Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil


Read 48 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Preserves and beautifies fingerboards and bridges, leaving a smooth non-sticky feel!

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3863 ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$14.15


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Black Fingerboard Stain



Behlen Naphtha Solvent



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Preservation Polish



Black Fingerboard Stain
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions

Unfinished fingerboards and bridges benefit from special protection. ColorTone® Fretboard Finishing Oil keeps new rosewood and ebony looking good, feeling new and playing great. Restore a like-new appearance and smooth feel to sanded wood. 8-ounce bottle.

Pure linseed and mineral oils have been traditional fingerboard preservatives, but they don't dry completely hard, often leaving a sticky playing surface. ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil combines the nourishing benefit of traditional linseed with special dryers. 24 hours after application the wood is sealed and protected. The fretboard looks great and feels smooth, never sticky.

ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil works best when applied sparingly—a single bottle goes a long way! Simply wipe it on with a soft cloth, wipe off, and buff. It's guitar-safe when properly used: won't loosen or stain inlays, frets or bindings.

Be sure the fingerboard is clean and dry before application. Not for use on finished maple fretboards or finished bridges.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 48 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
5 7-30-2011
I'm no expert.

I like what I hear and see about this product! Makes fretboard look great!

Marv  Cleveland, TN Read my reviews (7)
4 7-22-2011
Good Product

works well, it feels thin and dries fast.

Goodson Guitars  Odessa, Tx Read my reviews (18)
5 6-22-2011
Best Fretboard Oil Around

I've been using this stuff for years, and friends, colleagues and customers are are in agreement that it's fantastic stuff. It leaves your fretboard looking, feeling and smelling fantastic. It helps keep the wood clean, since it prevents dirt and grime from sticking to the grain. It also helps prevent the wood from over-drying and cracking, (remember to humidify your guitars properly!)

Customers also love how it brings out the grain of the wood, and darkens rosewood and ebony without staining it or covering up the natural color.

I highly recommend it, and also suggest that you treat your acoustic bridges with it. Your guitar will thank you!

MacDonnell Guitars  USA Read my reviews (5)
5 5-25-2011
Fretboard Finishing Oil

This is the "before". Please view the"after" treatment in another review.

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-25-2011
Fretboard Finishing Oil

This review is to add pictures of a Fender Jazz bass fretboard, before and after. This is good stuff. See for yourself! This is the "after".

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-26-2011
good stuff

this is all i will use on my rosewood and ebony fretboards, even used some on a cheaper model, and worked well, highly recommend this stuff

Bobby DeRusha  uvalde, texas Read my reviews (4)
3 4-07-2011
Not what I hoped for

I was hoping for nice, dark coverage. This seems like a high quality product, but it won't cover up discoloration, just makes all of it smooth and shiny. I wish I could have purchased one oz instead of a big bottle.

J. Barrett  California
5 4-03-2011
Lifetime supply.

Huge bottle of this stuff, and a little goes a long way. Works as advertised.

Ronald  Sulphur, Louisiana Read my reviews (9)
5 3-20-2011
This Really Works Great

Just used thia on a 1970 Es-335, fretboard was really dried out. This brought out the original rich color of the fretboard, without effecting the inlays, frets, binding edges, etc. Does give a slight hint of a shine, but it looks 100% natural. I'll be using this on all my rosewood fretboards.

Cliff G  Plainville, MA
5 2-25-2011
Fretboard finishing oil

Two guitars received a thorough cleaning and an application of this product. I was amazed at the difference! Both guitars were dirty and one had a slight amount of corrosion on the frets. Both look like new. I use this on all my rosewood necked guitars. You will like this product!

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 42 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce