Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer : Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer

Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer


Read 34 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A hard, durable finish that's less brittle and more flexible than standard furniture lacquer.

See details below

Email a friend
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4841 1 quart
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$21.79
4 or more $19.57  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Blush Eraser



Fisheye Flowout



ColorTone Liquid Stains



ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Blush Eraser
Fisheye Flowout
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Stringed Instrument Lacquer is specifically formulated to accommodate the expansion and contraction of wooden instruments.

Stringed Instrument Lacquer finish has better resistance to cold-checking and scuffs than standard furniture lacquer. It's ready to spray with no thinning required, for faster finish build-up in multiple coats. This lacquer is designed for use on wood which has been sealed with Behlen Vinyl Sealer, or on unfinished wood.

One can goes a long way!
1 quart will finish 1 acoustic guitar body & neck.
1 quart will finish 2 entire mandolins.
1 quart will finish 2 to 3 solid guitar or bass bodies.
1 quart will finish 3 to 5 electric guitar or bass necks.
1 quart will finish 4 ukuleles.
1 quart will finish 2 to 3 dulcimers.
1 quart will finish 2 to 3 banjo rims and necks.
Keep in mind there are many application variables: your spray gun adjustments, PSI used, how heavy the coats are applied, number of coats, and desired thickness on your instrument.

Lacquer products are flammable! They cannot be shipped outside the USA nor shipped by air within the USA. Nitrocellulose lacquer products should not be used with acrylic lacquers.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 34 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 9-15-2012
Go with the Flow

The Behlen nitrocellulose lacquer that I received from Stew Mac was in a word very forgiving for my talents and the equipment I had to use to do the job. I would recommend it for your next project, just be sure to order a can of retarder with your order to get a good job with out wasting time and material. It will slow down the drying time so the laquer will flow out smother and not blush.

Larry Inman  DeSoto KS Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-02-2012
First Build

I used StewMac Behlen Nitrocellulose Lacquer on my first build and I couldn't be happier. It went on easy and polished out to a brilliant, factory like shine. My first build turned out so well that it created a monster. I now have several other guitar builds in the works.

Dogman909  Galt, CA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-22-2012
Great lacquer for newbies or pros!

I am new to HVLP spray finishing guitars, and can't believe I waited this long! I've been using rattle can lacquer for some time now, and that doesn't even come close to how well the Behlen Nitro lacquer applies, layers and sands! I do this as a hobby, and my life just got much easier. One thing - You MUST pay attention to the relative humidity outside when using this product. I've found that anything over 65% may cause the top layer of lacquer to cloud when drying. This can be rectified by sanding the layer, or applying a "wet" coat on top, but it is better to just avoid this.

Tim M.  Scranton, PA Read my reviews (2)
5 8-14-2012
Love this stuff

Goes on nice and polishes up easy... Nothing looks nicer than nitrocellulose lacquer.

Edward H  Los Angeles, CA. Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-27-2012
great lacquer

I've used furniture grade nitro on my guitars in the past, but decided to try the Behlen product on my recent build. It certainly is superior to furniture grade (which comes in gallon cans) and the quart can is just about right for one guitar. It sprays well without thinning and it also sprayed very well when I cut the last coat 70/30 for a nice skim coat.

DCS  Westminster, CO
5 7-07-2012
stewmac guitar body refinish

Behlen lacquer is easy to use and buffs out to a nice shine. After I removed the finish from a 3 pickup blue burst guitar body I filled the pickup cavities and veneered the top again and turned the guitar into what you see in the picture very nice and shiny.

wmrun  Carthage NY
Customer supplied image for review
4 6-29-2012
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer

This is a nice stringed instrument lacquer (comparable to McFadden's nitrocellulose lacquer) - Behlen sprays clear & rubs out well (as with all lacquer, make sure you wear a good respirator).

vom Saal Custom Guitars  Florida, USA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-17-2011
Great Finishing Supplies!

Excellent product and easy to use!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 10-09-2011
goes on shining

This is a great product. First off it simply goes on shining as the title states but also when you check the resonance of your wood after applying like i did you will notice that it will resonate almost 100% as well as it did before applying. my guitar isnt buffed yet but when it is im completely sure it will look amazing because it already has the same look as an upscale epi despite being unbuffed. The only downfall for it is its strong vapors ... i was testing it on a scrap piece of wood by rubbing it on with a handmade applicator trying to hold my breathe as much as possible and finishing quickly but it still gave me a very long lasting headache even though i only had maybe 5 seconds of breathing fumes (time including resealing and putting into five layers of trash-bags twisted up tight to ensure 100% airtightness) ... im totally fine now but no matter how long youll be around it or how long you can hold your breathe always wear a respirator mask for even one breathe of this stuff can give you a headache for hours

Caulin Sheridan  Carrabelle, Florida Read my reviews (3)
5 9-26-2011
Awesome to work with

I used to paint cars so I had some experience with lacquers. The Behlen lacquer went on easy and has a great looking finish after polishing. I would recomend this to everyone no matter if you have sprayed lacquer before or not.

KP Custom  Refton, PA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 38 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce