Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : ColorTone Shellac

ColorTone Shellac


Read 25 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Traditional instrument sealer/finish. ColorTone® shellac is a super pale platinum blonde supplied in dewaxed flakes for sealing, finishing and touchups.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Shellac

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6180 4-ounces Yes
$14.90

6181 1/2-pound Yes
$27.25


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Behlen Behkol Solvent



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Preservation Polish



Foam Polishing Pads



Behlen Behkol Solvent
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Preservation Polish
Foam Polishing Pads



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
It's compatible with most finishes and rubs out easily.

Dissolve shellac in Behkol solvent or denatured alcohol, in the amount you need for the job—no wasted finish or shelf life problems.

ColorTone® Shellac makes an excellent sealer over stains and under lacquer (helps keep fisheye-causing contaminates out of topcoats, too) and is useful for finish repairs and touchups. When the dry flakes are dissolved in alcohol the resulting shellac can be brushed, wiped on, French polished (using mineral oil as a lubricant), or sprayed in thin coats. Shellac has good clarity and compatibility with most finishes, is easy to rub out, and easy to repair with additional shellac.

How to French polish for a fast finish without spraying
How to French polish for a fast finish without spraying
How to French polish for a fast finish without spraying Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine finishes up a last-minute present for his granddaughter: a tiny-size Gibson J-45. With her birthday just around the corner, he needs a good finish and he needs it fast!
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Shellac
ColorTone Shellac
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 25 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 4-25-2012
Excellent quality

Dissolves well and consistently.

Avoka  Switzerland Read my reviews (7)
5 2-21-2012
go natural

French polishing is the only way you can apply a finish at your kitchen table in the middle of winter! You just have to keep a little orange juice on the table to soak up any extra everclear

ron hyde  wa. Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-03-2012
I'll never use anything else

My first guitar was NC lacquer. Almost killed myself with fumes (i was outside too) This stuff is easy to apply, looks GREAT and is thin so you get less dampening than lacquer. I applied this in my room in my apartment with the windows closed an no problem. I start with this get everything leveled and pores filled then move to violin varnish as a topcoat. Shellac is unmatched

SirGreggins Guitars  Boston, MA Read my reviews (3)
4 8-19-2011
Sweet!

It's my first time using shellac and i have to say... Awesome! Real good stuff! It really brings out wooden beauty! The only thing that was confusing a little was the mixing ratio on the instructions. I had to look it up online to figure it out. It's easy once you understand what they mean. "cut" apparently is the degree of dilution and the "pound" measurement is how much shellac flakes per gallon of solvent. Therefore "3lbs cut" is same dilution ratio as 3 pounds of flakes per gallon of solvent. Of course less "pounds" shellac is the thinner the liquid. So "1lbs cut" is thinner than "3lbs cut". Still great stuff!

suncircle.music  Trinidad and Tobago Read my reviews (3)
5 7-24-2011
Great Finish Product

Excellent quality and easy to use. Used the French polish technique described by Dan Erlewine in the trade secrets article over a tobacco/black/vintage amber dye and the guitar came up a treat

Stu K  New Zealand Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-01-2011
great shellac

excellent product.

nickton  San Pablo, CA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-25-2011
Excellent Product

Very good shellac flakes - the shellac flakes I ordered didn't require much oil, so they are most likely quite fresh. Excellent shipping as always.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
5 5-25-2011
French Polish

As a luthier, if you can take the time to use this, it will be so beneficial to your project that you wouldn't believe what turns up. French polishing not only works great, but you can be in complete control of the finish you apply. I recommend a practice piece for those who haven't done it, but buy this stuff. It changes everything! I placed a picture of a practice piece with a sanding block (before final sanding and buffing)

Ric  Lakewood Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-31-2011
Shellac Flakes

This is the first time I've used shellac Flakes but I mixed according to the instructions and got an excellent mixture. I used this to spray as a sealer coat on a Fender Strat and a Telecaster, both of which I done a custom paint job of a base coat and clear coat which actually turned out as good or better than The Custom Shop produces. My friend who was a Nashville picker said he felt like his 2 workhorses were New again.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
5 2-10-2011
High quality shellac flakes

I bought shellac flakes from Stewmac and the results were soo good. You can use them as a mirror. Thank you very much Stewmac for rendering us such a great materials.

Orhan Ummetler  Kyrenia,Cyprus Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 42 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce