Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer

ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer


Read 46 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The easiest way to spray a professional finish! Produces a beautiful traditional nitrocellulose lacquer finish, without elaborate spray equipment.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3885 ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



ColorTone Waterbase Grain Filler



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
ColorTone Waterbase Grain Filler
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Details
 Pictures
ColorTone® Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is formulated especially for musical instruments. Fast-drying and resistant to alcohol and water, it produces a hard, durable opaque black gloss finish that can be clearcoated with ColorTone Clear Aerosol Guitar Lacquer for a deep, sleek gloss. Convenient 13-ounce spray can.

ColorTone® Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer can be sprayed over smooth unfinished wood; over sanded basecoats of grain filler, and over ColorTone nitrocellulose Sanding Sealer. It's ideal for touch-up work, or for an entire instrument. The rotating-tip nozzle can spray a horizontal or vertical pattern.

Aerosol spraying is an economical way for the beginner to apply a finish. Aerosols produce a slightly rougher surface than spray guns however, and more sanding of the clear topcoats may be needed for a level finished surface.

Application Tips: We recommend spraying multiple thin coats, in a low humidity environment. Heavy-bodied Sanding Sealer (one coat equals two coats of lacquer) will seal the wood before the black coats are applied. Spray only enough black to hide the wood; most of the final finish thickness should be sprayed with clear gloss topcoats.

Use warm lacquer, not cold!
Pro shops spray heated lacquer because cold lacquer spatters, requiring extra sanding. You should warm up your aerosol lacquer too, simply soak them in a sink of warm tap water.

Our ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit is a great choice for the first-time instrument maker. It includes our easy-to-apply clear gloss aerosol finish with the best instruction book available!

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 46 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
4 7-18-2011
Spitting?

I have used the Amber and clear lacquers over the past year with great results. Not so much with the Black.I heated it as suggested, made sure that I stopped and started away from the body, but I still got some spitting.I will have to sand and try again. Better results I hope.

Riclin  Niagara Falls, Ont. Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 6-19-2011
ColorTone aerosol Lacquer

Great product! My sunburst skills are sorely lacking but I can't blame it on the product. I'll be ordering some more real soon.

adsalter  Biloxi, MS Read my reviews (4)
5 6-18-2011
None more black

The prefect finish to the edge of my tobacco burst. Dig it.

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
5 6-13-2011
Worked out well on a Tele body

Like a few others have said, the can can spit gobs if you aren't careful. Remember to clean the nozzle after coats, and don't spray cold, and it should work out fairly well. Not a value judgement, but just an observation; it's darker than the Reranch black that I've used with more apparent sheen, but perhaps less color depth. In the end neither is really better, and the ColorTone looks great. I'd order two cans per body in general. To get out all of the orange peel and waves that'll give you a little wiggle room when sanding/buffing. Affordable, nice looking, and pretty easy if you're careful and take your time.

John Johnson  Chicago, IL
4 5-22-2011
My strat after painted with black nitro laquer

Just a photo of my strat after refinishing with black nitro colortone.Is not the easiest to spray but we will see what it looks like after I clear lacquer it.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-21-2011
blocks out the sun

I've used ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer on a Les Paul 100 project that i was working on this product is excellent. Don't forget to follow the instructions and soak the can in some hot water to reduce spiting from the nozzle

Mike66  U.S.A. Read my reviews (3)
5 5-15-2011
Great lacquer

This stuff is great but read the directions and make sure you do light even coats. It will run easy because of the color. Black is very hard to see when you spray it. The fumes are nasty so make sure you have good ventilation. I had it run one time and although they say not to I sanded the runs out and leveled the paint. Resprayed and it came out fine.A few bubbles in one tiny spot. The upper area was thinner coverage on the body from hanging vertical.
No kidding the free hand holder would be a great idea. It may cost a little cash but well worth it. I have a little more work to do before i clear lacquer my strat body. Pictures will be submitted when I finish it.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
5 4-08-2011
Perfect match

Color match was perfect on 70's Les Paul touch up job after top coating with 3 coats of Mohawk Classic Instrument Lacquer.

customfret  Sparta, TN Read my reviews (2)
3 3-09-2011
Colortone Black Gloss Spray Can

We have used this in our shop primarily for blackening headstock faceplates and have always been extremely pleased with the results. I would not recommend this for spraying whole bodies however, as I have twice had cans that splattered droplets on the finish both in upright and angled positions while spraying a whole body. This leads me to believe it was due to faulty nozzles, or extended spray time build up in the nozzle cavity.

Kevin Ferner  Memphis, TN. Read my reviews (3)
5 3-08-2011
Easy To Use

This was my first time working on a guitar finish. I followed the instructions provided and it came out perfectly.

WayneB  Lutherville,MD Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce