Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step


Read 39 Reviews   |   Write a Review

By Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie
Published by Stewart-MacDonald. The definitive book for finishing guitars and fretted instruments.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5095 Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit



Airbrush Outfit



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer



StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
Airbrush Outfit
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



Details
 Pictures
Learn from the pros: materials, equipment and techniques, plus three dozen recipes for famous finishes. This book helps give you the confidence to finish new instruments, refinish old ones, and perform flawless touch-ups.

The expanded 2nd edition features color stain mixing charts, a color gallery of vintage finishes, and detailed recipes for recreating them with professional results. Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step focuses on nitrocellulose lacquer, the most common guitar finish, but also includes addditional information on varnishes, oils and French polishing. Dan Erlewine's color-illustrated essay guides you through the steps of modern waterbase finishing, too. 188 pages, softcover.

A partial list of contents:

Materials and tools
Abrasives • Solvents • Fillers • Colorants • Topcoats • Buffing materials and equipment

Techniques
The basics of spray equipment • Sanding • Buffing • Basic finishing steps

Recipes for popular finishes
Fender blond, sunbursts and solids • Gibson goldtop, cherry red and sunbursts • Basic Martin-style finish • Lots more!

Color gallery
Stain mixing color charts • Examples of vintage finishes • Waterbase finishing steps

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 39 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 11-02-2013
Nearly everything you need to know...

This book is an awesome tool, especially for the first timer! Clear instructions for finishing or refinishing a guitar or mandolin. Easy to understand and full of recipes for classic and modern jobs. If you are going to finish a guitar, BUY THIS BOOK!!!

Tom H  Lonoke AR Read my reviews (3)
4 8-24-2013
Talks about a lot of things, I like it.

I like it, talks about a lot of stuff in painting.

BrunoLobão  Brazil - Rio de Janeiro Read my reviews (15)
4 7-22-2013
Guitar Finishing

A good book. Simple to understand. I wish some of the products mentioned in the book were obtainable in my neck of the woods.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
4 6-27-2013
lots of info....

Good book lots of info could have more details on finishing with stains faux binding things like that.. More than enough on spray guns and techniques... Could have more info on ratios of mixing colors as well..

T Jones  Chester, MT Read my reviews (39)
3 6-07-2013
Disappointed

We were primarily hoping to get some detail on creating a sunburst finish but there wasn't much. Did the "Okay now apply the finish in a sunburst pattern" sort of thing common to how to books when it comes to complicated processes. Had some good basic information in it though.

robrmcc  canada
5 2-06-2013
A must have.....

I must say that I questioned this purchase....after I received, read and applied what was in this book....no second thought...an absolute must have!

DavidMitch  Germantown, TN USA Read my reviews (2)
4 3-08-2012
Good starting point

This is a great book for an education into the different ways guitars have been finished over the years. From that point on, you need to figure a lot out on your own through trial and error. I found this 1931/32 L1 in a trunk in my Aunts house after she had passed. It is the best looking L1 I have ever seen except for the front which had/has multiple cracks and the bridge was pulled out with less than a square inch of backing plate left.
Needless to say, I am still working on it, but getting close thanks to StewMac.

gearjunky  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-03-2012
I bought this book abd i like it .Guitar finishing.

Very good book.I would like to paint a new projet but i c,ant to do the Honey Burst color. Thanks My last les paul.

Richi  Québec to Canada
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-17-2011
Good finishing book

Good, not great.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 12-10-2011
guitar finishing step by step book

great book!!!!

guz  latina ,italy Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 91 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce