Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer

ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer


Read 145 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The easiest way to spray a professional finish! Produces a beautiful traditional nitrocellulose lacquer finish, without elaborate spray equipment.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3881 Clear gloss
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  

3882 Clear satin
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  

3883 Clear sanding sealer
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Foam Polishing Pads
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
ColorTone® Clear Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is formulated especially for musical instruments. Fast-drying and resistant to alcohol and water, it produces a hard, durable finish that enhances the beauty of the wood.

Available in convenient 13-ounce spray cans.

ColorTone® Nitrocellulose Guitar Lacquer can be applied over smooth bare wood, sanded basecoats of grain filler, ColorTone Sanding Sealer, and over ColorTone Stains. Perfect for touch-up work, or for finishing an entire instrument. The rotating-tip nozzle can spray a horizontal or vertical pattern.

Aerosol spraying is an economical way for the beginner to apply a first finish without elaborate setup or equipment. Aerosols produce a slightly rougher surface than spray guns, however, and more sanding may be needed for a level surface.

How many cans do you need?
INSTRUMENT
Electric guitar neck
Solid body electric
Acoustic guitar
Archtop guitar
Mandolin
Ukulele
Dulcimer
Banjo rim and neck
SEALER
none
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
LACQUER
2 to 3 cans
3 to 4 cans
4 to 6 cans
4 to 6 cans
3 to 4 cans
2 to 3 cans
3 to 4 cans
3 to 4 cans
Number of cans needed may vary depending on how heavy the coats are applied, number of coats, and desired thickness on your instrument.

ColorTone Clear Satin Lacquer typically requires fewer coats. Successive thin coats should be sanded to maintain a level surface. Don't sand the final coat; the flattener in the lacquer will give a smooth satin appearance.

Application Tips: We recommend spraying multiple thin coats, in a low humidity environment. Heavy-bodied Sanding Sealer (one coat equals two coats of lacquer) will seal stained or unstained wood before the color coats or clear topcoats are applied. At least one can of Sanding Sealer and 4-6 cans of lacquer will usually finish a complete guitar.

Use warm lacquer, not cold!
Pro shops spray heated lacquer because cold lacquer spatters, requiring extra sanding. You should warm up your aerosol lacquer too, simply soak them in a sink of warm tap water.

Our ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit is a great choice for the first-time instrument maker. It includes our easy-to-apply clear gloss aerosol finish with the best instruction book available!

How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman uses tinted aerosols to recreate a vintage Strat 3-tone 'burst.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 145 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  15 >
5 9-28-2012
Awesome results

I dont own a sprayer, so these cans make finishing a guitar easy. I have purchased this lacquer twice now and absolutely love it. It goes on easy, sands easy and polishes to a glass like finish.

Truebloodj  Odon, IN
Customer supplied image for review
1 9-26-2012
Not worth the extra work

I've had very good results with several products from StewMac in the past, and on my current refinish project I decided to stain blue and use the Satin Lacquer for the clear. I started with the sanding lacquer which worked ok, but when using the satin, the amount of drips, spits, sputters were totally unacceptable.

I followed the instructions and could not get this spray to be applied without getting 5-10 spits per pass. I thought maybe it was a bad can, but tried all 4 cans I purchased and each was as bad as the next. Temperature and humidity were fine, so I really believe this is a sub par product.

I sanded most of what I applied off, and switched to a brand I have used in the past (which can be purchased at local stores and is less expensive) and the difference was night and day.

I would highly discourage using this project, unless you would like to spend a lot of time sanding out the sputters (which means you will more likely need more spray, more sand paper, and more time).

Since I ended up removing what I did spray, I cannot review the final outcome of this product - it is just too frustrating to use.


By the way - the Blue stain from Stewmac came out awesome

SARC  FL, USA Read my reviews (4)
5 9-25-2012
Handy stuff.

This is ideal for necks, & other smaller jobs. I love the satin for the back of necks on electrics. I like it for that final touch after the gloss has dried. A sweaty hand doesn't stick to satin like it does to gloss.

CWaggs  Illinois Read my reviews (44)
5 9-20-2012
Colortone vs. Behlen Spray can Nitrocellulose

I recently purchased several cans of Colortone Nitro for a DIY Strat project. They shipped quickly, and had easy to follow instructions and tips for first time users. I ran out, and while waiting for more to arrive from Stewmac, I made the mistake of purchasing a few cans of Behlen from a local woodworking shop. Not only did Behlen cost $6.00 more per can , but every one spit out globs of tacky half dried nitro onto my guitar body. I troubleshot every can, tipped upside down and used thinner to clear the tip, etc etc but the problem persisted with every single can I used. I had to wait and sand off these globs in order to recoat evenly. I have not used the quart sized Behlen, only spray cans.

This problem did not exist with any of the 11 Colortone cans I used. Colortone also coated more evenly and with a wider spray range.

I am new at finishing guitars, but I did a ton of research before I started, and just hoped this review would be helpful to someone else in a similar situation. Order enough cans of Colortone Nitro, and maybe even a few extra...and you will not be disappointed.

Still working on this project, but will post photos when finished here....

SLeketa  Boston MA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 9-13-2012
Works Quite Well

The dark colors were particularly easy to apply, and looked impressive immediately. The clear coats looked really good after several coats..

I ended up having to re-do the entire back of a body when I put it in the sun some 3 or 4 hours after I'd sprayed on the next-to-last clear coat (thinking it would dry faster), and big bubbles developed all over the back. Well, it looked dry, so I thought how could it hurt it? . . .. (I also found out that this stuff is really hard to get off!)

I put the cans in hot water before spraying. (They don't stay hot particularly long.) I think that helps with the clear coat, but the dark colors seemed to go on smooth whether cool or hot.

The only drawbacks are first, that the clear nozzles occasionally spattered. But I replaced the bad nozzles with one from an empty can and it sprayed just fine then. (All colors tended to spatter when they're almost empty.)

Second, the cost is a little more than I'd like to pay, when you include shipping. But you can't get nitro in California except by ordering out-of-state.

Overall a good product.

SouthHill  Berkeleky, CA Read my reviews (3)
4 8-19-2012
Convenient!

About as good as you'll get out of a rattle can. I really liked the feel of the final product.

G.Garcia  Brawley, CA Read my reviews (5)
5 8-14-2012
Quick and easy.

Great for smaller jobs when you don't feel like hooking up the compressor and spray gun. Flows on nice and smooth and polishes up nicely.

Edward H  Los Angeles, CA. Read my reviews (5)
1 8-06-2012
Great, except for the tips (splatter!)

Sprayed first time got lots of splatter. Contacted support, they said warm cans. Sprayed again, still got splatter (lots of trial and error here trying to warm it properly, trying different cans, using tips from different cans, cleaning tips, etc! ...followed by a fair bit of sanding each time to get rid of splatters -- one note, spraying coat(s) after getting splatter reduces the effort to clean up splatter a bit). Purchased another quality brand -- no splatter at all. But, that brand seemed to make imperfections more prominent. Put a different tip (from the other brand) on the stewmac ColorTone, and got no splatter! (didn't have to warm cans -- temperature was warm enough -- but I did clean the tip between uses). The Stewmac ColorTone lacquer is really nice, highly recommended (and I would definitely buy it again). But, you'd have to get pretty lucky to get good results with the tips that come with these cans.

rob0008  Litchfield county, CT
5 8-01-2012
Stunning Results

I was super skeptical for many reasons about using a spray can for a finish on a guitar. First of all, I am a painter, 2nd I know how cans can act with splatter and drips, and 3rd, I was afraid of running that usually occurs. To my surprise, NONE of those things happened. I heated the cans at first, and the finish came out of the can very thin, which is good, but when I forgot to heat the can for one of the coats later, i discovered NO SPLATTER, and the finish came out thicker, and richer. It looked like too much when it was wet, and I was scared, but it dried absolutely PERFECT with a FACTORY FINISH! It blended in to existing lacquer as well! I was just shocked how easy this is to use, and the results I never would have expected from a can. I gave it a shot, before I spent a lot of money on expensive clear coating for a sprayer, and I so glad I did. Try it, you will NOT be disappointed! This is a miracle product!

Camelot Productions  PA, USA
5 7-26-2012
Good stuff -

For sanding sealer it should go on easy, build up quickly, and sand flat just as easy. This stuff did just that. Will buy and use again.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  15 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce