Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Hand polishing : Micro Finishing Papers

Micro Finishing Papers


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Micro-grit abrasives for water-sanding scratch-free finishes. Grit particles are uniform in size, virtually eliminating sanding scratches.

See details below

Email a friend
Micro Finishing Papers

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5557 800-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.46

5558 1000-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.55

5559 1200-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.62

5560 1500-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.69

5561 2000-grit, 9" x 5-1/2" sheet Yes
$0.72


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Foam Polishing Pads



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Instructions
Perfect for modern polyester finishes or traditional lacquer.

Sold individually in 9" x 5-1/2" sheets.

These papers are graded on the "P-scale," indicating a truly uniform cutting surface (read about abrasive grading scales in our Finishing Step-by-Step book).

After sanding, use ColorTone Polishing Compounds to complete the high gloss.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Micro Finishing Papers
Micro Finishing Papers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 3-24-2014
Miracle sandpaper

When I arrived at the phase of scuffing and sanding the orange rind texture in the clear gloss nitro finish over the body of my Telecaster, I was afraid if it would go down at all with any sanding. That was until I read about the micro finishing papers in the Stewmac literature. From that point, I ordered all the grits from 800 to 2000 and then set to work after they all gradually arrived in the mail. The cost of each piece of paper was fair and worth the work and result as well! As I kept working with each grit upon the finish, I was happy to see that the papers could cut through the finish well and gradually close up the rounded bubble texture and bring it down to a nice, final smooth and clear coat. Impressive and amazing paper! Worth the investment. Thank you for everything, Stewmac, you've been a great help with this project as a novice guitar body refinisher!

M. Barlow  Prairie Village, KS Read my reviews (3)
5 1-01-2014
Controllable finishing work

Just like every other Stew Mac product, it does the job, and saves me time which I use to attend to those little details to make the service even better.

Eugene Zdybowicz II  williamsville, N.Y. Read my reviews (3)
5 11-09-2013
Great for finishing work

Very good sheet for you finishing work, I enjoy working with all of them.

pablopuerto  Chile Read my reviews (16)
5 8-22-2013
Works as advertised

works as advertised or better. These papers really cut into the work surface but do so without leaving nasty scratch marks. I now call these indispensable.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
5 6-27-2013
Great grits.

There is a difference in sand papers and this stuff is the bomb! It gets you to a place where you can do a final polish and swirl remover followed by a good guitar polish and magic happens.This project was a replacement of the entire back of a
Fender F5/12 on a budget. I think it turned out well.

Hagdaddy  Riverton, WY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-29-2013
Micro Finishing Papers

I love the StewMac micro finishing papers. They sand nice and even with minimal clogging. I sand up to 2000 then buff. I use them for fret polishing too. I used them on this 60s Airline restoration.

Sig's Guitar Repair  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-21-2012
Fine grit sandpaper

Great is one word to sum up my last purchase from Stewart MacDonald . Good price compared to the paper I purchased at automotive retailers and great selection. Stewart MacDonald is my place for supplies and parts for my Guitars . Great for the do it yourselfers and they send great ideals and inside secrets to build your own great sounding guitar . Keep up the great work and Prices. Merle C Bricklemeyer BRICK/AXE.

Merle  buffalo ny Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-31-2012
Good stuff

This is so much better than I expected. A small piece lasts a long time without clogging. As it wears I use it for even finer polishing, so I really do feel that I got more than my moneys worth with this paper.

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 3-26-2012
Good stuff!

These finishing papers work great, and do not laod up too fast. You can use them over and over.

Cliff W  Sanford, FL Read my reviews (8)
5 2-02-2012
Better than what you buy at auto part stores.

The abrasive particles in the paper are better distributed and uniform and has a better looking result than what you would buy at an auto part store. Great product!!!

George Casiano  Corona, CA Read my reviews (17)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce