear nitrocellulose lacquer marker for spot repairs in transparent finishes, for spot-sealing tints, and to spot-mask bindings and purflings before staining the surrounding wood.

Whoops! How to hide a scratch in your big brother's guitar
Whoops! How to hide a scratch in your big brother's guitar
Whoops! How to hide a scratch in your big brother's guitar Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman's neighbor has put a chip in his big brother's guitar. It needs to be repaired invisibly, and fast! Touch-up markers do the trick.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Touchup Markers
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 37 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 11-25-2011
Works as advertised!

Howdy folks,
I'm totally pleased with the results of the Vintage Amber marker. I've used on a couple of vintage martins recently and it has practically erased nasty scrapes and dings on both adi and sitka tops with very different colors. the marker does not leave a persistent residue on the top either.

Cheers
T

TonyKost  Winnipeg, MB Canada Read my reviews (4)
4 11-16-2011
Great for small dings

I have used these pens to fill some small dents and dings on guitars. Great for when you do not need to cover a large area. In the future maybe Stewmac can put the same lacquer in nail polish type applicators.

Gabriel's Guitar Repair  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (18)
1 10-19-2011
This product does not work - save your money

I am a long-term, loyal Stew Mac customer and must say that this is the first time that I am competely dissatisfied with a product purchase. Simply put, these stain pens do not work as advertised and made no difference whatosver in filling minor chips on my vintage Gibson acoustic.

Simply put, the product is a waste of money.

Dan R  USA Read my reviews (5)
4 8-25-2011
Pretty useful

I closed the case on my strat with the tremolo arm in he wrong position and dented the surf green finish.

I filled the dent with clear lacquer and sanded it down using the micro mesh finishing pads. Dent is now just *barely* visible.

Hints - don't use the applicator tip -- put some on a paper plate and apply with a tiny brush, Q-tip, toothpick, etc.

When sanding (with the micro mesh finishing pads) don't press down -- let the grit of the pad do the work or you'll scratch the finish and it will be harder to polish out your scratches than it is to polish the drop of lacquer.

SteveCartwrigh  San Jose, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 7-01-2011
ColorTone Touchup Markers

Stewmac...your ColorTone Touchup Markers have saved the day more than a time or two. I find that the color match on the Touchup Markers is spot-on and these items have found a permanent place in my shop. Tony at The Luthiers Workshop - Green Bay, WI.

Tony Louscher  Green Bay, WI USA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-18-2011
Touch up sticks

These are truly a smart thing to have in my shop!Amazing how well they can blend into a finish to hide some minor blems! Thanks

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
5 2-16-2011
Excellent

Very nice product - Definitely better than store bought wood stain markers

Alan W  Vegas Read my reviews (3)
3 2-05-2011
Ok in a pinch

These work fine for pedestrian results on less expen$ive guitars. Otherwise they're difficult to get the "just right" amount of paint to fill a touch-up. Either it comes flooding out or you're cursing the too dry tip. Also this paint does not sand like true lacquer (easily), so be careful if your doing a larger spot or building up a repair.

Q-Ball  PA Read my reviews (3)
2 1-26-2011
Save your money

It's alright. It does what it says. but im not satisfied. The marker doesn't really 'put' the clear lacquer on the guitar like i thought it would. Overall, save your money and buy some q-tips, dip them in the lacquer and you'll get the same, if not better, results than the marker would. Also its not really worth 11 dollars. I'd say about 5 or 6 dollars tops.

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
5 1-05-2011
Black Marker

It works really good to cover little bare wood spots, but don’t breath it, it’s heavy duty stuff.

Black Marker  Tujunga, CA
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce