Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Liquid Stains

ColorTone Liquid Stains


Read 156 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spectacular sunbursts, vintage tints and head-turning modern colors: ColorTone concentrated stains mix with virtually any finish, and are formulated specifically for luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5029 Set of all 10 colors SAVE $11.10 Yes
$183.80

5032 Red mahogany Yes
$19.49

5033 Medium brown Yes
$19.49

5034 Tobacco brown Yes
$19.49

5037 Lemon yellow Yes
$19.49

5038 Cherry red Yes
$19.49

5039 Blue Yes
$19.49

5040 Black Yes
$19.49

5041 Bright green Yes
$19.49

5042 Orange Yes
$19.49

5030 Vintage amber Yes
$19.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Mixing Cups



Pipettes



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Touchup Markers
ColorTone Mixing Sheets
Mixing Cups
Pipettes
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They're accurate and authentic stringed instrument colors, as researched and specified by our own guitar finishing experts—not the generic furniture colors you'll find at other suppliers.

These concentrated grain-enhancing stains are economical; a little goes a long way. Reduce them with alcohol or water to give bare wood beautiful fade-resistant color, without hiding the grain. They're versatile, too. For applying transparent color-tinted coats, ColorTone stains can be mixed directly into virtually any finish: nitrocellulose lacquer, shellac, waterbase finishes, and catalyzed varnishes or lacquers.

Available in 2-ounce bottles, in the most popular stringed instrument colors. SAVE when you order the set of all ten!

Make wood grain come alive!
ColorTone liquid stains are lightfast metal-complex dyes that can be mixed for practically any desired intensity. Unlike off-the-shelf hardware store stains, they're formulated for guitar finishing. One 2-ounce bottle makes two quarts of stain at normal concentration. Because they're liquids, they can be measured precisely for critical color matching—a plus for refinishing and touchup work. (See our handy stain mixing cups and pipettes.)

Questions about finishing? Look here first:
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Liquid Stains
ColorTone Liquid Stains
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 156 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  16 >
4 8-18-2011
Great stain

Love the product but absolutely hate the cap/container - can't open /close without getting stain to leak around the cap

Chester V  Pointe Claire, Quebec, Canada Read my reviews (7)
4 8-18-2011
Vibrant traditional color

I love the traditional shades of the Stew Mac dyes. I thin them just slightly with alcohol, wipe them directly on the wood, then apply clear coats. I avoid using water to thin them, as this raises the wood grain. I always tint my lacquer clear coats with a little vintage amber (just 1 drop). The dyes are a bit pricey (reason for not giving 5 stars), but a little goes a long way.

Robert S  Virgil, NY Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-08-2011
Worked beautifully undiluted!

I used the lemon yellow and cherry red stains on a 5-string fretless kit bass project. I attempted to achieve a sort of "fire" burst effect and, though I'm at best a novice at woodwork, I'm very happy with the outcome. I used a cotton cloth to work the undiluted lemon yellow stain from the middle of the bass body top out toward the sides, using a wetter cloth/more stain in the middle and drier cloth/less stain as I worked toward the body edges. With the cherry red stain, I used the cloth very wet around the edges - nearly concealing the edge wood's grain - and worked it drier as I moved toward the middle of the top. Instead of creating a symmetrical burst pattern, I attempted to undulate the pattern to simulate the look of fire. I repeated that approach on the bottom of the body and on the top of the neck's headstock. I then finished the body and neck with tung oil. It's by no means perfect but it looks beautiful to me and I've gotten many unsolicited compliments. I'm very impressed with these stains' color consistency and workability. Great job, Stew-Mac - thanks!

Bassic  Quad Cities, IA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-30-2011
Awesome Color!

Thanks for the great product. This stuff was easy to work with, easy to conserve, and rich in color and tone.

Sam Tsohonis, Maxwell Guitars  Monitor, WA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-29-2011
Colortone Liquid Stain

I have used the Colortone waterbase stain on several guitar builds and have had great results. Easy to apply and fast clean-up!! Keith R, Grasshopper Guitars

Keith R  New York Read my reviews (3)
5 7-26-2011
THE stain to use on any guitar!

This stain is really worth the money and it has enough to do probably 2-3 guitars (neck and body). I bought the cherry red and mixed it fairly dark, applied it to a curly maple top and a hard rock maple neck (which used about 1/3 of the bottle) and I was absolutely amazed with how perfect the color was. It was exactly what I had in mind for this guitar and it was very easy to mix and apply.

Nolan Peach  Colorado Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
3 7-21-2011
not quite the color I wanted

I used the red mahogany on my mahogany SG copy but it came out more brownish. I tried intensifying the ratio of stain to alcohol beyond what was recommended but that didn't provide me with any of the "red" I was expecting. Perhaps I should have used a weaker mix than recommended, although that doesn't seem to make sense.

Since this is my first guitar project I am not judging too harshly and am thrilled overall at how things are going, but red should have been red.

Mark Milne  Zurich Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-13-2011
Great stains and colors

Have used these for years on just about every project I've worked on. I can get a perfect vintage tint for necks using a couple of different colors from this range and quite often use them added to white nitro for custom colors, fantastic product.

Bravewood Guitars  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (3)
5 7-10-2011
Great Choice for any project.

Works great. mixes with anything. One bottle goes a long way.

Goodson Guitars  Odessa, Tx Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-08-2011
Vintage T-Bird

I recently had the honor of refinishing the neck of a 1964 Thunderbird bass. Needed to re-tobacco the thing and the Colortone Stain matched perfectly!!! I also used StewMac's Seagrave Lacquer and everything went on better than I expected... great stuff!!

Billy Stephens  Fountain Valley, CA. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  16 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce