Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Finishes and solvents : ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer

ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer


Read 145 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The easiest way to spray a professional finish! Produces a beautiful traditional nitrocellulose lacquer finish, without elaborate spray equipment.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3881 Clear gloss
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  

3882 Clear satin
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  

3883 Clear sanding sealer
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Foam Polishing Pads
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
ColorTone® Clear Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is formulated especially for musical instruments. Fast-drying and resistant to alcohol and water, it produces a hard, durable finish that enhances the beauty of the wood.

Available in convenient 13-ounce spray cans.

ColorTone® Nitrocellulose Guitar Lacquer can be applied over smooth bare wood, sanded basecoats of grain filler, ColorTone Sanding Sealer, and over ColorTone Stains. Perfect for touch-up work, or for finishing an entire instrument. The rotating-tip nozzle can spray a horizontal or vertical pattern.

Aerosol spraying is an economical way for the beginner to apply a first finish without elaborate setup or equipment. Aerosols produce a slightly rougher surface than spray guns, however, and more sanding may be needed for a level surface.

How many cans do you need?
INSTRUMENT
Electric guitar neck
Solid body electric
Acoustic guitar
Archtop guitar
Mandolin
Ukulele
Dulcimer
Banjo rim and neck
SEALER
none
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
LACQUER
2 to 3 cans
3 to 4 cans
4 to 6 cans
4 to 6 cans
3 to 4 cans
2 to 3 cans
3 to 4 cans
3 to 4 cans
Number of cans needed may vary depending on how heavy the coats are applied, number of coats, and desired thickness on your instrument.

ColorTone Clear Satin Lacquer typically requires fewer coats. Successive thin coats should be sanded to maintain a level surface. Don't sand the final coat; the flattener in the lacquer will give a smooth satin appearance.

Application Tips: We recommend spraying multiple thin coats, in a low humidity environment. Heavy-bodied Sanding Sealer (one coat equals two coats of lacquer) will seal stained or unstained wood before the color coats or clear topcoats are applied. At least one can of Sanding Sealer and 4-6 cans of lacquer will usually finish a complete guitar.

Use warm lacquer, not cold!
Pro shops spray heated lacquer because cold lacquer spatters, requiring extra sanding. You should warm up your aerosol lacquer too, simply soak them in a sink of warm tap water.

Our ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit is a great choice for the first-time instrument maker. It includes our easy-to-apply clear gloss aerosol finish with the best instruction book available!

How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman uses tinted aerosols to recreate a vintage Strat 3-tone 'burst.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 145 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  15 >
5 5-05-2011
Amber coats

I used the Vintage Amber for my Tele project... I am very Happy with the way it enhanced the wood grain and its overall rich tint

toneman62  Sonora, Ca. Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-29-2011
My very nice 58 P-Bass

"Bare wood" the finish it once had, has been transformed to that beautifully subtle 3 tone sunburst made famous by Fender thanks to the colors and clear coat from Stewart-MacDonald.

Amos's Ax  Bartonville
Customer supplied image for review
4 4-25-2011
works great!

goes on well - make sure to heat up the cans (I sit them out in the sun for a little while until warm). once you have a good base, you can apply wet coats easily with little running. it flows well and results in a nice gloss.

Bob T  SoCal Read my reviews (2)
5 4-17-2011
ColorTone Aerosols

If you have prepped correctly these products are easy to use and give an outstanding finish with unmatched durability.

Ed Turner  Cashmere,WA Read my reviews (3)
5 4-13-2011
Excellent quality and even better service!

I just completed my first guitar, finishing it with Colortone Dyes, Grain Filler, Polishing Compounds and Clear Gloss Lacquer. I was amazed at the results I was able to achieve by hand! The results speak for themselves, and I have received dozens of complements from our local Blues Jam group on the finish quality.
Easy to work with, and one can I received was a dud- no aerosol-Stew Mac replaced it immediately. I was pleasantly surprised how quickly I received the replacement, and I was able to stay on schedule. I have another build in process, and you can bet I'll be using Colortone Lacquers on it as well!

Kevin Scruggs  Charlotte, NC Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-22-2011
works good

Put two cans of the clear coat over a few coats of sanding sealer.Probably would have got a slicker finish with an additional two cans of the clear,kept it sitting on the baseboard heater in my shop to keep the cans nice and warm. Worked good!No splatter. This awesome finish may not last for long though. Its in regular gig rotation! Bring on the dents and dings!

sherman stockton  indiana Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-20-2011
Good Quality, Not For Every Job

My experience with this lacquer after two guitars is overall very good. The lacquer seems high quality, very little spitting and it buffs out great. A few items of note from my experience, both I think are probably more a function of aerosol can's limitations than of this particular brand:
1) I agree 100% with review below, on open grained woods you will need ALOT more cans to actually complete the job, and any little pore that was filled completely right will take forever to fill up. Unless your pore filling technique is spot on perfect just be warned.
2) It takes much longer for this lacquer to harden than a normal mixed spray lacquer. I know you want to play that guitar right after its been buffed and shine, but honestly I would hang the guitar up and not touch it for about 2-3 months before handling it. I sprayed a classical guitar and my finger nail left dents in the finish. I had let it sit for 3 weeks then buffed the finish and then another two weeks. Wasn't enough time.
Anyway, still a great product if you cant do normal spraying. I am not a master builder, so still learning how to handle this stuff after each build. I will say it has also been good for spot repair work, way less mess and clean up, but again, the long time for hardening needs to be accounted for.

M. Adams  Pasadena, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 3-16-2011
Clear Gloss Nitro in a Can is a Great Product

Warm the cans in water to about 70 degrees F as indicated. Wear a mask and don't breathe this stuff! Product works like a charm on guitar, though! Great!

Sean M.  Roseville, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 3-13-2011
Clearcoat

Warm the can, just like the instructions. This clear dries quickly and lays out nicely for minimal sanding.

B Wall @ Nickel Basses  Nashville TN Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-08-2011
Just Follow The Instructions

This was my first time working on a guitar finish. I followed the instructions provided and it came out perfectly.

WayneB  Lutherville,MD Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  15 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce