Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil


Read 48 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Preserves and beautifies fingerboards and bridges, leaving a smooth non-sticky feel!

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3863 ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$14.15


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Black Fingerboard Stain



Behlen Naphtha Solvent



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Preservation Polish



Black Fingerboard Stain
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions

Unfinished fingerboards and bridges benefit from special protection. ColorTone® Fretboard Finishing Oil keeps new rosewood and ebony looking good, feeling new and playing great. Restore a like-new appearance and smooth feel to sanded wood. 8-ounce bottle.

Pure linseed and mineral oils have been traditional fingerboard preservatives, but they don't dry completely hard, often leaving a sticky playing surface. ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil combines the nourishing benefit of traditional linseed with special dryers. 24 hours after application the wood is sealed and protected. The fretboard looks great and feels smooth, never sticky.

ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil works best when applied sparingly—a single bottle goes a long way! Simply wipe it on with a soft cloth, wipe off, and buff. It's guitar-safe when properly used: won't loosen or stain inlays, frets or bindings.

Be sure the fingerboard is clean and dry before application. Not for use on finished maple fretboards or finished bridges.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 48 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 2-01-2014
Perfect

Bought a Gibson SG in 94 and only cleaned up the fingerboard once. I know gross. Used this stuff after taking some naphtha, a credit card, and a toothbrush to the fingerboard and it feels brand new again.

Mark Tiongco  Coppell, Tx Read my reviews (3)
5 1-17-2014
Renew your fretboard

This stuff is very easy to use, quick, and brings your rosewood fretboard back to a nice dark, rich finish.

Jed  Raleigh, NC Read my reviews (3)
5 1-15-2014
Works great

Bought a used banjo that had dark finger marks in heavy use areas on the Rosewood fretboard. I cleaned it up with Naptha, rags and steel wool to get it clean and smooth then used the Colortone Fretboard Finishing Oil exactly as directed and it brought out the grain while also slightly darkening the rosewood beautifully. I added another coat the next day and it is beautiful with a smooth dark luster with grain pop. Excellent product.

gabeeg  Fresno, CA
5 12-09-2013
Pleasantly surprised!

I recently purchased a new guitar with an ebony fretboard. I was a bit disappointed because the fretboard had more of a "chocolate" appearance rather than a dark look like pictured in the catalog. I ordered the ColorTone, followed the directions & video (a little goes a long way) and the fret board drank it up immediately leaving a nice, rich, dark look minus the annoying sheen you get with rosewood. This stuff is comically simple to use. I recommend it for all dard wood fretboards.

Pete Gool  Erie, PA
5 10-03-2013
Good oil

Cleaned up fret board very nice, cleaned frets nicely. Absorbed faster than Pledge lemon oil. No oily feel on strings when following instructions.

Chuchuchip  Queens,NY Read my reviews (5)
5 4-28-2013
makes that fretboard look and feel new.

I've only used this once so far but it works great. My fretboard on my Gibson looks great.

Perry DiMarco  Farmingdale, NY Read my reviews (5)
5 3-25-2013
Fingerboard oil

I love this stuff. Works like a charm.

fullwedge  Cornwall on Hudson, NY Read my reviews (21)
4 3-15-2013
Good cleaner and polisher

I think I was expecting a little too much from this stuff. I've been trying to figure out what Fender USA put on my US Jazzmaster fretboard at the factory - it is some sort of very light, satin-like finish that appears oil-based (I only even noticed it because my Japanese Jazzmaster doesn't have it). I was hoping it might actually be this, but after putting it on my bone-dry and 100% raw Japanese Jazzmaster fretboard, it did make it nice and clean and obviously conditioned the wood nicely, but it doesn't seem like it really "seals" the wood (as it says it does). I applied three coats and followed the instructions each time, but my fretboard looks basically like it did when I started, just cleaner and less dry. I think the term "finishing oil" is a little misleading - it's more of a conditioning oil, albeit a perfectly good one.

spacecadet  New York, NY
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-15-2013
It Stinks, But I Still Use This on Every (Rosewood/Ebony) Job Now.

Me, and my customers LOVE IT!!! Most instruments I see are neglected in the fretboard area. After performing all other fretboard work on the instrument, I clean it with lemon oil, then wipe that all off. The piesta resistance is applying 2 or 3 coats of this finish afterward. My customers are thrilled when I hand them back their precious instrument and they see how wonderful their fretboards and bridges look. Most see the difference right away w/o me having to explain it to them. And most players don't even realize that fretboard maintenance is necessary. They get an education as well as a beautiful looking instrument back.

bbrich57  Austin, TX Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-20-2012
Not bad, but too dark

This product is easy to apply and gives a nice uniform finish. For me it's a bit too dark. I used this on an early 60's Harmony H165 after a refret and it made the nicely grained rosewood look very dark, almost like ebony. Not bad if that's what you want, but i prefer a more natural look for rosewood.

Singlecoillover  Pennsylvania
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 42 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce