Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Liquid Stains

ColorTone Liquid Stains


Read 156 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spectacular sunbursts, vintage tints and head-turning modern colors: ColorTone concentrated stains mix with virtually any finish, and are formulated specifically for luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5029 Set of all 10 colors SAVE $11.10 Yes
$183.80

5032 Red mahogany Yes
$19.49

5033 Medium brown Yes
$19.49

5034 Tobacco brown Yes
$19.49

5037 Lemon yellow Yes
$19.49

5038 Cherry red Yes
$19.49

5039 Blue Yes
$19.49

5040 Black Yes
$19.49

5041 Bright green Yes
$19.49

5042 Orange Yes
$19.49

5030 Vintage amber Yes
$19.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Mixing Cups



Pipettes



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Mixing Sheets
Mixing Cups
Pipettes
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They're accurate and authentic stringed instrument colors, as researched and specified by our own guitar finishing experts—not the generic furniture colors you'll find at other suppliers.

These concentrated grain-enhancing stains are economical; a little goes a long way. Reduce them with alcohol or water to give bare wood beautiful fade-resistant color, without hiding the grain. They're versatile, too. For applying transparent color-tinted coats, ColorTone stains can be mixed directly into virtually any finish: nitrocellulose lacquer, shellac, waterbase finishes, and catalyzed varnishes or lacquers.

Available in 2-ounce bottles, in the most popular stringed instrument colors. SAVE when you order the set of all ten!

Make wood grain come alive!
ColorTone liquid stains are lightfast metal-complex dyes that can be mixed for practically any desired intensity. Unlike off-the-shelf hardware store stains, they're formulated for guitar finishing. One 2-ounce bottle makes two quarts of stain at normal concentration. Because they're liquids, they can be measured precisely for critical color matching—a plus for refinishing and touchup work. (See our handy stain mixing cups and pipettes.)

Questions about finishing? Look here first:
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 156 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10  ...  16 >
4 2-15-2012
Good but a little yellow for my taste

The vintage amber did a good job as an additive to lacquer, but was too yellow to use as a stain.

Aikiguy  USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-03-2012
my first build

bought the bright green waterbase stain,i'm very happy with the intensity. finished the sanding sealer and getting ready for laquer

jimness  stuart,florida Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-25-2012
Great Stain

This stain was absolutely perfect. The quality of the color that I got was top-notch. Easy to use, I wiped on with a rag and then sanded for a burst finish with the green and black dyes. Great products every time from StewMac!

rhutch  Pasadena, CA Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-18-2012
Color Tone Liquid Stains

Most excellent for tinting lacquers and shellac for toning your finish. It takes a bit more knowledge and experience to safely use as an alcohol stain.

kincannon3  Hammond, LA Read my reviews (2)
5 1-18-2012
just perfect

I buy tree tones: red mahogany, red cherry and black and I have done a very good tint mixing those tree colours. I have use only a small part of the bottles and it was enough for my test and for painting all the guitar. I have done at least 5 layers. The tint is deep and homogeneous. The shipping was quick and perfectly traceable. Many thanks to all your team! Matteo

Just perfect  Geneva (CH)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-13-2012
Great for Sunburst finish

I used these liquid stains for a tobacco burst on my 17" arch top. Worked beautiful. I put them in brushing laquer but I sprayed the burst on before brushing the last coats.

Guitar Robert  Santa Rosa Calif.
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-29-2011
The good kind of stain

These stains worked great. I used the Vintage Amber and Lemon Yellow to create the two tone sunburst. Worked great as a stain on unfinished wood (headstock) and mixed in with the Behlen Lacquer for aerosol finish (body). I highly recommend this, it only takes a couple drops to get the desired color.

BirdRiverCustoms  Maryland Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-25-2011
First Time Stain User

Per suggestion from Erick Coleman I ordered both the Red Mahogany and the Med. Brown stains to make up a Root Beer color. Mixing one oz. of the Red Mahogany with one half an oz. of the Med. Brown into a quart jar of Lacquer Thinner I was able to get the exact color I was after. The whole process was easy and fun! Turned out great. I can't imagine how this product could be any better.

Mark Webber  Seattle, WA. Read my reviews (3)
5 12-13-2011
only the best from stewmac

this is the best it is waterbased and has a very beautiful authentic but new color and you can mix and match to get the exact color in your mind

Jacob Nuñez  Victorville,CA Read my reviews (8)
5 12-08-2011
Great stain!

Stain worked great, be sure to thin it though or else it goes on real heavy.

JasonE  Worcester,MA Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10  ...  16 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce