Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Liquid Stains

ColorTone Liquid Stains


Read 156 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spectacular sunbursts, vintage tints and head-turning modern colors: ColorTone concentrated stains mix with virtually any finish, and are formulated specifically for luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5029 Set of all 10 colors SAVE $11.10 Yes
$183.80

5032 Red mahogany Yes
$19.49

5033 Medium brown Yes
$19.49

5034 Tobacco brown Yes
$19.49

5037 Lemon yellow Yes
$19.49

5038 Cherry red Yes
$19.49

5039 Blue Yes
$19.49

5040 Black Yes
$19.49

5041 Bright green Yes
$19.49

5042 Orange Yes
$19.49

5030 Vintage amber Yes
$19.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Mixing Cups



Pipettes



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Mixing Sheets
Mixing Cups
Pipettes
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They're accurate and authentic stringed instrument colors, as researched and specified by our own guitar finishing experts—not the generic furniture colors you'll find at other suppliers.

These concentrated grain-enhancing stains are economical; a little goes a long way. Reduce them with alcohol or water to give bare wood beautiful fade-resistant color, without hiding the grain. They're versatile, too. For applying transparent color-tinted coats, ColorTone stains can be mixed directly into virtually any finish: nitrocellulose lacquer, shellac, waterbase finishes, and catalyzed varnishes or lacquers.

Available in 2-ounce bottles, in the most popular stringed instrument colors. SAVE when you order the set of all ten!

Make wood grain come alive!
ColorTone liquid stains are lightfast metal-complex dyes that can be mixed for practically any desired intensity. Unlike off-the-shelf hardware store stains, they're formulated for guitar finishing. One 2-ounce bottle makes two quarts of stain at normal concentration. Because they're liquids, they can be measured precisely for critical color matching—a plus for refinishing and touchup work. (See our handy stain mixing cups and pipettes.)

Questions about finishing? Look here first:
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 156 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  16 >
5 1-16-2013
Orange stain

I recently did a gretsch / tele hybrid modeled after a fender gretsch-o-tele. Dead on Gretsch orange color. Looked great on a curly maple top with a mahogany base.

Keith Adams  Covington GA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-05-2013
great stuff

For a long time I had trouble finding transparent pigments to tint lacquer with. Everything I tried was too opaque and covered the wood figure I was trying to enhance. These stains are just what I need. They mix with just about any solvent, including water, are simple to use. They are great for candy and flake finishes as well, letting the sparkle shine through - as in this leftie bass I built for my son.

Markku Nyytäjä  Helsinki, Finland Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-29-2012
ColorTone Liquid Stains

Had to replace a bottle of vintage amber, it goes a long way with dilution but all good things come to an end. I had used the first bottle on over 20 instruments so its a winner, people seem to like its effect on woodgrain. I had also ordered the 5042 orange as well and it is a dead ringer for Gretsch's flagship color, its my new favorite color. The red mahogony and medium brown are in my kit as well which gives a LOT of possibilities. These are bright, vibrant colors that are permanent and haven't faded in the least over time. I've mixed them in with just about every medium from lacquer to varathane, sanding sealer and super glue with equal sucess. These are some really great stains.

benderb9  St Petersburg,FL Read my reviews (19)
5 12-05-2012
Very good quality.

Very good quality, perfect for vintage guitars restoration! Highly reccomended

Dave Borto  Philadelphia - PA
5 12-03-2012
Great stains, but PREP YOUR WOOD CORRECTLY FIRST!

I have used the amber, black, lemon, and cherry stains from this product line - all excellent. They should mention in the instructions that most common guitar woods (esp. alder, maple, and ash) need to be prepped with a wash coat before applying the stain - otherwise your results will be very blotchy (esp. on alder). I have had good luck with just wiping maple with a damp cloth first before applying stain, but alder needs a shellac wash coat; a damp cloth is better than nothing, but it doesn't adequately prep alder for a very even stain application. I suggest sanding to 220 or 320 and then one coat of a 1 lb cut of platina shellac applied before the stain on alder; much better results.

Charlie Livingston  Waxhaw, NC Read my reviews (6)
4 11-07-2012
Good colors, easy to mix.

I used the vintage amber stain on a spalted maple top. It was a little too yellow so I added about 5 drops of red mahogany to 2 oz of VA and it made the perfect deep rich amber I wanted. Good product.

UncleHammy  Towanda, Kansas Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-22-2012
Gran Producto

Color Muy buena. altamente recomendado. da un Nivel superior al Instrumento

JEG Luthier  Argentina Read my reviews (4)
4 10-12-2012
Great results

I got vintage amber and med brown to try to create a butterscotch blond. I had to experiment with the ratios for each (in lacquer) but I am a novice...very easy to use, and found that you really have to do this in drops. It was great to watch the color build and get richer with each successive tinted coat and I am very pleased with my result. I did not try staining, but as a toner they worked fantastic. Pricing was fair.

KennyM  Midlothian, VA Read my reviews (5)
5 10-04-2012
As advertised!

I recently used two colors to obtain the desired effect on my first guitar building effort. I was amazed at how well these colors worked out: how simple it was to mix and use them and how great the outcome has been so far! I will be sure to come back when it is time for the next build.

Randall Surrey  Texas
5 9-26-2012
Awesome

I used the Blue and Black stains on a Flamed Maple guitar and it came out great. i used the black first to darken the flames, then sanded the high points and stained with the blue - Easy to use, and the results came out better than could be expected. I highly recommend.

SARC  FL, USA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  16 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce