Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Preservation Polish

Preservation Polish


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Silicone-free and repair shop friendly, with no wax or silicone residues. 12-ounce bottle.

See details below

Email a friend
Preservation Polish
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3006 Preservation Polish
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$8.85
3 or more $7.81  
6 or more $6.77  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Polishing Cloth



Guitar Player Repair Guide



ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil



ColorTone Lemon Oil



Polishing Cloth
Guitar Player Repair Guide
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Lemon Oil



Details
 Pictures
Preservation Polish gently cleans, polishes and protects lacquer and varnish finishes.

Ordinary guitar polishes shine by leaving a long-lasting silicone residue that's very hard to remove. If your guitar ever needs a repair, the silicone will prevent glue or finish from adhering, making even simple repairs more difficult and costly.

Simply apply Preservation Polish with a clean cotton cloth. It leaves no wax or silicone residues, so there's no cloudy film, stickiness or build-up. And it won't discolor the patina of vintage finishes.

Luthiers and repair shops: You've learned the hard way that guitars and silicone are bad company. Silicone residue makes it difficult for glue or finish to adhere properly and is a primary cause of "fisheyes" and cratering in lacquer finishes. It's even worse if silicone reaches bare wood or gets into the cracks of older finishes. Even the simplest finish repairs can become more difficult, time-consuming and costly. Do your colleagues a favor — use Preservation Polish and recommend it to your customers!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Preservation Polish
Preservation Polish
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
5 7-20-2012
Its good!

good stuff. Works wonders!

Dhelmer  Iowa Read my reviews (2)
5 7-19-2012
Great product!

Was using another product and thought I'd give this a try after reading some of the other reviews on this site. Glad I did. Preservation Polish does an equal, or better, job on my guitars for less money. Smells a little funky - but tolerable. Also, wish it came in a spray bottle (using my old 'Mist & Wipe containers), but otherwise a great product. Will be using this from now on. Try it, you'll like it.

SurfCook1  Longboat Key, FL Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-05-2012
Preservation Polish

There is no close second. I have tried every thing out there at least once in 30 years. Don't waist your time and money just get Preservation and move on.

Chris Creighton  Kill Devil Hills, NC Read my reviews (9)
5 6-28-2012
Outstanding Surprise!

The first few uses of this product seem that you are wasting polish in vain. It seemed watery, unpleasant smell, and not overly effective... but as the instructions state: May take 2-3 times before it really starts to shine. This polish has turned out to be the BEST I have ever used over the last few decades for guitars. It soon brings out a pristine glossy shine, leaves little or no oily build up, and really cleans it up. I used it on a '92 YJM strat's brass nut, frets, and hardware -- this polish even worked its magic on those parts far better than any metal cleaning product I have ever used, and without risk of damaging finishes. I have no idea how they can make this without silicone and get such a remarkable result. I have started telling fellow players that this product is a "MUST HAVE".

Will Arnold  Lexington, KY Read my reviews (2)
5 6-10-2012
Best I've found

I started using this polish a couple years ago based on a friend's recommendation to steer clear of silicone based polishes. I use it on Two Guild acoustics, a Gibson J-45 and a Santa Cruz OM. This polish outperforms several others I previously used. I'm a believer.

Scratch  South Central Texas
5 4-30-2012
Great product hand down.

Best product for maintaining a great finish on your instrument.

Will Laturno  Prospect, CT. USA Read my reviews (9)
5 4-15-2012
Outstanding Polish!!!

Just used this Preservation Polish on my Martin and Yamaha acoustics. No strong smell or residue and leaves a brilliant shine. Faster, less buffing and easier than the wax I've used in the past. A little goes a long way. Great product!!!

David Deaton  Arkansas Read my reviews (5)
5 4-06-2012
Works great

Preservation polish outperforms all others. Beautiful clear shine.

Bob Littrell-Cardona Custom Guitars  Springfield, Illinois Read my reviews (9)
5 4-02-2012
awesome polish

works very well and does not leave any residue. awesome!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
5 3-24-2012
Finally!

This polish is amazing. I used it on my Gibson J-200 and it looks band new! I love it and use it on all my guitars and the ones I work on. It leaves no residue, buffs off easily and leaves a beautiful sheen on the finish. This is the only polish you need.

RS Guitar Shop  St. Louis, MO Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 80 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce