Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Hand polishing : 3M Flexible Polishing Papers

3M Flexible Polishing Papers


Read 76 Reviews   |   Write a Review

'Finishing fabric' conforms to any surface. Strong micro-grit papers so flexible you can use them like cloth, wet or dry!

See details below

Email a friend
3M Flexible Polishing Papers

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6040 Green, 30 micron/400 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6041 Gray, 15 micron/600 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6042 Blue, 9 micron/1200 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6043 Pink, 3 micron/4000 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6044 Aqua, 2 micron/6000 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6045 White, 1 micron/8000 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6046 Set of all 6 grits SAVE $1.00 Yes
$13.16


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Fret Erasers



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Fret Erasers



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Because they conform to any surface shape, they're great for polishing contoured guitar finishes, frets, plastic pickguards, pearl inlays and more. The first samples we received were jealously hoarded in our shops, quickly becoming favorites for polishing nuts and saddles, and for touchups in lacquer finishes.

Sold individually or SAVE $1.00 when you purchase the set of all six grits.

"Indispensable for polishing bone and pearl nuts. They leave a gorgeous luster with no dark residue in porous bone."
—Don MacRostie, Red Diamond Mandolins

Each sheet is coated on one side with micron-graded particles of aluminum oxide (1200-8000 grit) or silicon carbide (400-600 grit), on an extremely flexible non-woven .007" synthetic backing.

The pattern coating won't clog quickly. They leave no dark residue in porous bone nuts and saddles. The durable tear-resistant sheet washes easily in water.

Each sheet is a generous 9" x 11" (228.6mm x 279.4mm).

"The most versatile abrasive in my shop."
—Erick Coleman

"Lasts a long time, and so flexible you can buff shoeshine-style!"
—Dan Erlewine

Polishing papers: flexible, reusable abrasives
Erick Coleman’s filling his toolbox with polishing paper scraps
Polishing papers: flexible, reusable abrasives Read more

In this issue:
Why has Erick Coleman been hiding small scraps of 3M Polishing Papers in his tool chest?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 76 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 >
5 7-23-2011
put an easy shine on the job

Much easier than wet sanding... should have done this years ago... a little goes a long way, get a variety pak, cut it into 3/4 strips. buy extra 400 and 600 it does most of the tough work.

jerrynashville  indiana Read my reviews (2)
5 7-20-2011
Fantastic

I was a bit skeptical but this is one of the best new products I have bought in 10 years. Truly amazing sand paper that does not load up easily and very long life. Well done guys.

Steve Metz  Nahunta, GA
5 6-15-2011
Want something sharp? Really sharp?

I use these all day to re-hone blade tools. My pocket knives, chisels, and kitchen knives (luthier related, I contest. We all have healthy appetites...) can be sharpened to a mirror edge that can take small, controlled shavings off of finish if something happened to get into it. I use sharpened throwaway chisels to shave nuts flush or remove glue. I like to soak them in water and leave them on a glass block, and when I hit 8000 grit, I can see myself in it, and slice through anything with a remarkably clean cut. As for the numbering issue? I just keep a key on the front of my workbench because I use them so often.

JeremyB  San Francisco
5 5-26-2011
Excellent Product

Excellent product for putting the shine back on frets; you would never know that they were marred from sanding or hammering.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
5 5-25-2011
GREAT!!!

I love this stuff! Leaves a great shine and crown to the frets. Good stuff!

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-08-2011
Great product

These durable papers are a big improvement on traditional sandpaper and the variety of grades offer many uses. I have used them for clearcoat chip repair finishing and polishing out pickguards with excellent results. A real bargain and very useful, thanks Stewmac !

JB Bass  Brick, NJ Read my reviews (9)
5 3-26-2011
Fantastic Freekin' Fret Finishing

With the fingerboard guard in place I filed a few hi frets with my new diamond fret file and dressed em up. Finished with these flexible papers within seconds- they are fantastic

MIke Gordon  Australia Read my reviews (4)
3 3-21-2011
They need numbering

These 3M Flexible Polishing Papers are excellent, don't get me wrong. What they really need is a ranking system to indicate which is color is the coarsest (green) and which is finest (white). My shop is too busy and I have a lot on my mind to remember that the gradation from course to fine for these papers are: Green, Gray, Blue, Pink, Aqua, White. I suppose remembering the phrase: 'Good Grief Bob Pick Another Wife' might help.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-28-2011
3M Flex paper

Love the Polishing paper. i used for nuts ,polishing frets,touch up's .

jackguitars  Sicklerville,NJ Read my reviews (8)
5 2-20-2011
Flexible polishing papers

They're great for almost any detailed sanding or polishing. I cut strips then glued them together in belts for the dressing stick, Fantastic. The cloth paper folds right in to match the profile you put on the dressing stick.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce